We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #316 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Oman
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Herald Square hotel has an excellent location. It is just off the 5th Avenue. The shooping area is just a couple of minutes away from the Hotel with Macy's megastore a few minutes away. We had booked a refurbished room and it was evident that it was recently doneup. The beds though were very high. Reception was helpful when asked about the general layout of the area. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Higher floor and at the back of the hotel. Also ask for refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2DjDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    783
    297
    104
    69
See reviews for
255
763
150
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my partner. I had booked a queen room but when I arrived the woman at the desk gave us a room with 2 double beds. When I asked why we weren't given the queen room she was very gruff and informed us there wasn't a queen available.

The room with two double beds was very cramped. We could only partially open the bathroom door because there was only a foot of space between the bed and the bathroom door.

The room did not look like the photos or the description on their web page. The bathroom was the size of a closet rather than the spacious, marble double sinks they describe. The water pressure in the shower and the sink was very poor. The floor in the room was covered in dirty, green AstroTurf carpet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We needed a room near Penn Station. Previous reviews left us expecting a very basic budget hotel - Herald Square Hotel far exceeded our expectations. Glassed in check-in area was roomy and did not look intimidating or hostile. Room was simple, but met all our needs (closet, iron, safe, hair dryer) with comfortable, firm beds. We heard neither street nor hallway noise. Amenities were limited, but good quality products (Aveda). Lockers available to store luggage during the day. Earlier we stayed at a cheaper hotel in Long Island City, but location with much of midtown within walking distance made Herald Square Hotel a better option.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 606 - relatively roomy (accommodated 2 large suitcases easily)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAsia_traveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is situated on 33 Rd Street between Broadway and 5th Avenue at less than 10 min walk from Times Square. It has the aspect of a Boutique Hotel with recently refurbished rooms. The rooms are small, but they are clean, comfortable and very quiet. The rooms on the ground floor are very quiet, but kind of dark and smaller than the ones on top floors. We couldn’t get a better value for money so close to Times Square. The parking is $22 in a Central Parking nearby endorsed by the hotel, again a very good value for NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was good value for money and is in a good location.
For the time we spent in the hotel the price was good.
Just don't go here expecting anything special. The rooms are very small and boxy... Kind of not even big enough for the shopping bags.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmoss89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here sight seeing. Our room was very spacious, for nyc, the bed was very comfy, quiet at night. Bath was modern but the hot water takes it time coming up. Coffe, tea available all day, and a nice eating area for guest. Wifi set available. Front desk friendly and helpful. A really good value for nyc

Helpful?
Thank brysonW
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My first step into Herald Square Hotel was unlike any other: I almost crashed into the front door, which doesn't open automatically. The front desk attendant has to buzz you in. I'm not quite sure why. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood (two blocks away from Herald Square and the big Macy's), there is a Holiday Inn across the street and a big condo building next door, so it can't be for security reasons.

The room was very clean, spacey enough, the bed was comfortable (if a bit too soft), the bathrooom looked like it was recently refurbished and the wifi connection was fast. Perhaps the lobby and the corridors look a bit outdated, but the rooms definitely are not.

The only think that prevents me from giving five stars is that the only view from my first-floor room was the wall of the building next door. Not only the room got no sunshine -- I could't see the sky at all! One usually doesn't come to New York to make astronomical observations, but it's nice to be able to have a look at the weather in the morning. Not to mention the room was always dark. So avoid room 119 if you can. It looked like room 120 isn't any better.

What I can't complain about is the price, which was about half of what I paid the hotel I checked out of. So all in all, Herald Square Hotel is excellent value.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 119 and 120.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#160 of 466 in New York City
914 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 466 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#219 of 466 in New York City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 466 in New York City
1,710 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 466 in New York City
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing