We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #310 of 467 Hotels in New York City
South
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our seventh year holidaying in New York but our first time in the Herald Square hotel. After our stay there this will be our first choice in the future. Good location and great price. The staff were helpful and friendly. Wifi was good likewise the tea and coffee in the lounge.

We were in room nine on the ground floor. There was little natural light due to the proximity of the building next door which made the room a little claustrophobic at first. Hot water in the mornings was problematic. We were told to run the tap but after fifteen minutes there was no improvement.

Having said that, the room was clean and well decorated, the air con worked to keep the temperature just right, the bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.


Overall we made a good choice booking in here and will be happy to do so again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    775
    294
    99
    66
See reviews for
247
754
149
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little gem. We manged to get a really good deal and the location was great for the price. Walking distance to macy's, empire state building and times square. Metro stations easy to locate too. Room was small but given central location in ny that shouldnt be a complaint, it was perfect for us and had everything we needed. The bed was brilliant so comfy and maids made up rooms nicely each day. The free wifi was an added bonus. So great hotel which is all about location location location!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ripley2603
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Price is great for location!! You have the subway half a block, macy's in 2 blocks, a great restuarant next door, and the staff are very pleasant!!! My friends and I really enjoyed our stay here and are looking foward to future stays!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pauls Bay Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay very central especially for Empire State, Time Square, Penn Station and subway.Rooms are clean with a nice big comfortable bed. Free wifi free Tea and Coffee between 7am and 10am then 3pm to 7pm. Plenty of Deli cafes near to buy your breakfast and enjoy in the lounge with coffee or tea (Mr Subs is at the end of the block good selection )
Finally all the staff are great very friendly and helpful which makes ones stay even more enjoyable.
Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Definitely recommend this place. Great location right near times square, empire state building and a major subway station. The rooms are very clean and quite big. the bed was super comfortable as well. Free coffee is a bonus although it's a bit stingy they turn it off between 10am and 3pm.

great value as well, did not expect a view, plush pillows and a bath tub for this price!

only downside - banging pipes throughout the night, I think a lot of old buildings have this though

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is 10 mins from times square, the room's spacious and the bathroom is big. The staff is alright. Parking is nearby and they validate, still it'd cost 25$ for the day. Lots of restaurants nearby and the neighborhood is cool and safe.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dip_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had an excellent time at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were beautiful. The new marble bathrooms were the best I had ever seen in a hotel and I could tell that the owners and designers had put much effort in decorating the hotel. The lobby has a coffee machine and French cafe chairs and tables to go along with it. The four large chairs in the lobby I recognized from Restoration Hardware. The location is wonderful as well. It's a short walk from Times Square and is a two minute walk from NYC's famous Macy's. I've stayed here numerous times, one including Thanksgiving Day. The history of the hotel is also very interesting. It was once the Life magazine building and has many magazine covers around the hotel. The angel is in many of them and there is a beautiful golden statue of this angel and cupid around the hotel. After research I found out that many famous artist had worked there, such as Charles Dana Gibson (GIbson Girls). I would recommend staying here because of the interesting historical story, beautiful rooms, and great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing