We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 stars in central nyc”
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #318 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“3 stars in central nyc”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stayed at the Herald Square Hotel for 3 nights at the end of August 2012.
the staff were very friendly and helpful. the room was clean and spacious.
the hotel is extremely central and for the price was great value.
only one down side was the fact that the window looked onto a brick wall, but i suppose this is typical of new york city when you are only eight floors up.
all in all though an ideal place for exploring new york city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    775
    295
    103
    69
See reviews for
248
759
149
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Herald Square for 6 nights and found it to be very comfortable. We had a couple of little issues e.g the safe locked our things in and we couldn't retrieve them until the following day as the staff on duty couldn't open it. I believe this hotel is very good value for money and cant really understand why anyone would disagree with this. People have to remember that they are in NYC and its expensive to stay here. The room was very comfortable, every thing worked well, it was very clean and we felt safe. The A/C was a little noisy at night but everything else was fine. The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful enough. TThe Location is fantastic. About 10mins to Times Square and about 15 -20 to central park. I would stay at the Herald Square again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkov, Kharkivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights.
Room was of good size. It was clean and comfortable.
The room was equipped with iron, safe, alarm clock, fan, flat TV, table and wardrobe.
Wi-fi was slow and unstable but free. It was enough to set up pins on google maps and research POI.
I think 2$ is not such a big price for a cloakroom.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

All though the location is great (close to Penn station, Empire State and short walk to Broadway/Times Square) I would not recommend staying here.
The staff (with the exception of the oldest of the female receptionists) were not friendly at all, it almost felt uncomfortable dealing with them as if we disturbed them from doing other things like having personal phone conversations (!) etc.
The rooms were not especially clean, there were hairs stuck on the bathroom walls when we came, and a M&M that we smashed on the floor was not removed during the entire week we stayed there.
We were supposed to have gotten an upgraded room, but it was supersmall to the level of being unpleasant to stay in, so I can't even imagine how the other rooms are. There was no windows in the room so we slept in late every day and felt exhausted when waking up due to the lack of natural light. Also the AC made a lot of noise..
In addition the wifi was really slow! and the coffemaker was only open during morning and afternoons/: The only upside to staying here, except for the location, was the laundry room (6$ for washer+dryer).
Stay somewhere else where there is staff actually working and with a service minded attitude, and make sure that there is some light coming in to your room!

Room Tip: upgrade the standard and make sure there is some natural light coming in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I found this hotel very poor.
Despite its great location, near the city center, the room was very small (it just had a bed and a small table). It was not very clean and it was very noisy.
The wireless connection was also very poor.
Finally, the staff was not very friendly and they asked me for money to keep my luggage the day I checked-out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smsbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is in a super location (easy walk to Penn Station, Times Square, etc.), & the price is reasonable for Manhattan. Although I arrived early, the room was ready, and the staff were very pleasant, and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review of the Herald Square for quite a while, as I have stayed here four times in the past few years. Firstly, the location is fantastic, just over/down the road from Macy's and the Empire State building and within easy reach of the subway and Penn station. The Hotel is located in the Garment district and feels safe whether it's day or night. East 31st has several fast food shops and if you head along to 6th avenue, 876 Market Deli does lovely bagels with cream cheese etc for a couple of dollars, like most NY hotels the Herald Square does not do breakfast. The rooms are spacious, clean and have incredibly comfortable large beds, a flat screen TV, radio alarm clock with built in CD player(no ipod docks but bring your own speakers!), and clean roomy bathrooms with Aveda toiletries. The staff are quite often busy but always helpful and will provide advice, decent maps etc upon request, Monica in particular stands out, she is a lovely woman and a credit to the Hotel. Enough rambling, the Hotel is excellent value and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a well placed, friendly, well run hotel in central Manhattan. Ps there is also the free coffee machine in the lobby, which is surprisingly decent, and chocolates..............

Room Tip: Book on the Hotel website to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judgedred71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing