We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,223)
Filter reviews
10,223 results
Traveler rating
3,067
3,410
2,095
972
679
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,067
3,410
2,095
972
679
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand central station great location new york chrysler building club level times square large hotel busy hotel bryant park king room late check nyc hotel big apple few blocks lobby subway manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 10,223 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

I first saw this hotel in the late 80s and marvelled at its gold tinted glass wings. The innards have been spruced up since but there is a dated, retro feel to the place which matches the musty background notes of the carpet.

Rooms are good, bathrooms small. Amenities are all there but basic.

The staff seem to all work separately and there’s no sense of being looked after here. It works, it’s hard to argue with but it leaves no lasting impression.

Location is excellent of course, right beside and connected to grand central.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
Thank TheIrishmaninSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Team_365, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TheIrishmaninSing,

We were so happy to welcome you back to NYC and to know we left such a deep impression when we first met! We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us a window on their stay and an opportunity to identify what is adored and where we may elevate the experience further. We will be reviewing your comments and thank you for sharing. We thank you for sharing hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of your return.

Warm wishes,
James Dale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Only positive about this hotel is the location. Right next to Grand Central Terminal and not far from Fifth Avenue. Walkable to Empire State, Rockfeller and Central Park.

General feel of the hotel is outdated.

Slow and shoddy service in the cafe area where they serve breakfast. Reception staff is less than friendly and slow.

Room was OK. Clean. Minimal room amenities (just shampoo, conditioner and soap) which is a little surprising considering the Grand Hyatt brand. Not a very practical sink. You can’t wash your face without hitting your head on the shelf above it.

Glasses hadn’t been cleaned properly. Two glasses in a row I grabbed had lip stick stains, finger prints and some dried food (or whatever it was!) on the rim. Gross...!

Also, they charge $3 per luggage for storage. Most high end hotels don’t so this was again surprising. This means there are loads of people hanging around the hotel lobby with suitcases waiting for their flight.

Don’t recommend a stay here unless all you want is an overpriced room near the above attractions.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
Thank 70n11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Team_365, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello 70n11m

Thank you for choosing to join us while in NYC, we are thrilled that our exceptionally central location impressed and provided the perfect base for your travels. While we are glad that your room met your needs we are sorry to hear that there were oversights in the servicing of your bathroom and your comments have been passed to our housekeeping team to ensure that they are applying our scrupulous standards for the enjoyment of all of our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for this oversight and our regret that this impacted the overall enjoyment of your time with us. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to win your heart on your next visit to Midtown.

Best regards,
James Dale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

This location is central to a number of areas in NYC. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very responsive. We had a terrific stay and look forward to returning soon to this wonderful location in the heart of New York.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank kimberlygrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Team-360, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings kimberlygrim,

We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your feedback. We pride ourselves in ensuring the comfort of our guests and are thrilled that we left you with such warm memories for your time with us. We are overjoyed that we have made new friends and we look forward to welcmoing you back again soon.

Warm regards,
James Dale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

The room was dirty and the bathtub was clogged. After waiting on hold for over 5 minutes to request towels for our 4 guests, it took nearly 2 hours to be delivered to the room. We paid with a room with a view which it turned out to be a view of Grand Central view at eye level. Service across the board was poor from the check-in to check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Team_365, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Greetings Brent C,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours but we regret to learn that there were disappointments with aspects of your stay. While our guests often rave about the attention to detail of our housekeeping crew, we are sorry that the cleanliness of your accommodations fell short of your expectations, as this is not typical of a stay with us. We want to assure you that we will be looking into your concerns to ensure that our future guests are able to enjoy the clean and comfortable rooms we pride ourselves in providing for our visitors. We hope you will return and allow us another opportunity to win your heart when your travels next bring you back to NYC, until then!

Yours truly,
James Dale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this fantastic hotel for 5 nights recently. No complaints whatsoever. Very clean with friendly and efficient staff. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visting New York. Very central but away from the very busy and noisy Times Square. To those moaning about a lack of room service maybe do a little research on the hotel you want to stay in before booking!!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank fizzybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews