We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better hotel in New York for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #328 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 17, 2009

It would be hard to imagine the New York experience getting much better than this. Rooms are massive, foyer is grand, terrific hotel all round.

Great shoe shine out the front and a couple of blocks from the centre of NYC or the UN, Empire State and any number of other attractions. Walk to everywhere in NYC from here, and on top of Grand Central Station to boot.

Terrific, email for details if required.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rad_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,418 - 6,424 of 8,909 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

RECOMMENDED (price dependent): I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt several times in last 20 years. Hotel is well located for transit and getting around. Check-in was prompt and friendly and a room change was handled in a friendly manner. The property is in general good condition. Rooms are fairly large by NY standards and relatively quiet. Furnished updated and tasteful. Internet while not free, was only $10 a day. Negatives: our bathroom was quite tiny and with no shower illumination (meaning in the dark). No coffee or tea maker. Bedding is sub-par for a 4* property. Room service prices were out of mind. The 'net is this is a fine choice if you get a good deal, if you get stung by a high rate, there are likely other nearby choices you may wish to consider.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just returned from a five night break at the Grand Hyatt. As the previous reviewer commented, the location is perfect, away from the manic bustle of Times Square but still within walking distance. We had a king deluxe room, only slightly more expensive than the basic package. The room (2736) was very spacious and spotlessly clean although the bathrooms in the hotel could probably do with an upgrade and there was no view. However, this did mean that the room was very quiet and we had no trouble with our neighbours. We have high standards and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, expecially after reading some of the previous reviews. New York is very expensive as the exchange rate is dreadful but all things considered, we can't wait to return! A couple of tips - take the Staten Island ferry to see the Statue of Liberty as it is free and book any Broadway shows with the Box Office at the venue.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flubadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We just got back from a week in New York City and I couldn't wait to write a review about our stay there! First of all, we were extremely impressed with the city overall, from the airport (JFK) to the subways, to every little part of the city. It is a very clean and friendly city!! It was our first time there, we brought our two teenage children, and we all had a GREAT time! It was Easter week and toward the latter part of the week the city got crowded, especially Times Square, but still we were able to avoid the crowds for the most part. Which brings me to my review of the Grand Hyatt. Being as how we'd never been to NYC before, I thought that mYbe being closer to Times Square was the way to go, but NO! We found that the location of the Hyatt was absolutely perfect!!!!! It is next to Grand Central Station (which means that it is convenient to get to ANYWHERE in the city by taking the subway) but it is far enough from the ridiculous crowds in Times Square (which feels like Vegas)! We were always so happy to get back to our hotel at the end of each day. The lobby is BEAUTIFUL, the staff are really wonderful, and our room was great. The day we got there, the front desk attendant, Gordon, wrote out explicit directions for us to get a quick little self-guided tour of the city, from our hotel. It was such a great walk around in order to see some of the famous sites around, like Times Square, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall. As soon as I saw Times Square, I was SOOOO happy that I didn't book a hotel in that area. Our hotel was convenient to everything you would want to see, with the added bonus of being like a respite from the chaos of the city. We loved it and can't wait to go back! We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6papp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Great hotel, nice rooms and perfect location! Highly rec!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Check-in was great, and we were upgraded to the club level. The room was spacious by NYC standards and was clean. The linens were really nice and the bed comfortable. The bar was nice, though pricey, and was open late. Our only complaint was that someone in the room next to us left room service items in the hallway, and they were not cleaned up for several hours.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruzingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

first visit to NYC and got a good deal on the Grand Hyatt. Being in the center of NYC and on Manhattan, it was perfect for us. Just perfect. And everybody were friendly, serviceminded and helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everybody that asks. Only thing, (why only 4 stars on rooms) is that the room is rather small - of course you dont spend a lot of time in the room but it fitted the 2 double beds and a desk and that was it. But again, wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,143 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 469 in New York City
3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,580 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing