We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #332 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed one night in a Queen bed room which was compact but we are talking New York after all. The hotel aims for a very luxurious feel but the bathrooms seem to be showing some signs of wear and tear.
We chose it for location as we needed to get a 5.00am taxi to JFK and figured there would be plenty outside Grand Central Station - there were!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawnLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear DawnLez,

Thank you for your comments. I truly value the opinions of our guests. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location in midtown manhattan. Although we take great pride in maintaining the physical accommodations of the hotel, it appears we fell short during your visit. Please accept our apologize. I have reviewed your comments with our team and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,242 - 4,248 of 9,256 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel three times on business and twice on holiday. I also stay at Grand Hyatts in Singapore and Bali. The hotel in New York doesn't deserve the name "grand". It is overpriced & overcrowded. No kettles in room & paying $3 to store bags is pathetic. Never again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank MyBloodRunsGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear MyBloodRunsGreen,

We appreciate your loyalty to Grand Hyatt all over the world, but regret that your experience at our hotel left you with a negative impression. With five stays from which you can draw conclusions, it is both surprising and disappointing that we could not better serve you. From what I can gather, value is the primary sticking point, with concerns ranging from nightly rates to a lack of in-room amenities. In hopes of better understanding your experience and making any necessary changes, I invite you to reach out at your convenience. We look forward to the opportunity to earn back your trust.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have been there for 3 times. Location: very good, over the Grand Central Station, fresh market there, subway station in a few steps, far enough from the noisy Times Square but close to reach there in 15 min walking. Room: small, realy small for this category of hotel. Check in 15:00, check out 11:00. Or, 4 hours gap!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Cnomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Cnomoto,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hyatt New York. Our central location keeps us close to just about everything New York City has to offer. I am sorry to read you were disappointed in the size of your room. Real estate is a premium in New York so we have done the best we can with the space we have to make the rooms as comfortable and convenient for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I travel a lot for work. So much so that I have earned some kind of status with all the major brands. Having just achieved Hyatts Platinum level, I was kind of looking forward to a slightly nicer than average stay in New York, silly me.

The location of this hotel is outstanding. Steps from Grand Central Station (a place I passed through twice a day for 15 years) and smack in the middle of mid-town, it's a great launching pad for a NYC trip

Lobby is sleek and quiet, striking in fact. It's so hip that it's virtually impossible to see the teeny tiny sign for platinum/diamond check in. So, I waited in a long line. Once through, the check in went smoothly.

My room itself was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in. If this is what platinum status gets you, regular travelers must be really screwed. Seriously, it was so small that I wanted to ask for a room change but I now had zero time since I waited so long to check in

After a long business dinner I climbed into bed and had a great nights sleep. Bedding is really comfortable. Hit the gym in the AM. All in working order there

All-in-all, just not quite what I expected.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank PMFRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear PMFRVA,

We appreciate you sharing your review and choosing the Hyatt Grand Central for your business travel. It sounds like much of your stay was positive; our location is truly one of the best in the city with access to just about everything. We know the importance of a comfortable night’s sleep, especially for business travelers, which is why we strive to make our rooms comfortable and luxurious. With all that in mind, I am sorry that you felt there was still something lacking in your visit. If you’d like to reach out and discuss any issues in more detail, we’d be happy to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very nice and busy hotel. Rooms have been newly decorated with a very modern and clean look. The service was efficient all very helpful. I locked myself out of my room and a very nice gentleman available on Floor 27 was very helpful in helping us to get back into our room while also maintaining guest security. Ouch - don't drive. Valet parking is expensive at $65 per 24 hours. But that's New York. The best thing about this hotel besides its comfort and convenient snack counter in the lobby open 24/7, was the location. This hotel is adjoined to the historic and very beautiful Grand Central Station. And what a surprise to find a lovely and unique market in the same complex with everything that you could want. For the locals, I'm sure that this market is a common place to stop to pick up groceries for dinner. I enjoyed browsing. This hotel is within walking distance of Rockefeller Center and Time Square. I have been to New York for many long-weekend trips and would say that I enjoyed the ease of being able to grab a subway or stay close to the hotel and find anything that I wanted. I'll return. Oh yes....thank you Izzie for accommodating a reservation glitch. You have no idea how much that meant to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovetoGo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear LovetoGo017,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your kind words about Grand Hyatt New York! It's great that you took advantage of our 24-hour Market during your stay because it provides unbeatable convenience. You mentioned that you enjoyed exploring Grand Central especially for its food options. I hope you tried Shake Shack, as it's my favorite burger places in Grand Central. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to soon!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights as I was attending a business conference there. The location is very central to many businesses, shopping etc.

However the hotel feels huge, soulless and worn out despite the rooms being somewhat renovated. The cost was expensive for what you get (lack of toiletries, no water, no kettle, small room). I had been advised not to stay at this hotel and consider others (W Hotel Lexington is a better nearby choice although the rooms are just as small or smaller)! I would consider other hotels if I wanted a special experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegemitelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Vegemitelover,,

Thank you for your feedback during your stay at Grand Hyatt New York in June. We truly appreciate it as it allows us to better our services that we provide to you, our guest.

Our pricing and room size is comparable to other 4 star hotels in the Midtown Manhattan area and we feel we provide good value given our great location directly above Grand Central and our extensive facilities. But clearly this was not how you experienced your stay, and for that I am sorry.

Please contact me directly at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com prior to your next visit and I will personally see that any additional toiletries and amenities that we can provide are awaiting your arrival.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I've stayed at a number of hotels in NYC and this ranks as merely "meh." The description of the room made it sound huge but in actuality because of its long and narrow layout, it didn't feel very large at all. The bed was comfortable and it was clean, but the furniture and decor gave the space a very sparse and utilitarian feel that didn't make me feel at all pampered. In fact it made me want to get out and leave as soon as possible and just use it as a place to sleep, which I guess if you're in New York that's all you really need anyway. The location is convenient to everything, but if you're on vacation and want something that feels a little more comfortable and luxurious, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BigglesworthNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear BigglesworthNewYork,

Like you, we are disappointed that your stay failed to meet your expectations and our high standards. We understand that everyone has his or her own preferences when it comes to room décor, but ultimately we want every guest to feel comfortable. “Pampered” is a good word to use, and a feeling we hope to achieve with a return stay. We have a wide variety of rooms and suites and would love an opportunity to find you one that feels a little more like home.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 471 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#71 of 471 in New York City
6,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,999 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#226 of 471 in New York City
4,811 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $168 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing