We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for New York Hol!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #333 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I love NY, and this hotel topped it - location, staff, room, we had nothing to complain about. Got a very good price prepaid via expedia, tip - it is a hotel for people who are used to travelling or know what they are doing, too busy to nursemaid customers, there are other hotels for that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the Grand Hyatt and our stay was seamless from start to finish! Well done to Management.

Room Tip: tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,241 - 4,247 of 9,120 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Noise was a big issue. No one was able to control there idiotic kids staying there. Called down to security five times and no one came. Service sucks. Don't stay here if you want a night sleep. The GM should be fired for this.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liufam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Liufam,

We are sorry to hear you didn’t receive the signature Grand Hyatt experience while you were with us. Though our Midtown location means we’re near the heart of Manhattan’s hustle and bustle, we take care to ensure the inside of our hotel remains a place of tranquility. I apologize that we could not better serve you and will be looking into the matter with our front desk and security staff. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
christopher.doran@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I will never stay at this hotel again! Talk about completely unhelpful staff! The front desk is completely understaffed and the operators have no idea where to direct you. It's a zoo. Try calling the front desk from your room, 99 percent of the time no one will pick up. If you need anything good luck. You will get no help. We asked for a crib in our room four times and it never came. We finally just gave up. There are hundreds of other hotels in the city to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bsmith773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin L, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Bmsith773,
Thank you kindly for your review and feedback. It is most disappointing to learn that we failed to meet your expectations and I would love to further discuss this with you. Please email me at kevin.levine@hyatt.com with a convenient time to discuss your experience so that I can do whatever I can to regain your trust in Grand Hyatt New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

this hotel is huge - don't know how many rooms - but needing 8 elevators gives you some idea. location is superb, a great conference venue, and rooms nothing to complain about. free wifi if you join their loyalty programme. breakfast good, but no buffet. front desk was poor - undermanned and not as helpful as they could have been

Room Tip: higher floors quieter I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Christopher K,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our historic location, professional conference facilities, free wifi,and creative breakfast options. We have provided our management team with your suggestions and sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay. Kindly contact me at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com on your next visit. It would be my pleasure to personally welcome you and make your next stay with us more grand!

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaa
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Grand Hyatt - Grand Central Station was an awesome hotel in the center of everything! I love how close the Subway was and Grand Central Station was next door. Lots to do around the area and easy access to everything. Food vendors were right outside the door and the food court in Grand Central Station was wonderful to grab breakfast before seeing all the sites.

The hotel was modern and the room was clean. I am usually a Hilton girl but this Hyatt was pretty decent. Rooms were a good size for a New York hotel. The bathroom is super small, but that is what you expect for New York. We enjoyed the stay very much. Our flight was delayed on the last day, I called down to get a late check out and Stephanie was nice enough to grant us the late check out even though she mentioned it was sold out the next day. That was GREAT customer service, thank you Stephanie! When I come back, I am staying here again!

Room Tip: If you can, take the roof top tour, fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I've seen some bad reviews and mainly good reviews for this hotel, but in my experience this hotel was top notch, fantastic rooms, great housekeeping staff, lovely front desk staff who sorted me and the whole family out with free Internet, and excellent facilities to check in for you return flights and printing off boarding passes, and great door staff who hailed us a cab in 2 seconds and put all are luggage in for us shut all are doors plus the I will be returning in 2016 for me and my wife's 10th wedding anniversary, and we will definitely staying at the Grand Hyatt New York ?????

Thank Lee John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Grand Hyatt is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for close proximity to Grand Central. Check in is a breeze, professional and friendly staff. I asked for a recommendation for breakfast and received two recommendations - one across the street and the other just two block's away - Bloom's Cafe, which I highly recommend.The room didn't have an amazing view and I would describe it as a above average hotel room which at a price of just over $200. was fine with me. I asked for a late checkout and that was no problem. Being able to check our bags , enjoy the city and pick them up and be next door to Grand Central was perfect. I plan to stay at the Grand Hyatt the next time I am overnight in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everydestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#216 of 470 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $184 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing