We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel when we spent a weekend in NYC. The rooms while small, are comfortable, clean and have all the amenities you would expect. The location cant be beat.

We had a great view out of our window of the top of Grand Central as well as a good view of the Chrysler building reflected in one of the other towers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,543
    2,913
    1,648
    686
    437
See reviews for
1,916
2,193
403
2,165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stay there for one weekend city trip. The front desk was attentive. Upgraded my room from a queen to a king. Love the location, it's right across grand central. They offer great food and breavage at the hotel, try their freshly made coffee at the lobby, you won't be disappointed. Only downside is it's a little expensive about 200 a night after all tax.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The closet was actually the size of my first hotel room every in NYC, so I'm always happy when I get a bigger room. The hotel doesn't feel like a hotel when you walk in. More like a modern art gallery. The staff is very accommodating and responsive. I love the fact that you don't ever have to leave "under roof" to eat any type of food you could possibly want and jump on the train to any part of the city.

The room itself was meh. The lighting and shade control systems were moody. I had to pet them, beg them and pray over them to get them to work. The fridge didn't work in my room, and I also had a phone out. The vinyl-like flooring was pretty beat up and my throw rug was dirty. The bed was comfortable and the pillows didn't feel like I was sleeping on dryer lint.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This Hyatt has never lived up to its potential. Because of a meeting in this hotel I stayed though normally I would not choose this hotel. The lobby is a zoo with conference goers filling the seats, the entire hotel is dark, bad signage and the rooms are just OK. No one to welcome you at the lower entrance or main lobby. It operates for meetings and sports teams, only reason to stay there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear BuddyDoogie,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not more enjoyable at Grand Hyatt New York. As you mentioned, our hotel is frequently busy, but we strive to meet the needs of everyone of our guests. The lack of a greeter is an issue that we have resolved since your stay in January. We have added a Guest Experience Manager to asset our guests with check in and questions. Additionally, we've established Gold Passport Ambassador to cater towards members of our loyalty program, Gold Passport, which is free to join and comes with many benefits. We hope that you will stay with us again to experience our recent improvements and all the Grand Hyatt New York has to offer. Please reach out to me directly at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com so I can personally oversee your reservation.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights in December, I can not fault the location. We quickly worked out the subway system, picked a spot on the map and off we went, great, independent way to sight see in a fantastic city. The room was small but clean and tidy. The shop in the foyer was great for a quick breakfast on the run and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in Jan '14.

Restaurant at Level 1: BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. Waited 20 mins for beer & 25 mins for the bill. Only time in New York over 1 week where i do not feel like tipping!

Location: Best location to move around in New York, right beside Grand Central Station. 15 mins walking distance to Empire State Building, 5th Ave, Rockefeller Centre, Times Square. 20 mins Central Park, Theater District & Port Authority.
Room: Bed was not comfortable, product noise when you turn during sleep. Sound ventilation was bad, you can literally hear the ambulance silent thru out the day. Walking & talking outside the door can be heard at night.
Service: Housekeeping makes lots of sounds as early as 6am. Every morning can hear the conversation & laughter of the housekeeping team.

Room Tip: Request for top floor to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Cindi_Angel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay in January. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing a superior experience, but clearly fell short during your stay at Grand Hyatt New York. Please accept our apologies and know that management has been notified of your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon so we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel has a great location - right next to Central Station and only a few blocks walk from the likes of 5th Ave and Times Sq. Rooms are spacious and a good relaxing retreat after a long day exploring the city. Bar is on the overpriced scale for what you get and I don't understand hotels that make you pay for WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgfurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,825 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,160 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,858 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing