We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #322 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here for four nights in December, I can not fault the location. We quickly worked out the subway system, picked a spot on the map and off we went, great, independent way to sight see in a fantastic city. The room was small but clean and tidy. The shop in the foyer was great for a quick breakfast on the run and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,808)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,105 - 4,111 of 8,808 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in Jan '14.

Restaurant at Level 1: BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. Waited 20 mins for beer & 25 mins for the bill. Only time in New York over 1 week where i do not feel like tipping!

Location: Best location to move around in New York, right beside Grand Central Station. 15 mins walking distance to Empire State Building, 5th Ave, Rockefeller Centre, Times Square. 20 mins Central Park, Theater District & Port Authority.
Room: Bed was not comfortable, product noise when you turn during sleep. Sound ventilation was bad, you can literally hear the ambulance silent thru out the day. Walking & talking outside the door can be heard at night.
Service: Housekeeping makes lots of sounds as early as 6am. Every morning can hear the conversation & laughter of the housekeeping team.

Room Tip: Request for top floor to have a good view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalaL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Cindi_Angel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay in January. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing a superior experience, but clearly fell short during your stay at Grand Hyatt New York. Please accept our apologies and know that management has been notified of your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon so we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel has a great location - right next to Central Station and only a few blocks walk from the likes of 5th Ave and Times Sq. Rooms are spacious and a good relaxing retreat after a long day exploring the city. Bar is on the overpriced scale for what you get and I don't understand hotels that make you pay for WiFi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgfurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in The Grand Hyatt for 10 nights in Oct and loved it. Great location, clean, comfy beds, good sized rooms, friendly staff. We asked for an inside room on the advice of a traveller we met in Washington and he was right - it was so quiet and peaceful - just heavenly after the hustle and bustle outside. We were travelling with our son and daughter-in-law and they likewise enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you want peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is well located at Grand Central and a good position for exploring most of the main sights on foot and easy access to the subway for further afield. Unfortunately the hotel itself is a letdown. Staff are friendly and helpful but for a hotel of this stature and price, I expected more. Only 1 bar/restaurant (which was closed for a private function on first night) and a self service "deli" which is meant to be used to fill up the empty minibar in the room.
The corner exec room was large by NYC standards but was severely lacking in information. No room service it seems although this is unclear, no other visitor information at all, no tea/coffee facilities (but I've come to expect this in US hotels), no information on wifi/internet access and an overly complex lighting system and no bath which at $300+ per night is inexcusable. The walk-in closet was in fact larger than the shower room.
On the plus side, the beds are comfortable. Next time, I will try another hotel however.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceGHNY, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Adrain H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor from your stay at Grand Hyatt New York in January. I would like to apologize for the lack of information found inside of your room in regards to the amenities in the hotel as well as the temporary closure of NY Central. Since your stay, we have launched a new compendium in the rooms in an effort to make it easier for our guests to find information regarding the hotel and the surrounding area. Your comments have been forwarded to management and rest assured will be addressed appropriately. Should your travel plans bring you back to New York, please feel free to contact me directly at paula.ilabaca@hyatt.com so I can personally oversee your reservation and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Paula Ilabaca
Marketing & Communications manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I used the Hyatt mainly for a business trip but I had the opportunity for a day to do some sightseeing. The hotel is centrally located and provides easy access to a lot of the main attractions. I used the metro for the 9/11 memorial and Statue of Liberty, otherwise the usual Empire State, Chrysler, Grand Central, Bloomingdale's, Times Sq are all within walking distance. As for the hotel it is clean has good WiFi and I was offered a room high up to avoid the noisy street sounds. It includes a shop where you can purchase drinks and snacks if you prefer. Being New York there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby if you prefer them to hotel food.

Room Tip: To avoid the noise ask for a room higher up
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

After waiting for a year to go on holiday to new york i booked the Grand hyatt hotel because of such a good reputation that the company has. The time we spent in new york was amazing but the hotel let us down a alot.
Firstly i will start with the good points:
1. The hotel location is very good you can get to times square , 5th avenue etc all in short walking distance.
2. The room had a nice view and was also across the road from the Chrysler building.
3. Good sized room and was very modern.

The bad points:
1. The fact that when i arrived at the hotel the receptionist asked for a credit card for authorisation ( no mention they was going to take money out of my account for me to check my credit card the next to find out that the hotel had took $600 out my account. I am absolutely disgusted at the fact they didn't even have the decency to tell me as this left me with very minimal cash for the week.
2. The rooms cleanliness was way below standards especially as they are supposed to be such top end hotel. The room was covered in layers of dust and there were half eaten chocolate bars and wrappers by the sides of the beds. After complaining 3 times to reception they finally decided to do something about it and even then they didn't do a good job of it.
3.Hotel was very very rude after me questioning why they had took $600 out my account without telling me. I was disappointed with this as he shown no interest in the matter.

There was a lovely receptionist called Marie who asked us about our stay when checking out and we told her about it and she offered us a free nights stay and also gave us her apologies which was very nice of her.
I will most likely visit New York again but i can sure say i won't be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,652 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#109 of 468 in New York City
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
6,529 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,480 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $213 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing