We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #321 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt, NYC, for 7 nights over the New Year period.

Good location next to Grand Central Station and most 'must do' sights that were on our list.

Reception huge. A little wait to check in but this was done very professionally by Kay. Very helpful. Reception was more like a club in that there were always huge amounts of people lounging around and often asleep! Dress code appeared to be very informal with people walking around in pyjamas, sleepers and bare feet! Always had very loud music pumping out which was not what you need to hear at all times of the day and night.

Children randomly wandering through hotel corridors and lobby without any apparent parental supervision.

Room size was good as we had two double beds for myself, husband and step daughter. Good layout with walk in wardrobe to store luggage. Bathroom very small. Overall on the surface good. Closer inspection showed that it was not as clean as it should be and very often felt like all the cleaner had done was pulled the beds too and checked the towels.

My husband had a mishap with a cup of tea on the first day and spilt some on the duvet cover....it was still there on the last day. The bed linen had not been changed for the duration of our stay. I mentioned this at check out and they compensated by waiving a bill for the Market but offered up no explanation.

Empty fridge in the room was a good touch which meant we could buy essential drinks and keep cold and meant we could avoid, in the main, the Market. Disappointing that there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Market in lobby was very expensive and I would avoid as there are plenty of places to get essentials.

In 2014 I would have expected free or at least reasonably priced Wi-Fi at a vacation hotel.

On checkout please note that there is a $3 charge per piece of luggage that you wish to store with them! Ludicrous and this is the first hotel ever that I have been asked to pay for this service.

Despite the excellent location we will not be returning to the Grand Hyatt on our next visit to NYC. It is a great shame as I had expected much more for a hotel of this standard, brand and for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,674
    3,064
    1,759
    739
    482
See reviews for
2,076
2,293
416
2,320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked three rooms for four nights recently. Basic amenities expected of a 4 star hotel such as shower caps, toothbrushes, robes etc not included in the room. Has to be specifically requested and takes 30 mins to delivered to your room. Tea and coffee facilities in the room also not standard. No kettle provided. Minibar - non existent.

Room service prices ridiculous! $12 for a pot of tea which was a pot of hot water with Lipton tea bag. Can't understand how they can charge so much for something so basic. A delivery charge of $5 is also added for them to bring up your food to the room despite exorbitant prices!

On the upside, very convenient location next to Grand Central Terminal, which has lots of dining options at a quarter of the price in the hotel.

We have stayed at other Hyatt hotels around the world and even hosted our wedding reception at one of the Hyatt hotels in Australia and not once have I experienced this low of a standard for such a well renowned hotel chain.

Disappointed with grand Hyatt NYC.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThanhN832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent location, able to walk to many attractions. Very convenient when using the subway and the dining concourse at Grand Central is a bonus! Helpful, friendly staff. Magnificent views over the city. The Market in the lobby is very expensive with food items. Bottled Water and coffee are complimentary. Bathrooms are a bit dated. Found that beds and pillows throughout the USA are not very comfortable- be warned, this is the case at Grand Hyatt as well.
New York is an amazing city. People are very helpful even with their terse mannerisms. My daughter and I really enjoyed the shopping in New York. Excellent pizza and amazing deli, Smileys. The metropolitan museum of art is amazing but very expensive. Central park, statue of liberty are impressive. Be prepared for long queues at the top of the Empire State building, but the panoramic views are amazing. Be wary of the touts selling tickets - it is not a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veschini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel couldn't be more conveniently located. It's directly next door to Grand Central Station, in the middle of everything. The lobby is very modern (with some eerie white statues of giant heads), and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. We had a double room, and I was relieved that there was plenty of space for all of our luggage and toiletries.

Rates are expensive, but you're paying for the location. Meeting rooms/facilities are nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Convenient location, small rooms and small bathrooms. This hotel has gone through several transformations. It originally opened in 1919 as the Commodore Hotel. Donald Trump rebuilt the Commodore as The Grand Hyatt. Room included all the usual amenities also a large flat screen TV and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was small and compact with shower only, small sink and a mirror that was too high above the sink to be usable for short individuals. The light control switches which were to dim the lights and control all lighting were difficult to operate. Front desk was efficient and friendly. When we checked into our room the toilet was not clean. Contacted management and the bathroom was promptly cleaned. We did upgrade to the Club level. We think the club level was overpriced in that the clubhouse charges extra for wine or liquor during the evening “happy hour”. Soft drinks, water, juice, coffee and tea were included.The food in the Club level was limited but good. Snacks during the day, in the evening hors d’oeuvres and desserts were served at different times. The lobby is grand modern with several large stone carved heads and a water feature, very impressive. The hotel is next to Grand Central Terminal and you can enter the hotel from the Terminal. There are many restaurants and shops in the Terminal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUCKETLISTTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Although this hotel is in a great location it is not worth the money! We stayed here New Year's eve as my husband had stayed here in July. The beds were very small and the room was tiny. There is a shop open 24hrs selling drinks and snacks but very expensive! And I don't expect in 2014 to be paying to use WIFI in my hotel room especially as we had travelled to NY on the Amtrak and had full free WIFI on the train. On a positive note the Doorman was great when we asked him to get us a taxi to take us to JFK and he offered the Hotel Limo for only $10 more than the cab. But sadly we will next time stay elsewhere if we come back to New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow this us a fantastic experience, a beautiful hotel with the biggest bed we gave ever slept in. Staff were lovely. We made the most of New York by walking everywhere on our trip so the flat boots were definitely required. It was so good to take everything in, the vast size of the buildings and the amazing shops etc. we visited Statue of Liberty by day, and Ellis Island which us a fantastic place to understand more of the history. By night we went up the Empire State wow amazing sight of the city loved it. A helicopter rider over the Hudson River was excellent, plenty of places to eat little Italy was lovely would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,557 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 466 in New York City
6,478 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing