We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #304 of 478 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt mid-December 2013. The location adjacent to Grand Central Station was very convenient. Check-in was easy with an express kiosk and a friendly staff member who helped me out with that. Room was small but adequate. I chose to upgrade to the "Grand Club" level so we could grab a quick breakfast or snack. While the club room itself was pretty nice, the food and service were lacking. First, there is apparently a special color room key that indicates club access. I was given the wrong color key at check in and the attendant questioned me when I entered the club. The evening snacks are supposed to be out from 5-8 PM, however, at 6:45 when I got to the club room there was almost nothing left, and it was not replenished. The guys who were supposed to be working were pre-occupied watching a boxing match on one of the club TV's, maybe that's why they didn't replenish the food? There was a line of people waiting to get in for breakfast one day, when I asked if I could come in and take a cup of coffee to go, the attendant looked inside, then responded that I could, but then I had to leave (which I understood because of the line.) Overall the attendants at the club room seemed annoyed that guests were there. Unlike the club room attendants, the servers in the bar downstairs were very friendly, professional, and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,188
    2,624
    1,417
    562
    360
See reviews for
1,619
1,943
351
1,832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while we toured New York in December 2013. The hotel was always very clean, the room was great, and rather large by NYC standards. Any of the staff we spoke with were very nice, and the lobby was beautiful. The hotel is right next to Grand Central which makes it ideal to take the subway around town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicked04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
278 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Depending on your location preferences and price point this is a solid choice for midtown Manhattan. Stayed here twice recently and both times it was solid. Check in was quick and the last room I had was actually very nice and spacious. I remember thinking how quiet it was when I went to sleep but at about 4:30am the local deliveries began and my theory about having a "quiet" room was no longer valid. Gotta love the Big Apple!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent 8 days in NYC . The Grand Hyatt is ideally situated for sight seeing , shopping and getting to restaurants. We had access to the club lounge where the breakfasts and eats and drinks at night were really good . We had a room on the 37th floor and getting an elevator in the "rush hour" in the morning and evening was challenge. Service was good, room well appointed but air conditioning very noisy.

Room Tip: Select a room below the 34th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NielStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Rooms were spacious and clean. The location was fantastic. No view but you are at the heart of it all. Food was also very good.

Check in and check out was a breeze and staff was curteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had to book 2 separate reservations because the hotel would not allow me to extend my stay at the group rate. Fine. But they did not even have the capability to make that a seamless endeavor for me. When I arrived, I was told my King room was not available for my entire stay. I had to settle for a crappy room with 2 double beds. Then when my group rate ended, I went to my room and discovered my key no longer worked. I had to trudge back down to the lobby, wait in line, and get replacement keys. When I got back into my room, room service had not been there. They showed up as I was getting ready for dinner. The room contained ABSOLUTELY NO AMENITIES. No bottled water, no mini bar, worn and dingy towels, cheap soaps and lotions, no robes... I will NOT stay here again. Not even for the same conference that, regrettably, is being held in this same crappy hotel again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
DebBKT,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Grand Hyatt New York. I sincerely apologize about the room mixup and the inconvenience it caused you. We pay very close attention to our online reviews so we can address any issues and improve moving forward. Please know that I will pass along your comments to our management staff as we continue to evaluate and evolve our amenity offerings in all guest rooms.

We do hope for a chance to redeem ourselves when you visit our hotel for your conference next year. We will make certain that your accommodations are top notch and the same issues don’t arise. Please reach out to socialnycgh@hyatt.com and we will make sure of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt in NYC was smooth, clean, quiet, and pleasant in every way. It is such a great place to stay since it is located adjacent to Grand Central Station and the subway system. There are many restaurants of all types close by, and the Express Bus from Newark Airport stops a block away. The staff we had contact with were all very nice and very helpful and made us feel "at home".

Room Tip: We have either been lucky or there are no bad rooms. We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#247 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,495 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#281 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#57 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,046 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#331 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing