We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and very clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #310 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location and very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while we toured New York in December 2013. The hotel was always very clean, the room was great, and rather large by NYC standards. Any of the staff we spoke with were very nice, and the lobby was beautiful. The hotel is right next to Grand Central which makes it ideal to take the subway around town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicked04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    2,737
    1,520
    625
    398
See reviews for
1,731
2,061
383
1,975
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Depending on your location preferences and price point this is a solid choice for midtown Manhattan. Stayed here twice recently and both times it was solid. Check in was quick and the last room I had was actually very nice and spacious. I remember thinking how quiet it was when I went to sleep but at about 4:30am the local deliveries began and my theory about having a "quiet" room was no longer valid. Gotta love the Big Apple!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent 8 days in NYC . The Grand Hyatt is ideally situated for sight seeing , shopping and getting to restaurants. We had access to the club lounge where the breakfasts and eats and drinks at night were really good . We had a room on the 37th floor and getting an elevator in the "rush hour" in the morning and evening was challenge. Service was good, room well appointed but air conditioning very noisy.

Room Tip: Select a room below the 34th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NielStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Rooms were spacious and clean. The location was fantastic. No view but you are at the heart of it all. Food was also very good.

Check in and check out was a breeze and staff was curteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had to book 2 separate reservations because the hotel would not allow me to extend my stay at the group rate. Fine. But they did not even have the capability to make that a seamless endeavor for me. When I arrived, I was told my King room was not available for my entire stay. I had to settle for a crappy room with 2 double beds. Then when my group rate ended, I went to my room and discovered my key no longer worked. I had to trudge back down to the lobby, wait in line, and get replacement keys. When I got back into my room, room service had not been there. They showed up as I was getting ready for dinner. The room contained ABSOLUTELY NO AMENITIES. No bottled water, no mini bar, worn and dingy towels, cheap soaps and lotions, no robes... I will NOT stay here again. Not even for the same conference that, regrettably, is being held in this same crappy hotel again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
DebBKT,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Grand Hyatt New York. I sincerely apologize about the room mixup and the inconvenience it caused you. We pay very close attention to our online reviews so we can address any issues and improve moving forward. Please know that I will pass along your comments to our management staff as we continue to evaluate and evolve our amenity offerings in all guest rooms.

We do hope for a chance to redeem ourselves when you visit our hotel for your conference next year. We will make certain that your accommodations are top notch and the same issues don’t arise. Please reach out to socialnycgh@hyatt.com and we will make sure of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt in NYC was smooth, clean, quiet, and pleasant in every way. It is such a great place to stay since it is located adjacent to Grand Central Station and the subway system. There are many restaurants of all types close by, and the Express Bus from Newark Airport stops a block away. The staff we had contact with were all very nice and very helpful and made us feel "at home".

Room Tip: We have either been lucky or there are no bad rooms. We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 3 days pre cruise at the grand Hyatt with my husband and adult son. On the positive side -The room was standard for US, clean and tidy although not particularly spacious with 2 Queen sized beds which were really quite comfortable and nice pillows. We had room 2518 which was had a side view of the Chrysler building. The hotel is central and within easy walking distance to many attractions. The lobby was usually busy and as it was coming to the festive season there was complimentary snacks and non alcoholic drinks free on a couple of days. grand Central can be reached via the lobby and is well worth a venture as there is a good selection of shops and food hall, as well as fantastic architecture.
On a negative note the hospitality toiletries were so not to be desired and looked like they had been recycled for several months as the tops of the lotions had faded and the contents were not full. I squeezed out the contents to ensure they could not be reused on another unsuspecting customer. The sensor touch lighting was also temperamental, particularly the bathroom nightlight.
We.did not use the bar services nor the room service as this was very extortionate. The rooms do not have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is quite disappointing, but I suppose they get away with this with the 24 hour market square coffee / snack bar. nonetheless this was expensive, did not vary form day to day and service was very slow.
Overall I must admit I was expecting a little more, but it was of a good standard! but nothing special in my opinion, other than clean! tidy and good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#49 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#234 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#195 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#323 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,294 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#274 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing