We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not up to what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #334 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 3 days pre cruise at the grand Hyatt with my husband and adult son. On the positive side -The room was standard for US, clean and tidy although not particularly spacious with 2 Queen sized beds which were really quite comfortable and nice pillows. We had room 2518 which was had a side view of the Chrysler building. The hotel is central and within easy walking distance to many attractions. The lobby was usually busy and as it was coming to the festive season there was complimentary snacks and non alcoholic drinks free on a couple of days. grand Central can be reached via the lobby and is well worth a venture as there is a good selection of shops and food hall, as well as fantastic architecture.
On a negative note the hospitality toiletries were so not to be desired and looked like they had been recycled for several months as the tops of the lotions had faded and the contents were not full. I squeezed out the contents to ensure they could not be reused on another unsuspecting customer. The sensor touch lighting was also temperamental, particularly the bathroom nightlight.
We.did not use the bar services nor the room service as this was very extortionate. The rooms do not have any tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is quite disappointing, but I suppose they get away with this with the 24 hour market square coffee / snack bar. nonetheless this was expensive, did not vary form day to day and service was very slow.
Overall I must admit I was expecting a little more, but it was of a good standard! but nothing special in my opinion, other than clean! tidy and good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,571 - 4,577 of 9,269 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located, Rooms are beautifully presented although our room was not generous in size for 2 double beds. Very clean and nice decor. Lobby is always crowded and very busy no matter what time of day or night you arrive. Staff were all fairly pleasant however there lacks that bit of refinement for the type of hotel it presents. Had a bit of a noisy air/con but they came to fix it. We loved being virtually next door to central station and this wonderful arcade full of amazing boutique style stalls with all sorts of delicious food. I really cant rate the hotel too badly except for, I had my brand new Fendi Sunglasses (never worn) stolen from my room, so if you do stay in this hotel... lock your valuables in the safe provided and lock your suitcases. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginam1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is Located right on Grand Central Terminal. Rooms have a very decent size for New York City. We had a room with two beds and it was enough for a family of four for six days. The room was very clean and looked as if was recently renovated. The lobby was always crowded with a lot going on in the evenings. Seems like the ball rooms are very popular.
The food court at the Grand Central Terminal was very convenient and a life saver since we traveled with kids.
The location is also very good for walking anywhere.
I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ejruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to almost everything and right above Grand Central Station. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. Wifi is not free (free at Hyatt Fort Lauderdale) ! And we didn't think much of the restaurant. The main foyer is continuously busy but on saying that we got good service. Concierge was most helpful.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights 6/12 to 9/12 with 6 girlfriends. Check in was pain free and swift. All staff very helpful, polite and welcoming. Stayed in room 3055, room small but very comfortable beds, clean linen and nice pillows. Good shower in the bathroom and decent hairdryer. View from room was over the roof of Grand Central not the best view but we did not stay in the room other than to sleep! Excellent location for all the main attractions, Times Square, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue and Rockerfeller centre all within a short walking distance. As per most hotel bars, the drinks were expensive, cheapest bottle of wine was $48. Hotel has a café bar where you can purchase water, coffee, tea etc, again this was expensive. Tea and a bottle of water came to $9. Would recommend the Café Metro further up the street which does, tea/coffee, breakfasts, salads, pizza etc for a lot less in a nice, clean friendly environment.
Would stay at this hotel again when visiting New York in view of excellent location, very comfortable and welcoming/polite staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

First the minor but annoying bad things: concierge desk is worse I've ever seen at any hotel. Don't trust them. Next, the Market store downstairs is overpriced and understaffed. Drug store and other stores out front of hotel go there instead (but avoid hot dog pretzel stand out front). Last bad note is if you're not tech savvy, good luck figuring out the lights and I dock system. Now the good things: Restaurant is 5 star quality. Tip the staff and look forward to fantastic service (it is Park Avenue). Next, the room darkening blinds are fabulous, especially if you're an odd hour sleeper. Tip the maid staff and service is fantastic here too. Last but Def not least, seek out Diane at check in desk. Absolutely best hospitality Agent I have met in 20 years in the business. Overall, decent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Because it is Grand Central Station! This hotel is literally on top of Grand Central Station and right next to the Chrysler Building so the location is excellent if you are sightseeing or doing business in Manhattan. I had a high floor room that was small but nicely furnished. The interior spaces and lobby are impressive. The 24 hour cafe is very helpful in the city that never sleeps. It is expensive of course, but you are in mid-town Manhattan and there is not much you can do about it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 471 in New York City
3,629 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#74 of 471 in New York City
6,723 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#222 of 471 in New York City
4,819 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $177 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing