We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overall good experience. The location is super convenient and the service was great. The A/C underperformed, so our room was too warm. The concierge lounge is the best we've seen. Way beyond a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BryanColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    2,917
    1,649
    688
    441
See reviews for
1,924
2,195
404
2,167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel feels like a train station! Outside the main hotel entrance is full of pickpockets and other low life's. The room feels like a dungeon - dark, small (but small is typical for NY), the bed was just OK and the room smelled like industrial strength disinfectant. If I was able to, I would have moved but have already been charged for the night. Never again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank queson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for the nurses convention and I was happy. I had the 28th floor room and the room was clean, bed is comfortable and I felt safe.
The elevators were very functional-meaning, quick to transport me to the 28th floor and back to the convention.
The place can handle a lot of people and the ballrooms were clean and decent.
I did'nt encounter any problems- smooth check in and they gave me a late check out for which I was thankful because I did not want to carry my luggage in the convention.
The people/staff I had encountered there were also nice and friendly to me.
Very near Grand Central Station, so it was an easy commute for me.
This is not a cheap hotel and I was glad I had my money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

First trip to New York, first impressions the hotel was on a grand scale. Very convenient for Grand Central Station. The room was very good, spacious and clean. We decided to eat in the hotel for the first night as we had not yet got our bearings. Must say we were very disappointed with the food and service, not up the standard of a 4 star hotel and not up to our standards for quite and expensive meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We liked:
Very chic lobby, with sculptures and fountains.
Room nicely decorated and modern.
Since it's at Grand Central, you can go anywhere from there.
We didn't like:
Bathroom so small you can't fit two persons at the same time.
The hotel charged 3$ per luggage for keeping them the day of the checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuebecDeltaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A real american hotel... a real new yorker one... nothing more, nothing less.
The people is quit nice... not very special...
Everything is expensive and the staff...they don`t like to help you...
To much expensive for the service that they have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70GMVR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. First time was in 2011 when refurbishments were being undertaken. The improvements made are superb! Beautiful Lobby area, modern and spacious with two very impressive sculptures. Staff were pleasant and helpful and check-in was swift. Room was ready earlier than stated too. The room was of a good size and we had a fabulous view, as we were right next to the beautiful Chrysler Building. The room was perfectly adequate and cleaned to a good standard every day. Shower was a little tricky to operate at first but again, was fine, with nice toiletries provided. You couldn't ask for a better location for a hotel. It is next to Grand Central Station and within walking distance to lots of main attractions i.e. Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Central Park. The bar area in the hotel is lovely and a great people watching place but drinks are very expensive. We had breakfast at Pershing Square Cafe immediately across the road, which was perfect and very popular. The Concierge in the hotel was most helpful, very pleasant and polite. The Market shop in the Lobby is great for snacks and drinks. All in all, a good hotel in a great location with helpful and polite staff. I've recommended it to many people already (and will continue to) and they all loved it!

Room Tip: Room 2916 overlooking the Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanroc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,901 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing