We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good hotel, superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #303 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel, superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed 4 nights back in March on my first visit to NYC. Was there as a tourist and also to meet friends living over there. It was perfect for my needs - close to all the sites and right next to Grand Central Station. The hotel staff were great, breakfast was excellent, and room was fine. Couldn't really ask for more. Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian_Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    2,662
    1,441
    576
    371
See reviews for
1,649
1,974
367
1,873
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location beside Grand Central station - I took the bus in from Newark and was dropped about fifty metres away - very convenient. The hotel is quite focussed on a business clientele. I describe it as 'boutique' because it actually provides very few services - there is a basic bistro and coffee shop - on the assumption that most guests will actually use the local bars and restaurants, which abound. The concierge desk made very good recommendations. There is a large atrium that provides a generous meeting space although it has really weird lighting that makes it hard to read anything or even recognize the people you are trying to greet. The rooms are quite spacious by New York standards and seem generally well-maintained and cleaned. My only big grouse was that the electricity outlets were so close to the floor that it was impossible to get an adaptor for a UK plug to fit them. I had to buy an extension lead from Radio Shack to be able to charge my phone and laptop anywhere other than the bathroom shaver outlet. The front desk was staffed by a succession of charming and helpful young women. In terms of location, you could not ask for better. There is never any shortage of cabs and there is an internal passage to the subway. Grand Central station has a high-end food court with a great variety of vendors - the coffee stand is particularly good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that i'm a loyal Hyatt member and stay in Hyatts all around the world on business travel. I have stayed at the grand hyatt in NYC on multiple occasions for two reasons: 1) Location and 2) loyality to the brand and EVERYTIME I stay at the Grand Hyatt in NYC- I say to myself never again. Well after this last trip, I'm serious. I even began looking at other hotels during my last stay. Dont kid yourself-the decor may be modern and look nice but it is only a facade.

Hyatt should really be embarrassed with the quality of this hotel. After spending a year or two upgrading and modernizing this hotel, the hotel forgot to manage the basics. The walls might as well be paper-- you can hear everything from the rooms next to and above you. I mean everything-- a sneeze, a sign, the pipes, the TV, the clearning team in the halls. The bathroom received a "make over" but it was a shotty job and you can tell. They look and feel old. The bath products provided are the worst Ive ever received at a Hyatt or any hotel for that matter. I expect more from the Grand Hyatt.

The rooms all vary in size and layout. It is NYC so you cant complain about the size but the layout and usuable furniture in the room is lacking. No drawers for placing clothes, some rooms dont have desks or work spaces, etc and very little light.

Very disappointed. Will not be staying here again and I encourage you not to as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Crancat,
Thank you taking your time to leave your review here on TripAdvisor and for being a loyal Hyatt guest. I am deeply sorry that we did not live up to expectation of a Grand property. We've recently enhanced our bath amenities, from feedback we received from our guests, to the luxurious June Jacobs Spa Collection. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the new products. Every room is also equipped with drawers (which can be found underneath the flat screen TV) and a spacious work area.

Feedback is very important to us and we are always looking for ways to improve; please be assured we will share you comments with our hotel management staff. We appreciate your business and we certainly hope this will not deter you from visiting us again, we can assure your future reservation will be closely looked over.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location beside Grand Central Station and so close to Time Square is superb. However for a group of ladies on a shopping trip to NYC, the hotel was too big and impersonal. It is more suited for business men and conferences.

Room Tip: Because you are in the middle of NYC, higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our room 1830 was a big disappointment. Tired and dark with skinny window looking straight into office block across (close so we could see the people easily) and enclosed on the sides by two more buildings. As it was our 50th wedding anniversary trip I went back downstairs to see if we could at least get a change, as others on our tour had nice light rooms up on the higher floors. I had to wait a long time going from one person to another then was told its a group booking and there was nothing else. Thanks ECruising for four dark dull room accommodation.

Room Tip: Try and avoid room 1830 if you have to stay at the Grand Hyatt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruni1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was my second time this year staying at this hotel and my last. The location is good if you want to be near Times Square, and the friendly service are the only positives. The lobby, although modern and large, feels more like an airport lounge. The size of the room was ok, but the bed was horrible. The mattress seen its better days, my wife and I sleeping on a king size bed were constantly rolling to the middle. The next big issue were dark black hair that were on our bed, and all over the bathroom. There's only one waste basket in the room, which is in the bathroom and it had no plastic bag over it, so it was riddled with these hair which I kept finding all over the room. We stayed there 3 nights and it wasn't properly cleaned during our entire stay. Finally, which was a final draw for me was a fact that the mini fridge was missing altogether. I would have definitely helped myself to a $10 beer at the mini-bar after seeing the state of the room, but the cupboard where the fridge was suppose to be was empty! I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VT1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear VT1981,
Please accept our sincerest apologies about your recent stay at Grand Hyatt New York. Many of our guests rave about the Hyatt Grand Beds, so I am truely sorry you did not experience this. As for the housekeeping issues you experienced in your room, there is no excuse for that, I sincerely apologize. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping management staff so these issues don't arise again. Your feedback is much appreciated and we certainly hope this single incident will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

In the middle of the hustle bustle of Manhattan, adjasent to Grand Central terminal, this hotel can offer a just ok experience. If you want quiet you should ask for a higher level room. The lobby can be caotic if you happen to be arriving at the same time as there is a confrence. Be patient as you will be checked quickly. Lobby is huge with coffee shop and a market. Watch out for high prices. Did not try restaurants.
Rooms are small, showers (after you figure out how)works well. Beds are comfortable and the stay will be good since you really don't stay in your hotel much in New York city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orugco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#247 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#214 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#60 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,133 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#328 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing