We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good business hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #299 of 478 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

this is a convention hotel. its huge so i wouldnt reccomend it for a personal stay as it lacks warmth and character. the bathrooms were not entirely clean (hairs left behind from previous guests). The location is the key feature....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoSince78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    2,583
    1,372
    540
    350
See reviews for
1,562
1,906
347
1,789
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Situated right by Grand Central Station and within easy waking distance of many attractions this hotel is well located for the traveller and business person alike.
Nice size room and very clean.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Fairly small restaurant though and not a lot of seating.
Service was good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nevbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are used to staying in Grand Hyatts around the world, which I am lucky enough to do, this hotel is undeserving of the name to be honest. The location is unbeatable right in the thick of things and on top of Grand Central station. The room I had a was a good size (King Deluxe I believe)...and that's the good stuff out of the way. The first room I checked into stank of smoke..in a non smoking hotel...so with that I moved to another room. The room, which as I said was a good size, seemed to lack even the most basic amenities. Now there is a list of amenities that you can request but why on earth are they not in the room? None of the items you would expect in a hotel with the Grand Hyatt name. No tea or cofee making facilities, no cotton buds, no shoe cleaning cloth, no comb etc. etc. you get the idea. The shower tray was chipped and cracked (room 2727 in case you are interested) and the whole place was just tired and sub par. I thought the 24 hour market/shop on the lobby level was neat but the prices were just silly compares with the Grand Central Market with better food, better choices and better prices..about 10 yeard away. Glad I was a Patinum Hyatt member becasue I am sure I got special treatment.

Room Tip: Providing you don't mind the wait for the elevator head for the higher floors to leave the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. After having just been to the Grand Hyatt in Kauai, I had high expectations. The location is great. We flew in to JFK an there is a bus service that drops you off directly across the street from this hotel. It is also easy to get back to this hotel with the subway, and you are within walking distance to Times Square and Broadway. The check-in staff was fabulous and provided great service. We had reserved a queen bed but they upgraded us with no problem to King. We did not really have a view from our room, but the room was a good size by NYC standards, and was very comfortable. The bathroom cleanliness was a 4/5 in my opinion - the rest of the room was very clean. The lobby is very cool and modern.

My only issues with this hotel were 1) the hot water ran out both mornings during my shower but came back on shortly thereafter (when I complained to the front desk, they credited me some Hyatt points). I have a feeling this may not be an unusual occurrence. Also, we returned after a show and we were hungry so we attempted to eat at the restaurant in the lobby. We waited for quite some time and nobody stopped to seat us, so we finally went into the bar and asked for service. They told us the restaurant closed 5 minutes ago (we had been waiting for a table prior to that). For our inconvenience, they gave us two bottles of water, but really, if we had received prompt service, we could have ordered food.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. The hotel has a great location and NYC feel - I loved it for the most part.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location which is right above Grand Central Station. The notion of service or personal attention seems to have no place at this hotel. It seems to me that there are better alternatives for the same or lower prices where they recognize that guests are real people and not just problems. The rooms are Hyatt normal but a bit faded and in need of renovation but it seems that different floors have rooms of different standards, i was paying a good rate so I expected a good room. I checked in late and sense the room I got was one off the last and least desirable.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you book is the room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 5 nights and were happy with it. the room was huge with a small but adequate bathroom. the room had a king sized comfortable bed and was very modern. very good location next to grand central station and in walking distance to most attractions. the lobby staff were nice and gave us free wifi which was a plus. we found the hotel market/shop staff quite rude but we only went there once. it was a comfortable place to come home to and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Two rooms booked I with King and 2nd with 2 doubles, brother and sister travelling together... Reconfirmed 1 week before travelling. Yes all ok
Day of arrival Rooms 1 king 1 double could not get through to staff that we needed two beds in 2nd room excuse oh hotel full.trundle produced for first night pack luggage and we will move you tomorrow.
2nd Day staff at desk insisted arrangements would have to stay the same as we hadn't pack bags for moving, went to room maid making up room for new family BAGS MISSING it took another hour before the bags were found and as it turned out they had been moved to a room with 2 double beds. Not very Professional for a Hyatt I would have thought. rest of stay was ok but the poor start and staff lies left a sour taste in the mouth would not recommend Hyatt NYC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,406 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#247 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#280 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#64 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#331 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,511 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing