We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few problems, but good follow up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #321 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A few problems, but good follow up”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel when I arrived late on a Thursday night and was told there was no hot water in the entire building due to maintainence work at Grand Central Terminal next door. The first person who took my call simply said there was nothing he could do about it and brushed me off. I was then transferred to the duty manager Jenny, who was very apologetic and worked out a good solution for me.

The second day I called to ask for shower gel and was told they'd run out. Not a single bottle in the entire hotel. Lindsay, the duty manager who took my call, promised to find me a bottle and she did.

Overall, a couple of kinks but kudos to Jenny and Lindsay who went out their way to resolve the problems. The housekeepers I met were also very friendly, which was nice.

Rooms are fairly standard, although a good size for NYC. I had breakfast at the Grand Club, which was good but it sometimes felt like anyone could walk into the club as nobody was checking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,670
    3,059
    1,759
    737
    481
See reviews for
2,071
2,288
415
2,320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Not only they helped in every way possible, they also let me do an early check in and a late check out. Plus, they were quick at solving problems and were very friendly and nice. You dont get this kind of service often in places like NYC where everyone seems to be to stressed to even listen to what a customer has to say.My room was decent in terms of space (around 250 square feet) and had a great view, starring the Chrysler tower as main attraction. The bathroom was tiny, but comfy, clean and renovated. Would have loved to get a shower cap among the bathroom "goodies" but I didnt. I guess they would have brought one if I have asked for it, though. As for the location, you cant ask for more. Right next to grand central station, the Grand Hyatt Hotel is close to many NYC attractions, namely Fifth AV, the Empire State Building, the Moma, Central Park, Broadway, Bryant Park, National Library etc. One more thing about the hotel, elevators were stunning quic k, never had to wait more than 10 seconds to get a ride. I mention this because I had been in another hotel previously where had to wait for the elevator as much as 10 minutes each time. In brief loved this hotel, loved the staff and would be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estefanía L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt NYC is a nice hotel in the city centre directly next to grand central station. Staff is friendly and helpful. However, I had to wait 4 hours (!) for check in because no room was available when I arrived although I had a reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights on a study trip. The location is attractive, though that's not so exceptional in NY. Initially i got a room om the backside in a corner (i think it was 2631): dark, uggly and dirty view. I immediately went down and ask for a room at the frontside which i got without any problems. Although very small window, at least it was better then the previous one. But room is quite worn out and dirty: the carpet, the bathroom especially the shower ,the wardobe. Furthermore the hightech light switch was not working, the airco noisy and the minibar empty. The lobby is outdated brownish Trump style kitsch. Wifi is expensive but for free in the lobby. Will not return here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dirkaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I travel weekly for business, including NYC on a regular basis. This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel. I'll be back. Very convenient to Grand Central Station for trains and subway. Great snack/coffee shop in the lobby with light meals. My room was larger than I expected and quieter than I expected, both inside and out. At check-in I said I don't care about the view, just give me a quiet room. They did. Good, efficient, professional service.

Room Tip: Of course, higher floors will have less street noise; I was on the 27th floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retailwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misskylie20
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. Fantastic location, in a great part of town (midtown) with Grand Central station literally next door. The hotel staff are fantastic, always someone wandering around to help. Very good service upon check in and check out. Concierge also very helpful. And doormen would pull us up a taxi within a second!

Our room was spacious, clean and was very modern. Large bathroom, and cleaned properly every day.

We dined at the hotel's restaurant/bar for breakfast, dinner and cocktails. Fabulous service. Very friendly staff.

I'm so glad we stayed here for our first trip the the USA, thank you so much for making it special for us, we will be back!

Kylie

Tip: For a decent espresso coffee, try 'Joe's', located in Grand Central station. We had one every morning!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank misskylie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stay at Hyatt Hotel's a lot, because of my husbands job (points). I like this hotel because of the location, it is perfect. The customer service is, hit or miss. You can tell most of the employees are just not bothered, the ones who are aware they are in the service industry make up for the others. The young man who greeted us was very friendly and interested in our trip, where we were visiting from etc. He chatted with us until we could check in. Sadly I can't remember his name (tall, dark hair, glasses). Check-in was uneventful and we were off to our room on the 15th floor. We had Jr. suite due to an upgrade through my husbands points and it was a great room. No view, but to be honest, I'm not in NYC for a view. My only complaint is the lay out of the bathroom. It was small and award.

We had drinks at the bar a couple of times and ate at the restaurant on our last night. Here is the thing...I was totally taken back by the service at the restaurant!!!! When I told them I could not have gluten or dairy they brought me out GLUTEN FREE bread!!! Never since the diagnose did ANY restaurant offer me gluten free bread. I almost cried. The food was great and very well prepared with a lot of care given. And again I can not remember our servers name but I can't thank the staff and chefs enough for that bread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,556 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,070 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
6,477 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing