We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Met all my needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #297 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Met all my needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because it is on top of Grand Central. I had a bunch of meetings over two days in New York, so I took MetroNorth in, dropped off my bag with the bellman and took subways and buses everywhere. For someone from CT, the location is really excellent. I was pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room. It was huge and very clean. All amenities were great. I liked the advance online check-in service and my room was ready early. Separate charge for wifi (approx. $12/day). would definitely return. (PS, I did not get the vouchers others mentioned.)

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,159
    2,592
    1,379
    548
    354
See reviews for
1,576
1,914
349
1,797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Was very impressed with my stay at the Grand Hyatt. It has been renovated and has a sleek, modern decor. It is a great location right next to Grand Central Station, and plenty of sights, shops, and restaurants around. We got a great deal here, and I would definitely stay here again. The beds were super comfortable after long days of shopping!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bethiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why this hotel is so far down the trip advisor list in NYC. It's the best hotel I've stayed at (I found it better than Waldorf towers but everyone's tastes are different) in the city. Rooms are very large for New York standards, beds extremely comfortable, rooms well decorated and well equipped. Location is excellent. I have already booked this hotel for my next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Having read reviews before my trip, I was prepared, and at registration asked if I could make three requests: a high floor, a room far from the elevators, and to be on Park Avenue rather than 42nd Street. The very friendly young man at the desk was able to honor all three requests, the third only because I had reserved a room with two double beds. He even offered a late checkout for the day we were leaving, at no extra charge. He also gave me six vouchers good for coffee, tea, or water, at the little food shop in the lobby. I'm not sure if everyone gets those, or if they are for Hyatt credit card customers. Our room was spacious, and immaculately clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and there was a chaise, a well-padded desk chair, plenty of space in drawers and in the closet, and also a refrigerator large enough for two full size bottles, and several smaller items. We had a great view, but were not bothered at all by noise from traffic, as we were so high up. We never did take the train, but enjoyed exploring Grand Central Station, and walked to Times Square, a nearby restaurant, and a Broadway show, taking cabs for restaurants which were farther away. Every staff member we dealt with or met was friendly and helpful, and the lobby has an exceptionally generous number of chairs, sofas, and padded benches, so when we had one last hour to spend before heading for our bus, we had a comfortable place to take turns minding our bags, as each of us took one last trip to a nearby store or point of interest. I would love to return to this hotel!!

Room Tip: My tips are above: a high floor, far from the elevator, and for quiet, ask for Park Avenue rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We are really in love with this place. I have only good words to say. The most friendly, kind and attentive staff I've ever come across. Right from when we stepped into the hotel we were taken care of by Claudine who escorted us to Megan and they were a wonder of service and smiles.
Room (2808) and bathroom was great and felt very fresh. Cleaning was impeccable.
We had breakfast a few mornings and there too the staff was so nice that you couldn't resist sitting there with a smile on your face and feeling good.
The lovely Mayra made sure we got excellent seatings every time we visited. Our table waitress was a joy to meet. Everybody we met just smiled and wanted to make sure we were happy.
We had fresh orange juice, omelets, waffles, smoothies that tasted perfect.
Add to all this that the location was superb.
Front door men were super professional in getting us cabs.
Couldn't have made a better choice for a first time trip to New York.
Will surely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Grand Hyatt New York. Located right above Grand Central Station makes taking the train convenient and easy. Also, should you want to grab a quick bite to eat Grand Central offers a food court with decent fast food options as well as some healthy juice & salad options. It's a short walk to Time Square & Rockefeller Center. The rooms are a great size for a NY hotel and the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngyB_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Although expensive, the Grand Hyatt is a great hotel that comes highly recommended. The room was typical Hyatt in quality which is a good thing. Considering how small some rooms can be in Manhattan I was pleasantly surprised to have so much space in the room. Noise is all but eradicated from the outside by the well insulated windows. Views can vary but unless you're staying nearer Central Park or right on Times Square this is often the case anyway.

Other nice touches like the touch panels for lighting, docking station, additional toiletries and in room iron/board made the stay so much easier and pleasant. The lobby and other facilities in the hotel are nice and if you're looking for something a bit cheaper to eat or drink you can always get the lift into the magnificent Grand Central Terminal and find something on the concourse or nearby shops there. It's New York - there are options everywhere!

A final note to the brilliant gentleman who helped me get my Wrestlemania chair back home in the mail office in the business centre - a friendly and knowledgeable guy that couldn't do enough to help me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#52 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,416 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#248 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#66 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,066 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#331 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,551 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing