We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, good business hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed two nights on a recent business trip. Our NYC offices are around the corner so very convenient. My room was very nice, typical Hyatt. I like that Hyatt give you toothpaste as a toiletry. A small, subtle but unique differentiator. Had a nice view of the Chrysler building. Got a reasonable night sleep though even on a high floor was awake at 5am due to traffic noise on Lexington Ave. The fitness center is well equipped including kettle bells, and a heavy bag, but in an exceedingly cramped space. Floor space was at a premium. Wireless worked flawlessly- streamed video w/no problems. Since this was on business I didn't worry about the rate, but it would have probably made me choose a different location for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,670
    3,060
    1,759
    737
    481
See reviews for
2,072
2,288
415
2,320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good size room, nice decor and colour coordination. Bathroom a bit worn, I see my bathroom is also a bit smaller than some other guest photos. Around the corner from the subway station. Newark airport shuttle close by, 50 minute ride at 5pm on a Tuesday. There seem to be 60+ rooms on a floor, I would stay away from the elevators.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Grand Central terminal was a great location to stay. The hotel lobby was large and modern and it was nice to have the convenience of the subway and shops. The rooms have no personality and we had a terrible view (but not everyone can have a view). The rooms were in good condition but could be cleaner and the water pressure was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My only other Grand Hyatt experience has been in Hong Kong and the New York version is no comparison. The room was fine but small, and the bathroom smaller still. It is a huge hotel and the checking-in feels like a production line. The decoration, although recently refreshed, looks and feels drab to me. The bed was comfortable and the shower fine so at one level I can't complain. But the overall experience was merely functional and not delightful. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThingsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was renovated last year and is of a good standard. Check in was easy and I was upgraded and given free wifi for taking a room with two beds....fine for me as i was traveling alone. Location is convenient with Grand Central right next door. The service from all employees I encountered was good. Only strange thing was the $2 charge per bag to hold luggage, I have not experienced this anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for Spring Break and was pleasantly surprised. Right next to Grand Central subway makes this a great hub for trips in the city. As a Gold Passport member, had access to the Hyatt Club level which always had goodies and a nice breakfast. Despite loads of people they kept it clean and moving nicely. We stayed in a suite upgrade room which was an awesome size and modern decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutterback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my first trip to the Grand Hyatt, and I was hoping to make it my regular NYC hotel. I was disappointed. The rooms are extremely modern (no drawers, barely a desk), but the furniture is cheap and chipping. There's only one power outlet at the desk. The light switches are so modern that they're actually less functional - I had trouble leaving the bathroom light on while turning off the rest at bedtime. The refrigerator doesn't work and there's no coffee maker. No bottled water available in the room. I was supposed to get free drink tickets at check in (as a Gold member), but didn't. When I inquired, I was given tickets but no apology. The uber modern clock showed the wrong time; I had to call to get it fixed. The bathroom is tiny even by NY standards and there are paint stains on the base of the bathtub. It's like staying in an Ikea room put together by lazy contractors.
As for the main areas, it's just too big to be nice. We tried to have a meeting in the lounge and were rudely shooed away because the "table is reserved" and they put down a sign.
Room service breakfast is mediocre, pretty limited (and expensive, as to be expected) menu.
Bed is comfortable, but was given a room directly across from the 10 elevators (poor design), so it was loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
9,557 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
11,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 467 in New York City
7,070 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
6,478 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#258 of 467 in New York City
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing