We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #311 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here the weekend of April 6th 2013 with my husband, brother, and brother's girlfriend. We had tickets to see the Lion King, and wanted to stay close to Times Square, but not in the center of all the hustle and bustle. We parked at Port Authority, and walked the several blocks to this great location. The hotel is modern in its decor and its staff are friendly. Our rooms were on the 25th and 29th floors, and both were clean, spacious and well appointed. We enjoyed the surrounding shops and restaurants, along with Bryant Park and the views of the beautiful architecture. Stop by Magnolia Bakery in Grand Central Terminal for some tasty treats if you stay here. Yum! I would return to this location in the future. Out of our past stays in NYC, this one was my husband's favorite hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA_Traveler247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    2,869
    1,619
    673
    428
See reviews for
1,884
2,170
397
2,121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a total of 6 days at the Grand Hyatt. It was a very busy hotel that seems to be well maintained. It's right next to Grand Central Station so it made it easy to get around the city. A couple of negitive points were the ever fluctuating temperature of the hotels water. It made taking showers a challenge because you have to rotate the knob several times during your shower to keep from freezing or getting scalded. Some times there was little to no hot water to be had. The other negitive point was the lack of service from the hotel staff when we called from our room. They were rude and disinterested in helping us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

well located on grand central Terminal , this big hotel is like the station, just poeple passing on any directions. nothing of personnal, you are just a number.
rooms are ok, well furnished. Nice views from top levels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomomo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside,U.K.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Location of hotel was perfect for a sightseer in NYC. Everywhere was so accessible even downtown to Ground Zero from Grand Central Station next door. Broadway, Time Square, 5th Ave, Rockefeller centre & United Nations all a short stroll away. Walking distance to Central Park & Empire State Building too. Rooms were not that big but very comfy with automatic air & window blinds. Two Nice size double beds & oversized Tv. Nice lobby with great coffee shop, but real delight was the underground food court next door in GCS. Something there for everyone. Was second stay at Grand Hyatt & would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank promobull99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very surprised to get this hotel at a reasonable rate for a week in February. The hotel is located right at Grand Central Station, with easy access to the rest of the city. The rooms are modern, upgraded, and kept clean. The market store in the lobby, while overpriced, can be extremely convenient for any late-night or early-morning snack/meal needs. My room was quiet, but not much of a view. I was told to avoid rooms that overlook E 42nd street if you're a light-sleeper.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking E 42nd street if you're a light sleeper due to typical city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went to NYC with my Daughter (22), Niece (27) and my 3 Sisters, we had a lovely time staying at the Grand Hyatt. I would recommend this hotel for its luxurious feel, location and attentive staff. We where very well looked after and had a fabulous time together.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 27th floor ( nice and quite) in a room with 2 double beds, a vanity suite and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenG728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After a disastrous stay at The New York Palace we checked out two days early and checked in to the Hyatt to try for a more restful stay.
Although it is a huge hotel, the service was great from the outset. We shared our previous poor experience with the front desk at check in and we were allocated a Grand King room on the 24th floor away from lifts and street noise. Only issue with this room was that the windows looked out on to a wall but we were happy with this because it meant there was zero noise. Room was large with a chaise lounge and separate chair and a desk. Bathroom was great too. From reading other reviews am assuming that the Grand King rooms have bigger bathrooms than standard rooms.
We have travelled to NY previously and had never stayed in this part of town so it was great to explore Grand Central. The market was great and dinner at The Oyster Bar was superb - great seafood.
Grand Central was a terrific base from which to explore other areas of the city. The subway connections make it so easy.
We asked for a late check out on the morning of our departure and despite being fully booked the hotel kindly let us check out at 1pm.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,686 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,618 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,208 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing