We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #333 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in New York City on business for a trade show. This hotel was wonderful! The room was beautiful, functional and honestly ranks as one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. The best part: I had a wonderful view of Grand Central Station and 42nd Street. While the room was wonderful, room service left quite a bit to be desired. I ordered the hamburger. Awful! The only other issue is that my room was quite noisy and it was very difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.

Room Tip: I'm be upfront and ask for a great view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKHS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,967 - 4,973 of 9,027 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

we choose the grand Hyatt for our most recent stay in NYC and I'm so pleased we did! This hotel could not be more convenient! The fact that its attached to grand central so great for the subway/trains, is a very short walk from Times Square and the airport shuttle bus leaves from right across the road are just a few reasons!
Our room was a grand king facing onto grand central and it was perfect-the bed was huge and so comfortable, there was a nice sized seating area with a table. The shower was fantastic, just what you need after a long day in the city, my only complaint about the bathroom is the location of the toilet roll-it's a little awkward to get to!
The room was cleaned all but one day (we got a memo apologising that not all rooms would be attending to due to the weather).
The staff on check in we're friendly and helpful-it rained heavily one day we were there and we we're given an umbrella to use free of charge.
On my birthday the hotel sent a card and a gift to my room! A very kind and thoughtful touch!
We left our luggage with the concierge after check out as we had a late night flight (this service was charged at $2 per bag), definately worth doing to save carrying things and/or wasting your last hours in this magic city!
I would definately stay in this hotel again (although next time I would request to be on the other side just for a change!)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray-JayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel just before the Northeast NEMO Blizzard. Great service and Great food! Location is fabulous! Highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Front desk staff is very helpful. Grand Club is excellent. 24 hour market is convenient. Access to Grand Central Station is wonderful! Special thanks to Allan & Todd.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmbeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Location is perfect if you're into walking thru Manhattan, or if arriving or departing at central station. Hotel is too big and it may take a while to go down into the lobby at morning rush hour since elevators are not that big. Personnel has great service attitude, there is a small coffee shop in the lobby very convenient.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We got a good deal via Priceline for the weekend of the "Nemo" snowstorm. That affected cleaning service for one day, as housekeepers couldn't come in--no big deal. Our room was compact but modern with a good lighting and switches and AC outlet plan. Good bathroom. Most important--staff, especially reception--was friendly and smiling.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for a night in January. The location is great, straight from the Grand Central, I didn't even have to go out to reach the hotel.
So good parts: close to everything, clean , decent size rooms for NYC standards.
Bad: the heating in the room was stacked at 75 degrees, and while outside were like 9, inside was quite cold.Could not increase the temp in the room as much as I tried to.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and was really cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good location next to Grand Central and generally safe area. Nothing fancy otherwise, but it is pretty reasonably priced for New York. The rooms are small, bathrooms are tiny, hard beds, clean (except for obvious stains on some furniture), desk is so small it is unusable, dim lighting in rooms. The check out was slow even though it was not crowded. It was a quiet hotel, which I thought was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 469 in New York City
3,515 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,875 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,624 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#220 of 469 in New York City
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $184 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing