We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #328 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time round at the Hyatt. The hotel experience was better than the first time as it had been refurbished since our first visit.
Our room as was the 24th floor with a view of facing 42nd Street and Grand Central. Rooms very clean as usual. Bathroom immaculate.
Great location, centrally located and just a short walking distance from Time Square.
Stopped off at the bar overlooking 42nd st a few times to rest our feet after a long day.
Recommend the concierge for theatre, restaurant and other attractions.
We also upgraded to the club lounge access located on the 16th floor. Great for quick drinks and nibbles..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,877 - 4,883 of 8,910 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was a walk in and was welcomed by a warm staff who proved to be excellent at what they do.

The Grand Hiatt has apparently just be renovated. The lobby resembles a set from the Matrix combined with Eastern Island sculptures. A lobby is one thing but for me the room is all that counts. And although comfortable, the rooms needed more attention to engineering.

For example, the lighting is a new high tech system. It operates in strange ways. Maybe I needed more time to learn the system, but why should travellers be called upon to do that?

The bathroom is another example. The sink has a shelf above it that makes it difficult to wash your face without dropping water on the floor. Don't designers check these things?

They also installed a pie plate sized shower fixture which decided to launch itself at me when I turned the water on. A look at the coupling indicated a design that was destined to fail.

The walls are also thin. Through the night I was part of every conversation that went by the door and there were many.

The staff were apologetic about the shower head and gave me a discount but management needs to give the place a rethink. Some really expensive were mistakes made with the reno.

On the plus side, there is a handy food shop in the lobby and it is through a door to Grand Central Station.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you're looking for a great conference hotel or just a big place to be anonymous, the Grand Hyatt is posh and in a beautiful location, right next to Grand Central Station in midtown. Rooms are surprisingly large and updated. Beds very comfortable. Service very good, too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncwriter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros:
-Location- central to anywhere in New York.
- Fast lifts
- Comfortable king bed- decent sized room

Cons:
- Unreliable hot water- in the evening, it took 5 mins to get hotwater- the wait for hotwater was so long it prompted calls to reception. When there is hot water, it sometimes drops out and would come back on again.
- Small/ basic bathroom- way below Hyatt standard
- I have agreed to pay $100 for a late checkout at 5pm but found my keys did not work after 2pm. Back down to reception.
- Empty Mini Bar but there is a 24hr kiosk in the lobby.
- Room service was super expensive- there is an additional $5 to bring it to your room + 18% service charge on top!!!
- Have to pay for internet

Tips:
- There is plenty of breakfast options in the area- after all you are at Grand Central.
- Direct bus from Newark to Grand Central

It really is a business hotel.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for business if the price is attractive.

Room Tip: There is plenty of cheap eat options near grand central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I visited here back in March 2012 and the whole place was lovely, check in was very easy and the room was spotless with a great view. We didn't use many of the facilities inside the hotel has we where on a sight seeing trip of New York but the deli downstairs was handy for a coffee on the way out in the mornings.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome rooms, great location. Worth it! Right next to grand central. Lobby is huge.
Always find you a taxi. Bryant park so close and best atmosphere. Times Square is short walk away and so is 5th avenue. Rooms are expensive but Hyatt is worth it. We stayed in New Years time and New York was so packed with people but this place was relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I read a lot of reviews on trip advisor about the Grand Hyatt. I figure if more than half the reviews are good then it must be OK.

What I didn't expect was the grandeur of the foyer, the incredible level of service, the size and the quality of the room the the awesome-ness of the location.

What a fantastic place! An absolute must stay hotel and the best place to see NYC. Price is on the high side, but with good reason, not ridiculously expensive though and definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rad_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,143 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 469 in New York City
3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,582 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 469 in New York City
9,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $194 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing