We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and below”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #332 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros:
-Location- central to anywhere in New York.
- Fast lifts
- Comfortable king bed- decent sized room

Cons:
- Unreliable hot water- in the evening, it took 5 mins to get hotwater- the wait for hotwater was so long it prompted calls to reception. When there is hot water, it sometimes drops out and would come back on again.
- Small/ basic bathroom- way below Hyatt standard
- I have agreed to pay $100 for a late checkout at 5pm but found my keys did not work after 2pm. Back down to reception.
- Empty Mini Bar but there is a 24hr kiosk in the lobby.
- Room service was super expensive- there is an additional $5 to bring it to your room + 18% service charge on top!!!
- Have to pay for internet

Tips:
- There is plenty of breakfast options in the area- after all you are at Grand Central.
- Direct bus from Newark to Grand Central

It really is a business hotel.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for business if the price is attractive.

Room Tip: There is plenty of cheap eat options near grand central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,184 - 5,190 of 9,260 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I visited here back in March 2012 and the whole place was lovely, check in was very easy and the room was spotless with a great view. We didn't use many of the facilities inside the hotel has we where on a sight seeing trip of New York but the deli downstairs was handy for a coffee on the way out in the mornings.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome rooms, great location. Worth it! Right next to grand central. Lobby is huge.
Always find you a taxi. Bryant park so close and best atmosphere. Times Square is short walk away and so is 5th avenue. Rooms are expensive but Hyatt is worth it. We stayed in New Years time and New York was so packed with people but this place was relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I read a lot of reviews on trip advisor about the Grand Hyatt. I figure if more than half the reviews are good then it must be OK.

What I didn't expect was the grandeur of the foyer, the incredible level of service, the size and the quality of the room the the awesome-ness of the location.

What a fantastic place! An absolute must stay hotel and the best place to see NYC. Price is on the high side, but with good reason, not ridiculously expensive though and definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rad_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Grabd Hyatt for 4 nights in Jan . I can t fault anything about the hotel except maybe the drinks in the hotel bar are abit on the pricey side bug it's sort of to be expected .

We arrived at the hotel around 2pm (4pm check in) but were let into our room straight away no problem . The room was spacious and very clean. We had a problem with the room safe as it wouldn t lock on our code so phoned up the front desk and in minutes someone from security was there trying to fix it, he was unable to so called for a locksmith , again he arrived shortly after and eventually the safe was replaced for a new one . From top to bottom the staff were very pleasant, helpful and extremely effecient .

Location is excellent for all main attractions . (times square is 5 blocks away , only a 15 min walk ) which is past 5th and 6th avenues .

If I return to NYC , I shall be booking up at this hotel .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pidge18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here while they were doing a very large renovation on premises. The room was very nice and the decor of hotel was modern. It was unfortunate that the renovations were going on and the regency club level was closed. That was very disappointing as that is why our family loves staying at Hyatt. We are platinum members and use are Hyatt visa to help earn points for free stays. This stay was actually an award stay that we could have used at any Hyatt anywhere in the world. Since we have stayed at other Grand Hyatt's before our family had great expectations of staying at one in New York City. Because of the renovation work the lobby was a mess the wait to get in and out of the hotel was not any fun the noise was also very annoying. Being platinum members usually gives you a room upgrade but that didn't happen either. Had we known all of this before making our reservation we would not have used our reward for a free stay at this Grand Hyatt the one in Orlando we have stayed at before would have been a better choice. Since we only had a short time in the city the problem of having to wait so long to get into or out of the hotel was a big problem and really ruined some our trip. We stayed back in October of 2011 sorry so late writing review. We are considering another trip New York City soon and was looking for places to stay for this trip. I thought of last stay at Grand Hyatt and I had never did a review for our stay. Looking at the Radisson this time for our stay. Love Hyatt but not sure want to take the chance of having my mini vacation a disappointing one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Linda M,
Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding your experience at Grand Hyatt New York during our renovation. The hotel staff tried to mitigate the disruption from the remodel to the best of their ability, so I am very sorry to hear about your stay. I can assure you if you decide to stay with us again, your stay will go seamlessly. Please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com and we will make sure of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely nothing to complain about. The location was perfect. We were 4 in the room on the 27th floor during "Sandy". The rooms were very clean. They gave us as much information as possible during the hurricane and everyone was friendly and professional. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. Enough towels and we could always ask for more.
We asked for information about openings, closures, restaurants (as did everyone in this period) and they were incredibly helpful at the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#222 of 471 in New York City
3,624 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,003 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#224 of 471 in New York City
4,812 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $172 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and two restaurants and lounges. Connected to Grand Central Terminal and next door to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing