We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,792)
Filter reviews
11,792 results
Traveler rating
3,482
3,742
2,386
1,211
971
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,482
3,742
2,386
1,211
971
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand central station great location new york chrysler building club level times square bryant park nyc hotel lobby subway manhattan concierge convention jfk starbucks avenue broadway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7,481 - 7,486 of 11,792 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very good location, you can walk to 5th avenue or cetralpark
Or you can leave newyork easily by train.
Stay near by grand central and crysler building
Lobby is moderate but marble statue feels you beatiful.
Reception people are cheerful and helpful
Rooms are moderate
Room service is a little bit expensive

But the main problem is ELEVATORS
You can wait for an hour

As a whole good Hotel

Room tip: Lower floors can help you for Fast ELEVATORS
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraMERCAN1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friends and I visited NYC and stayed in this hotel. It's a beautiful hotel and very strategically located. The Grand Central's next door. It's not far from the hustle and bustle of Time Square. The room that we stayed in had two double bed. It was pretty spacious eventhough the bathroom was a bit small. It also has safe box inside the room where you can stow your valuables while you roamed the city. The market in the foyer was also nice. If you are a member of Hyatt, you can get free bottled water and coffee which was nice since bottled water was $3 sold elsewhere. One drawback when we were there was there were only one working elevator so getting up to your room took a long time but pretty sure they are fixed by now.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benanna2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Delapidated room, with frigobar by the window, clogged drains, $18 a day for internet use, small gym for 1600 rooms. The staff was OK, the security guy recommended the best burger joint ever, but I will try to never come back. Location is good though.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay at the Grand Hyatt once a month on average. Excellent location for me as my firm's NY office is in the MetLife building next door. The rooms are always clean and large for New York, although I wish the rooms had desks instead of a large table. Nonetheless, a good working environment and if you get a room on one of the upper floors, this is one of the quietest hotels in NY. Very good wi-fi connection. Bathrooms are spotless but a bit small. Excellent shop on the first floor where you can buy all kinds of beverages (including beer and wine), sandwiches and snacks of all kinds, as well as breakfast food. Room service menu is limited and room service ends at 11 p.m., which is dumb for a hotel of this size. Well-equipped and very up-to-date fitness facility, but it is crowded in the morning -- they really need to expand the fitness room. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful, but the bellmen are the most surly and unpleasant I've encountered in New York. Not easy to get a cab here because Grand Central is next door -- use a car service if you want to be on time. In terms of value, same problem as most NY hotels: it just depends on the month. I paid $500/night in December; $197/night in January.

Room tip: Stay on one of the higher floors. They are quieter and you will get an elevator more quickly.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed here before and chose the Hyatt because of its good location. The hotel itself is fair. The market cafe in the foyer is a nice innovation which offers an affordable alternative for breakfast. The twin bed room was very spacious, but our king bed room was more cramped. Sitting on the bed I had to crane my neck to see the TV. Not ideal. But it served the purpose well.

Room tip: On out first stay we had a room overlooking the Chrysler Tower which was much nicer than the street view we had the second time.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon_vermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews