We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cannot fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #299 of 478 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Was our 2nd time staying at the Hyatt and this time it was our honeymoon. The place had had a facelift and looks amazing the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and did everything possible to make our stay/honeymoon a enjoyable one. Ideally located and has all you need within walking distance as well as the main shopping areas and some of the main attractions. We cannot wait to go back again. I will always stay at the Hyatt when visiting the Big Apple. Thanks to every1 at the Hyatt especially Jillian who made our stay extra special. Perhaps I'm not as fussy as some of the people who right reviews or perhaps they are to picky. You cannot fault this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greavsie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,149
    2,578
    1,371
    539
    350
See reviews for
1,559
1,903
347
1,787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stayed here to do a bit of xmas shopping from the uk, there where me and my wife and our friends, we had slightly different views on the hotel. the things we agreed on where the rooms where clean and a decent size although no bath. all facities where good. i liked it because you were not pestered all the time, where as our friends like a more personnel service. we all agreed it was hidiously expensive to eat and drink there though. location couldnt be bettered for us though, i would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were upgraded as soon as the reception realised we were staying for a week. Very pleasant room with huge bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. Sofa, table chairs, storage etc. all of very high standard and the room was cleaned spotlessly - we left the maid a tip every day which may have helped.

View from the window was of an office building rather than Manhattan but the room was quiet - we were not aware of any problems at all with noise from the lifts or other rooms.

The concierge staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful over every little thing: "The best comic store sir? Certainly that would be Midtown Comics on Lexington. Shall I call them to expect you sir?"

It's next to Grand Central which had one nice burger joint and some very dodgy food outlets but a wonderful place to people watch. A very pleasant walk up 42nd St to Bryant Park and Times Square in fact the hotel was ideally situated for the central NY sights. We didn't eat in the hotel as the prices were a bit steep but it is a NY hotel and we expected that. No problem though as there were many places to eat from 'posh' to burger within 5 minutes walk and dozens around Times Square a bit further away.

We had a great time and would recommend the experience to anyone.

Room Tip: We were quite high up away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBaker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had read some reviews about the check in process being cold and impersonal... My experience was just the opposite. Evone checked us in and could not have been nicer or more helpful. In fact the all of the check in staff seemed very helpful. Just ask for what you would like and they go the extra mile to accommodate. Our room is nice and a good size for a family of four.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night from 12/26-12/27. The hotel is right next to Grand Central Station which, of course, is very convenient. However, it makes it very busy and loud. You get noise from people and noise from honking vehicles and sirens from emergency vehicles. The woman who checked us in was nice and gave us a king room, 3012. The rooms, by NYC standards, are good size. The design of the rooms are modern and ugly in my opinion. There's a huge wall size mural on the back of the bed and the room is painted an ugly pewter color. The carpet is black with small pinstripes. If you like modern design then maybe you won't mind. There's an ironing board and hairdryer but no luggage stand or coffee maker. I am seeing less and less coffee makers in NYC hotel rooms, very disapointing. The bed was comfortable but had 3 postage stamp sized pillows. For a king bed you need larger pillows and more of them. The bathroom was average size but had a small sink with a shelf above it that I almost hit my head on when I bent down to wash my face. There was also toothpaste splatter all over the wall next to the sink (gross) which I ended up cleaning. The toilet is an industrial type with a loud flush. It was ugly, loud and didn't even flush properly. There are plenty of 4 star hotels in NYC, I would choose another one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jellyd,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a pleasant check-in experience but are sorry to hear your accommodation was not to your liking. Your comments will be shared with the managing team and addressed properly. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt between Friday 21st Dec to 25th Dec 2012.

Location. Very good. Central easy to find. Easy walking to Rockafella and Times Sq.

Transport links. Next to Grand Station, JFK to Hotel by taxi $52.00 plus $6.50 toll and tip at 15%. 30 to 40 mins away. Never used underground.

Room. Large queen bed very comfortable. Fridge and safe. Had room 3167 away from road noise and lifts. Essential if you are a light sleeper. Bathroom small but adequate. Air con noisey and flush very noisey. TV Good

Lifts : Quick and easy. Never waited long

Check in/out. Simple efficient. Can leave bags at $2 per bag if plane departs after check out. Check out 11:00 am

Breakfast: Available across the road under the arches. New Yorker breakfast ) two toast, jam butter, coffee, fresh orange, and two eggs with bacon and fried potatoes $17 each plus Taxes and Service charges 16% $42 in total.

Wifi : Avaiable at cost or free at cafe or Starbucks two/three doors away and at any Starbucks.

Tours : Use the RED bus tours , 48 hr hop on all tour bus was $44 each plus $10 if you wanted to add the night tour. Tours sections last 2 hrs.

Rockerfella Centre; $30 each including two photos emailed to you. Go early or book. Remember you need a clear day and the direction of the sun for photo's.

Macys easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Away from lifts and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandHefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at Grand Hyatt in June 2012 and this hotel is great. Its location is priceless having a private access to Grand Central.
Everything looks pretty new (not sure when it was reformed) - the room was perfect, the lobby and receptions are great not to mention the staff which was really helpful and educated.
Check-in/check-out were fast and without surprises.
Did not have a chance to check other services like swimming, Gym etc (not even sure what they have).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeDAgostini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,395 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#247 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,440 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#280 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#64 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#331 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,488 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing