We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location is the key word when it comes to the primary value of this property!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #310 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location is the key word when it comes to the primary value of this property!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First timers and seasoned New York visitors will find that Grand Hyatt's proximity at Grand Central Station will provide easy access to anywhere in the city. Times Square is just a quick subway shuttle ride or take a walk around the corner to the Grand Central Market for an awesome variety of fresh gourmet food, baked goods, quick snacks or an array of ideas to bring home. I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt's Regency Club rooms which provide access to their lounge serving continental breakfast, and afternoon appetizers. Snacks and soft drinks are made available throughout the day. Although the rooms are less spacious than most Hyatts, esoecially the bathroom, I would definitely stay there again as it's location trumps any shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stsutsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,339
    2,737
    1,519
    625
    398
See reviews for
1,731
2,061
383
1,973
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a great hotel the staff very helpful the rooms are large modern clean& comfortable with a large walk in wardrobe that also had the room to hold our two large and one small suitcases without you falling over them every time you went in the wardrobe , the bathroom was standard but clean,tidy & well stocked ,,in the living area there is also i seating area with a sofa and table . And a large kingsize bed , although this is a busy part of midtown our room was on the 18th floor and did not find the traffic noise to be a problem a great base to explore New York you could be shopping in 5th ave within 10/15 minutes walking and time square within 20/30 mins walk, I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We took a shopping trip for a few days to New York and booked this hotel as part of a package. The foyer is huge and check in was easy. We were on the 23rd floor and we had booked an executive double room. The bed was huge, the room was small. The bathroom was ridiculously small but did have toiletries and a hairdryer. There was a fridge in the room but with nothing in it. We went down to the coffee shop in the lobby and bought some drinks i.e. water etc and I found it really dear. Not as dear as when we went for a drink in the bar and a small glass of white wine and a soda water was over $20. It does have a nice view of the street but you certainly pay for it.
The location however is outstanding and you can walk to 5th Avenue and Times Square in minutes. It is also part of Grand Central Station that has its own eclectic choice of shops.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are surprisingly quiet and have a good view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

As with many reviewers here we found that the location couldn't be beat. We purchased a $29 7 day subway card and were able to zoom around the city knowing that we could return to the hotel easily whenever we needed. Although in a busy part of midtown I didn't find traffic noise to be a problem and I am a very light sleeper.

The hotel itself was OK but nothing amazing. On checking in there was a delay while they tried to locate a room for us but we were soon on our way to the 27th floor. The room itself was huge - far larger than the one I paid 3 times as much for at the Peninsula a few months earlier. There was a small sofa and table area plus a walk in wardrobe which had plenty of space for our two large suitcases.

The bathroom was tiny but that wasn't an issue - after all, how much time do you spend in the bathroom!?

The let downs though were as follows:

The vent in the bathroom let freezing cold air in. As the bathroom door was about 3 feet from the bed this meant that unless the door was tightly closed I was freezing in bed! It also made for a very cold exit from the shower in the morning.

Also, although the hotel had recently been renovated it appeared to have been done on the cheap in some cases. The table was not held together securely as the top was just glued on - when you tried to move it the top came off!!

Overall it was a perfectly good (if somewhat cold) place to lay your head at night and the location made getting around Manhattan very easy. If the price was right I'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalSBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We based ourselves here to explore New York - fantastic location, great room, friendly staff. Disappointing not to have complimentary wifi, but Starbucks was just down the road. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC, Brazil
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's a very nice hotel, with a good location in Midtown Manhattan. The reception is wonderful, modern and the staff is usually helpful. Rooms, beds and the bathroom are small considering the hotel price, but very comfortable. The restaurant is modern, with a menu minimalist (and I didn't like it). I missed a "real" breakfast! However, overall is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff immediately recognized our family of weary travelers with our Platinum Card in hand at check in and were wisked away to a private room. The lobby and bar area were nice respites from the cold winds. The room itself though is very average with a terribly small bathroom, the sink area was only a pedestal sink with a ledge above that made it difficult to put on makeup and hold all our sundries. Overall thoug in this high rent district of midtown, its location is perfectly excellent for travel due to its attachment to grand central station. We would defintiely stay there again, card holders or not.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room- they appear larger on the room map
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfoodiefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#49 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#234 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#195 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#323 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,296 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#274 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing