We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, no problems during stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, no problems during stay.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Being at Grand Hyatt New York you are mostly inside Grand Central Terminal. Easy going in and out Manhatan. You can easily vist the East side or take S Shutle Subway to Times Square. Express Trains 4 and 5 go up and down.

Totally Refurbished and with a trained staff i´ve stayed 5 nights during November 2012. They also have a very good Concierge to make restaurants and shows indications.

If you wish a central, clean, refurbished hotel, with also a small market inside. This is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,632
    3,019
    1,721
    730
    469
See reviews for
2,020
2,258
413
2,284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed almost a week at the Grand Hyatt New York.

It is situated next to Grand Central Station. If you are a tourist the location is terrible. I would rather stay near Central Park or somewhere around SoHo or Greenwich Village.

Grand Hyatt New York is quite big and the lobby feels like a train station. If you stay on the upper floors you will be waiting for the elevator all the time.

The first room I got was actually pretty nice except from the broken toilet. I had to complain for two days before I was moved to another room. I was not happy!

In the next room everything was working, but the bathroom was very cramped.

In both rooms the air condition was not working well. I attended a conference at the hotel. The conference rooms were SO cold that I had to leave the conference several times to regain a normal body temperature. When I asked for a more human temperature, the answer was: Not possible.

I will not stay at Grand Hyatt New York again and wouldn’t recommend this hotel for my worst enemy.

PS. One positive thing about the Grand Hyatt New York: The concierge service (prior to arrival) worked well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A nice enough hotel in an excellent location that is almost completely designed to accomodate the business traveler; families not so much. The decor is cold and masculine with so so service and a conciege service that was only mildly helpful. The room was about average by NYC standards, and more than functional although the lack of a coffee/tea service in the room was a glaring oversight, as was the absence of any complementary wireless in rooms or public paces (can be bought for $16 a day). The little 24 hour mini-market in the lobby is nice to have, but grossly overpriced ($3.70 for a small cup of coffee when the Starbucks around the corner charged $2.10). But most guests will hardly notice since they are likely on an expense account. The big advantage of this property is its price/ location quotant. We could walk to just about everything in mid-town/ theater district, including central park about 20 minutes away. And its right next to Grand Central, which was huge.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ends of each floor were about 30% bigger than the ones in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRSHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a resident of New York City, it's rare that I would stay in a hotel here in Manhattan but hurricane Sandy hit and I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hyatt. I can't believe the ratings aren't higher for this place. First- it's next to Grand Central so in my opinion especially if you're a visitor to our city- it's a perfect location to see as much as possible. Second, the room is spotless, there's a flat screen tv, comfortable bed, and state of the art fitness center. I would ask for a room on the highest floor to get a great view.

Room Tip: As for a room on the higher floors and for coffee vouchers. They should give you vouchers for free c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My general assessment, staying at many hotels, is that this is an average hotel. No major complaints, but no rave reviews. Since I gave the Hyatt in San Francisco 4 stars - then this hotel probably deserves 2.5-3.0 stars.

The hotel is very large and in a great location in Manhattan - easy walking distance to anything in mid-town. Everything was clean, in good working condition and appeared well taken care of. I had reserved a King room in the club level. The room was very large - although somewhat sparsly furnished - and only what appeared to be a double bed (although the usual very comfortable Hyatt bed). The bathroom was small - just a standup shower and the toilet and vanity were so close together that to take care of business you had to sit sideways...(seriously)

The Club Lounge was large and very busy but well stocked with a good selection. In the club lounge they do charge for alcohol - which is fine - although the prices were comparable to the lobby lounge - for quite generic wine.

Again, I looked for that WOW factor and it just wasn't there. Service was as you would expect in a massive city hotel. Nothing bad but nothing to draw me back again.

The one negative experience that I had was with the parking. I understand that they are a third party vendor - but they do represent the hotel and appear to provide a service exclusively for hotel guests. We checked in at 3:19 one afternoon and checked out (thanks to a late check-out) at 2:50 the next afternoon. The parking was $120 because they said we stayed over 24 hours. Initially they claimed we had checked in at 2:00 according to the stamp on the ticket - so I assumed they pre-stamped the ticket but it seems that because of the clocks turnback I had actually stayed more than 24 hours. The valets seemed to take alot of pleasure in this - of course no manager was on duty so in order to get my car I had to pay - the additional 30 minutes cost $50. I think that this is a bad business practice and reflects poorly on the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ord2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Just back from five days at the grand hyatt.
Location is wonderful. Grand central station is awesome..
Lobby a little soulless but who needs a hotel lobby with ny on your door step.
Concierge really know their stuff.
Room was clean and very big.
Beds were really comfy.
Overall a great hotel to come back to after a day exploring.

Helpful?
1 Thank WarriorQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a conference (also held in the hotel) which also coincided with our Anniversary. I made the reservation via telephone in the hopes of attaining a complimentary room upgrade. Unfortunately, I was told that this could not be done at the time, but I could try asking upon check-in.

We arrived early in the morning, as our conference started at 8 AM. Though standard check-in is not until 4 PM, we met with the front desk staff and were granted a free room upgrade (SCORE!). We were also able to check in early - I received a phone call at Noon alerting me that the room was ready for us. Score 2 for the hotel! Our room was a King Corner room on the 31st floor. The room was a typical size for NYC and had a great view. The bathroom was tiny but served its purpose. The toiletries are quite generous - large 6 oz sized shampoo and conditioner, a full bottle of lotion, and even lip balm.

Overall, we were very pleased with the room. Of course, we would have liked a lower price, but this is Manhattan and low prices are few and far between. Service was great, the bed was extremely comfortable, and we would definitely stay there again.

One minor annoyance - we asked to store our bags upon check-out, as the conference did not end until 5 PM. We were able to do so, but the hotel charged $2 per bag. Come on now! Also, the internet was a rip-off, so we did not partake in the wifi service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms that are higher up are both larger and quieter. Don't pay up front; take your chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mua312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,199 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,474 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
6,425 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing