We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary, expensive conference hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Putney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Ordinary, expensive conference hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Check-in was good, rooms are ok - quite spacious for NYC. The gym was very small and crowded and there was a queue at 0645 in the morning which was very disappointing. One day my room wasn't made up at all. We were here for a conference, and the food was actually OK. Expensive room rates though, and charging extra for wireless internet on top of the room rate is just rude. Wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,519
    2,875
    1,626
    676
    430
See reviews for
1,891
2,172
399
2,131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took my Mum in April 2012 to visit New York and stayed at the Grand Hyatt Hotel on recommendation from a friend. Let's just say we were not disappointed! The rooms were immaculate, and the service given from the staff was amazing, from where to eat, how to find certain things or general questions about your trip. They were very knowledgeable about the area and gave great advice! Before arriving I emailed the hotel to tell them it was my Mum's 50th birthday, and we were greeted by a large fruit bowl and a birthday card from the hotel. We thought this was a really nice touch and really personalised our trip. New York itself is absolutely amazing, and the Grand Hyatt is a 5-10 minute walk from Times Square, so in a great location to access the sights. Although it is so close, and we were in 'the city that never sleeps' the rooms were quiet and relaxing, which is just what you need after a long day in the city! If I return to New York I will definitely stay here again and definitely recommend a friend! If you stay here you must have a breakfast in the little diner under the bridge across the road! Beautiful!
Quick tip about NYC in general, buy a bus pass before you go, that you can hop on and off the sight seeing buses as many times as you wish! We found these invaluable and saved ££s on taxi fares, and saved our legs from miles of unnecessary walking!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The welcome to the hotel is outstanding, you have happy people smiling and check in was prompt. The room was very nice indeed and the location is brilliant. Well that started well. Concierge was rudest we experienced on our 5 weeks away, well have ever experienced. We were asking him for a phone number, (he was to busy to call with no one waiting), then took another call whilst talking to us and spoke for three minutes before we left. A dirty wine glass was left outside room next to us, for 5 days, it did provide some humor to us. Safe stopped working and when we asked someone to fix it, we never saw anyone. The gentleman at checkout was kind enough to listen and wiped our day of Internet charge which was kind. Overall, the hotel is good but when you stay at a place like this you expect great. Maybe the concierge should stop looking at age and not guessing bank accounts before serving you! The people in front seemed to get great service, maybe being younger means he thought he wasn't going to get a good tip. Thought wrong and cost himself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here. Situated between Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building giving you easy access to everywhere in Manhattan. Rooms were excellent as were all staff. Would stay here again. Great coffee shop across the road which was our first port of call in the mornings.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one overlooking 42nd street and the other overlooking the east side. 17th floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I had acute appendicitis, and asked the hotel to call the house doctor, which they did. However, he wanted $400 cash - didn't take credit cards. Hotel refused to charge his bill to my hotel room, so in a gravely ill condition I was forced onto the street to draw the cash (the hotel's ATM only allows $200 withdrawal). My wife was was on a flight from London at the time of diagnosis, admission to ER & surgery, so I asked that when she checked into hotel that the reception should let her know what had happened. This they did not do. Thankfully I was out of surgery when she called so I was able to tell her the name of the hospital. Regrettably I am still in the hotel as I was only discharged today and not allowed to fly for at least 5 days.

Other than that, the basics: Clean the rooms. After 10 days there is still someone else's hair in the bathroom. Bedroom furniture is badly chipped & has no desk - bizarre for a business hotel. Laundry bag & slips never replaced. Room service not opening until 6am in a business hotel is ridiculous. Non-smoking room still reeks of smoke after 10 days.

I have stayed in many Grand Hyatt's around the world. This hotel is shocking. At best a low end Hyatt, not Grand at all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SAexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear SAexpat,

We appreciate you writing a candid review here on TripAdvisor. At your convenience, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com as we would like to speak with your directly about your stay with us. I wish you a quick recovery.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although a bit pricey, I was very pleased with the hotel. As its name implies (Grand Hyatt) it is located next to Grand Central Station. Getting to all areas of the tri state region - and within Manhattan - is a breeze. Excellent rooms, meeting space and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We saved a lot by bidding on Priceline, and when we checked in nothing was said about Priceline (sometimes one gets snide comments) and were actually given an upgraded King Size room. The hotel was perfect in terms of location, within walking distance of Bryant Park, Times Square, and 30 Rock, and with connections throughout the city at Grand Central Station, which is located under the hotel. The room was clean and up to Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: If you have a child with you, the sofa in the king size bed room is long enough to skip the rollaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeppo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,710 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,675 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing