We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manhattan Dream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #311 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Manhattan Dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here. Situated between Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building giving you easy access to everywhere in Manhattan. Rooms were excellent as were all staff. Would stay here again. Great coffee shop across the road which was our first port of call in the mornings.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one overlooking 42nd street and the other overlooking the east side. 17th floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    2,869
    1,619
    673
    428
See reviews for
1,884
2,170
397
2,121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I had acute appendicitis, and asked the hotel to call the house doctor, which they did. However, he wanted $400 cash - didn't take credit cards. Hotel refused to charge his bill to my hotel room, so in a gravely ill condition I was forced onto the street to draw the cash (the hotel's ATM only allows $200 withdrawal). My wife was was on a flight from London at the time of diagnosis, admission to ER & surgery, so I asked that when she checked into hotel that the reception should let her know what had happened. This they did not do. Thankfully I was out of surgery when she called so I was able to tell her the name of the hospital. Regrettably I am still in the hotel as I was only discharged today and not allowed to fly for at least 5 days.

Other than that, the basics: Clean the rooms. After 10 days there is still someone else's hair in the bathroom. Bedroom furniture is badly chipped & has no desk - bizarre for a business hotel. Laundry bag & slips never replaced. Room service not opening until 6am in a business hotel is ridiculous. Non-smoking room still reeks of smoke after 10 days.

I have stayed in many Grand Hyatt's around the world. This hotel is shocking. At best a low end Hyatt, not Grand at all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SAexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear SAexpat,

We appreciate you writing a candid review here on TripAdvisor. At your convenience, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com as we would like to speak with your directly about your stay with us. I wish you a quick recovery.

Best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although a bit pricey, I was very pleased with the hotel. As its name implies (Grand Hyatt) it is located next to Grand Central Station. Getting to all areas of the tri state region - and within Manhattan - is a breeze. Excellent rooms, meeting space and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We saved a lot by bidding on Priceline, and when we checked in nothing was said about Priceline (sometimes one gets snide comments) and were actually given an upgraded King Size room. The hotel was perfect in terms of location, within walking distance of Bryant Park, Times Square, and 30 Rock, and with connections throughout the city at Grand Central Station, which is located under the hotel. The room was clean and up to Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: If you have a child with you, the sofa in the king size bed room is long enough to skip the rollaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeppo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a slight bit confused upon checking into this room. They don't make it obvious where check in is. There are some desks to the left atop the escalators and the check in desks are towards the end but no signs saying this is reception. The lady that checked us in, not going to name names, was as warm as a frozen corpse. Being the friendly chap I am, I tried to strike a conversation with her but not much luck there. She gave us our room keys. We went up and were pretty happy with the room. I don't know what the story is with the way they number the floors. I think we were floor 16 which is actually the second floor from what I can tell.

The ladies in the shops at the back of the hotel were very nice. I went to the concierge desk and was warmly treated by one member of staff but the female he was talking to was irritated that they interrupted the joke they were having when I expected her to do her job and help me.

Anyway, overall I guess I was disappointed but I've stayed in much worse. Everything else aside the location is perfect as it's latched onto central station, close to times square and central park. It's easy to get wherever you want from there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My first experience with this Grand Hyatt was a disappointment. We chose to be upgraded to a “Club Level” room, thinking this would be a great room. We got Floor 16, (thinking this was high, but only the second floor with rooms of the 32 floors) with an inner-facing room looking out onto a dark, black glass column, with barely a hint of sky! What a disappointment in the Hyatt brand, and a GRAND Hyatt, nonetheless! The WORST part was that the 16th floor is above the SMOKING 15th floor. (Smoke rises, right?!) Our room non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. Really. When I called, I was (1) met with an argumentative staff, (2) a “full” hotel” and (3) a promise to be put on the waiting list and called when/if another room became available—I never received a call from the front desk.

POSITIVE: Club room with outdoor patio was great; Club room food was very good; interior of the room was larger than expected for a NYC hotel room; the location to Grand Central and Midtown, was a plus.

NEGATIVE: Certainly, the smoking issue (above); Unhelpful and rude staff; poorly designed room space—wasted space on entry, which was larger than the bathroom; disappointed in being charged extra for beer and wine at the club level; AND. . . the check in process (UGH!) was a DEBACLE—there needs to be signage, personnel, direction, etc—what chaos—good luck checking in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just had four nights here and had to bring our own luggage into reception. The receptionist Evone was great. After getting our own stuff to our room, we found timber look floors and now tea or coffee making facility. They hotel is in a great position but the cold timber floor and extreme slow elevators and lack of assistance from the concierge and door men was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with carpet and coffee machine and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,686 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,611 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,207 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing