We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A problem for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #320 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A problem for business travellers”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt in early October 2012. I was on a business trip and highly dependent on my computer to operate in the hotel. When I tried to get connected it would not work; I was connected by the hotel operator to a service in Guatamala City - and was on the phone with a young man for 2 1/2 hours while he tried different things to make it work - explaining in the course of it that the servers in the hotel had a weak signal in some rooms and maybe I should change my room. I finally gave up and went to bed; the next morning I was able to connect by disabling virus protection - a very unsatisfactory resolution that he never even suggested.

Aside from that the room was clean and pleasant - but without good computer service, it is a real problem for a business traveler. I rate the service and facilities as excellent except for this problem - but this problem was really important to me and it left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear pico1,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your accommodation but sincerely apologize about the inconvenience regarding the WiFi service. I understand what a nuisance that can be, especially relying heavily on it for business. I can assure you this will not be the case if you choose to stay with us again. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us so we can make sure your next stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,601
    2,990
    1,694
    718
    457
See reviews for
1,982
2,237
410
2,245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were able to check in early on Columbus Day long weekend and were upgraded without asking. Room was surprisingly spacious. Not much view but the only time spent there was to sleep. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was ideal, close proximity to Times Square and all of the attractions. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. Would definitely return for our next trip to New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very disappointed with my stay. Bathroom tub was chipped (looked like it had been reporcelainized poorly before), hair all over the bathroom and hotel room, etc. DISGUSTING. Other things that were annoying was their high-tech lighting control which did not make sense. Some buttons said to turn on "night lights" and many lights came on, other buttons on the switch by the bed said "all lights on/off" and if someone was in the bathroom it turned the bathroom lights off on them - there was no way just to turn off the lights in the room. Also, dust bunnies throughout the room with hair (easily seen by the chair in the room which appears hasn't been moved for cleaning), TV reception was very granular - even on their hotel information channel so it wasn't the cable coming into the hotel, the digital clock in the room wasn't set to the correct time (off by over 8 hours) and there wasn't an obvious way to set it ourselves.

All-in-all I wouldn't consider ever staying at this hotel again. Was very disappointed in the general maintenance of the room let alone the housekeeping. First time I refused to leave a tip for a maid. But clearly the maid hasn't kept the room clean.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Robert F,

We appreciate you telling us of your experience at Grand Hyatt New York. At your earliest convenience, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com so we may speak with you directly about the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very large modern, centrally located hotel - excellent for shopping. Plenty of amenities including gym, foodmarket, business centre & bar/restaurants. The hotel is right next door to grand central station so is a great base to see the city. Times sq is a 10 min walk & the NY library less than 5 mins away. Two small negatives: firstly,no free WIfi (bit of a joke as even Burger King have free Internet these days!). Secondly, we reserved a 4 person room & were given a room with two small queen beds. Ok as we are all slim and petite (under 5ft 5) but would be extremely uncomfortable for average sized adults! I have stayed at other hotels for the same money & they provide 2 x king beds, not queens. Overall, good for a short tourist break. Modern, clean & central.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1984travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

JUst fine really, but very expensive the few days we were there, although Yvone at the desk managed to get us a lower rate for our 2 and 3rd nights. Yet at those prices, wifi is extra? why? Also shower took a very long time to heat up, and had to step into shower to turn on water.. so got a blast of very cold water. but lovely soap. WHen i read other reviews they said to tip to get good service. but frankly i didnt see anyone to tip. took own bags up and down
Nice tv, but husband couldnt believe they didnt have HD channels. Excellent location. and little food store in lobby is open all the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuteshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a 5 night stay at the Hyatt Grand Central and had a good stay. We arrived late on October 2 with no luggage as Virgin Australia lost our bags. Immediately our check in assistant offered us emergency toiletries and directed us to a Duane Reade store a few doors down to buy brushes etc. She also took us to the porters to report that we were expecting the bags so they could keep an eye out for them when they arrived ( they never did, Virgin Australia is a disgrace, pitiful service ).

The room for two adults and 1 fourteen year old was good. We upgraded to Regency Club level so were on the 33 rd floor over looking 42nd St. Room size is not huge but it is fine, we had two double beds which were very comfortable. The bathrooms are small but adequate alhough the toilet is jammed between the sink and shower. I am quite solid and it was ok but if your were a truly big man it would be uncomfortable. Water was hot and shower pressure was fine.

Housekeeping were awesome especially considering the mess due to our lost bags and us having to buy clothes as we went.

Staff were excellent all over the hotel, special mention to Odette on the check in and Amos the porter. Both are a credit to the
Hotel.

The market place cafe is great, decent food at a decent price and great cheesecake.

Loved the Regency Club, a beautiful exclusive room with free breakfast, drinks, canapes and a very handy computer and printer to print e tickets etc. Worth the upgrade.

Location is this hotels best feature. A undercover tunnel connects the hotel to Grand Central, short 10 minute walk to time sq uare, short walk to 5 th ave shopping, walking distance to the Chrysler and Empire State buildings.

My only issues are that the windows are not double glazed and even on the 33 rd floor the traffic noise is audible. Also the floors are hard wood so if you have a woman in stilettos pacing up and down at 5 in the morning next door you can hear it. Otherwise the rooms were quiet.

Overall its not the best Hyatt I have stayed at (embacadero San Francisco holds that place) but a great hotel none the less. It needs to be remembered that this is not a resort. Its a New York hotel. We spent very little time in the room, hey its New York so we were out enjoying the Big Apple. We will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Redaussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The only thing good about Hyatt is its location which is really central. Check in takes forever and the reception area looks like a crowded train station all the times. I was accompanying my husband who was in NY for work. We were booked for 8 nights by his office. We requested for a corner or at least a sunny room but were told hotel is totally sold out. Our room was small and dark overlooking a back alley surrounded by tall buildings so absolutely no light and quite claustrophobic. service is pathetic. One example: My husband had forgotten to pack his shaving razor and called the house keeping. They promised to send right away. It never came. We called again after waiting for twenty minutes. Someone called Karen picked up and promised to send. Sorry to say that my husband had to leave for office without shaving as he got so delayed just waiting for it to come! This is preposterous. Finally he got it from the shop outside on his way back from office. Similarly the room has coffee/tea maker but no milk satchel or creamer is provided. When we asked for it, the house keeping sent some coffee powder after 20 minutes. Is it expected that everyone has to drink only black coffee or tea without any milk? It is impossible to think that this is Grand Hyatt we are talking about!

Room Tip: Rooms are small and dark unless you get the corner ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear ritum,

Thank you writing us about your recent stay at Grand Hyatt New York. On behalf of the staff, I sincerely apologize about the lack of service you experienced. Please know I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Director so he can address the matter internally. It is our top priority to provide each guest with authentic hospitality so I apologize for your stay. I do hope you'll give us another chance and be assured you will receive top-notch service and the best in accommodations. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us if we can be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,370 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing