We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our stay at the Blakely was more than we expected. We pulled up front to check in and the front doorman directed my husband to the garage next door to park. We were easily able to go back to the car for forgotten items such as jackets and chargers. Check in was quick and easy. We stayed in a Jr. Suite. It was very big for NYC, clean and decorated traditionally. During our stay the noise outside was minimal, our rooms were kept spotless and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars was its breakfast. The breakfast was at the sit down restaurant and you had to wait to be seated if the tables were full. The breakfast was the same continental food each day, that was not well stocked. We do not eat gluten, so our choice was just fruit and yogurt, which was nearly empty. The coffee was not refilled. Another lady tried to refill it herself, but was told not to touch the carafes. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, the rooms are excellent and mostly quiet and they are kept spotless, so I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A Jr. Suite is well worth the extra money. It had two double beds and a sleeper sofa that sleeps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 973Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    540
    112
    30
    16
See reviews for
407
493
48
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have always had excellent stays at the Blakely. We like the convenience of it's location and is easy to get to, as we drive into the city. Just pull your car up right in front of building and drop your bags off then pull into the parking garage right next door to them.
You are just a quick walk to shopping on 5th Av, the Rockefeller center and St. Patrick's Cathedral and Magnolia bakery. It is nice walk down to Times Square or just up the street to Central Park. It is nice being able to walk out of the lobby on to the sidewalk without having to step out of your Hotel and right into the mass of people in Times Square, but you are still very close to all the action and stores in Times Square.
The rooms are always very clean and nice, Beds are very comfortable. We have stayed in the suites with the extra room with a couch that makes up into a single bed and it is also very comfortable it is a real mattress not a pull out sleeper. We have stayed in a room that had a view of street one time. This time we had room 205 just know that not all rooms have a view, the room did have a window but it looked out at a brick wall and a small roof area. This room was very quiet and we did get daylight in the window. But when we travel to NYC we spend all of our time out on the town so having a view was not important to us. We booked a room with the free breakfast. It was nice to get something to eat before heading out. Cereals, bagels, muffins, fruits, coffee and juice. you are asked to leave a tip of $2.00 per head for the server. The Hotel staff is always very nice and helpful. We have stayed here 3 times over the past several years and the have always been excellent. I will stay with them again and can't wait to get back to NYC.... Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The location, size of the room and cleanliness were great. However there was no doorman assisting with luggage (I had to drag a 50 pound suitcase up and down a set of stairs myself) and the hotel entrance is very outdated and little welcoming. Breakfast was ok but not special. At times we had to wait more than 10 minutes for the elevator and ended up walking up 10 stories more than once...
Granted we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel AND got a special deal it was fine. I however wouldn't recommend anyone paying full price.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Blakely for 4 nights. We arrived at 10.30 am and they checked us immediately. The front desk service was faultless.
We requested a kettle which was provided that evening.
The room was spotlessly clean and spacious enough.
I remember that there were views from the rooms. There are no views to be had from a 17 floors hotel when most of the others around it are twice as high or higher.
What drags this hotel down is the restaurant and breakfast.
We had breakfast 3 mornings. Exactly the same poor choices. They couldn't even provide cold drinking water. We only eat cereals, fruit and yogurt. Only 3 types of cereal and not good ones, the same 3 types of fruit and cut up big.
We also had lunch at the restaurant one day. My wife's chicken was undercooked. They offered to replace it, but by then, she was over the chicken. They took $10 off the bill. Way over staffed. There were 3 staff members standing not far from us for a while. We felt we were being watched. We prefer some privacy while we chew out food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cromansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed a few nights here and it was a very nice hotel, although the appearance is a little dated. The room was nice and comfortable and facilities were good. Breakfast wasn't great as it's at a bar/restaurant adjoining the property and the choice wasn't the best, but it's easy to find food in New York if you're hungry. Reception staff weren't a bundle of joy either! All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is my third review of The Blakely and have stayed here a number of times. Good rooms for families, great location, excellent staff yada, yada, yada.

But I am writing this review to simply thank the staff for an excellent and quick response to issues we had with our room. It was a hot day in August when we visited and our air-conditioner was not working. I called the front desk and they had their engineer in the room within fifteen minutes and the air-conditioner swapped out within another fifteen minutes.

Ah, cool, wonderful breeze. And then it broke again the next day.....

Same experience, air-conditioner was swapped out within 30 minutes and we were nice and cool for the balance of our five day stay.

Now, you may say the air-conditioner should have worked. But, its how the staff responds to issues that defines the quality of service one can expect and, in this case, they responded marvelously.

Kudos!

Room Tip: As always try to avoid lower floors at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AForder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Blakely for two nights.
The location is fantastic only a few blocks from 5th Avenue, and Central Park.
The hotel looks quite bleak from the outside, but once you step inside you will be pleasantly surprised. It is a very traditional hotel. Our room was on the 12th floor and was very spacious, there was a little kitchenette, with a fridge, freezer, microwave and a great Espresso machine. This is particularly good if you want to buy your own food and drinks.
The bed was fantastic, very comfortable indeed. They also have a small gym but we were too tired to use it.
The only real let down was the breakfast, it was Continental breakfast, but it was a very simple affair, luckily there are plenty of diners in the area where you can get a real American Breakfast.
The gentleman at the Concierge desk was great very friendly and helpful. Although one of the receptionists were not having a good day when we checked in.
I would definitely stay again though as the location is superb and overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#103 of 467 in New York City
1,602 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#175 of 467 in New York City
3,467 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#211 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelsClick so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing