We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #126 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Blakely Hotel, New York. The Hotel was very nice to stay in. I cannot fault the staff. They were very helpful throughout our stay. The Hotel it self was very quaint. The décor inside was dated about early twentieth century, but it had an appealing quality to it. The room was very spacious. The bed was VERY king size. I think you could get four in the bed easily. It was very comfortable. The only complaint if any was the fact that the pillows were not filled with much feathers. So i got an extra one of foam, which made a difference. Although the view from the bedroom was a bit disappointing. More blocks out side. But, hey, this is New York. The hotel is nicely situated not to far from Central Park, The Empire state building, Grand Central Station, Madison Avenue and Times Square. The taxis were aplenty. The breakfast wasn't to every ones taste, but my wife and I found it pleasant. Pineapple, watermelon and honey melon, along with a lovely yoghurt to compliment. There was also a choice of cereals. After, you could have toasted bread, bagle, and muffin. Plenty of tea and coffee to drink. There were two lifts, you had to wait a couple of minutes for one to arrive, we were on the tenth floor. That is to be expected as they were used quite a lot by staff and other guests. All in all, a very pleasant stay and would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit New York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nice suite experience in well located spot in NYC. Perfect for families. Have stayed multiple times with kids. Only issue is small elevators which can create long waits. Hotel restaurant not impressive but there are multiple nice places to eat within a block.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drosenb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at The Blakely during the month of February 2014 and what a wonderful experience. The room was lovely. The location was excellent. The staff were exceptionally helpful, I would recommend The Blakely without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domenique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great location a few blocks from Central Park, MoMa, and Fifth Avenue shops. Tons of restaurants nearby. Elevator is teeny so if a few people are in there with big bags, you may wait for the next one. Lots of European guests. Front desk staff and bellman were very friendly.

Our room was huge by NYC standards - walk into a sitting room with a nice fold out daybed. Kitchenette/bar to the left, bathroom left of that. Would be a great size if you had young kids with you. Bedroom to the right with a door in between the rooms. Decor is sort of 1800s English manor style. Keurig in room - bring your own K-cups if you don't like Emeril's Big Easy Coffee. Lots of dishes and utensils if you are bringing your own food in.

The bathroom has a nice vanity to set up your stuff but it is poorly lit. The makeup mirror lights up but not much so putting on makeup in there is tough. Rainfall shower, if you like that. Conditioner does not detangle so ladies/kids with long hair should bring their own. Towels are not generously sized but they provide several and they give you a couple robes to use.

The bed was really, really firm. Soft pillows, though. Someone in a review said they had a pillowtop - not in my room. Like a rock. Our room was incredibly cold no matter what we did with the thermostat and the hall outside the room was stifling. Old building issues, maybe. I could have used another blanket. The room was clean, housekeeping did an impeccable job. Great blackout blinds for sleeping in on the weekend but you might not be able to ignore the sound Mon-Fri. Street noise starts around 7am and is pretty loud.

The restaurant with the free continental could use some work due to their very indifferent staff. We walked in at 10:31am Sunday morning, a minute after the end of breakfast, and were told it was closed but grab a bagel since they are free. It would have been nice if she let us sit there for 5 minutes or something as there were several people still in there and it's a serve yourself buffet. The next day we came in earlier and got the same vibe - sort of like customers were an imposition -and then waited 10 min for coffee. They had to go cups but not lids and said someone ordered the wrong cups. Seems like an easy fix to go borrow some from a neighboring restaurant and get an order from Sysco on Monday, though. It's fine for a quick breakfast but don't expect to get your socks knocked off. Bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal.

Room Tip: we were in 905 facing 55th- thermostat issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckwcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is our "go to" place when we are in NYC. The suite is well price in the mid $300's and it includes a very comfortable day bed in the living area. We have stayed there since our daughter was 14 and still come back with her at age 21. She loves the comfy day bed and we don't have to pay for 2 rooms which would be way more expensive in NYC. Most recently we stayed there the night of her surgery and the staff was so helpful. They made sure she had everything she needed including non-stop ice. The small kitchenette is perfect. The only time we don't stay there is when it's sold out when we come. Hats off to the staff, the perfectly arranged rooms and the comfortable beds. The location is also perfect. We always request to stay on 55th looking over the City Center and we usually stay on the 11th floor. No problems with noise but we do expect to hear traffic in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swanchat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Did not expect to get such a quality hotel so close to many of the major attractions. It is also a very homely hotel. It was nice to get a friendly welcome after encountering a rude taxi driver. If I go back to New York I will stay here.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We ended up at the Blakely because of a mangled Groupon promotion. We lost the $100 promotion value because of a combination of micro-fine print, onerous restrictions, and our own mistake. The hotel did try to sweeten the pot by offering an upgrade (suite) for the full $300 standard rate. We would never have paid $365 for a suite in Manhattan under any circumstances, so their offer amounted to an empty gesture.

The hotel is ideally located near the theater district and midtown attractions. The staff was accommodating, room was clean and comfortable, view was unremarkable. Mostly what you would expect for $365/night.

After we checked out, I found an extra $3 charge on my credit card. A phone call elicited the explanation that it was for the Mini Bar. Having read of the predatory nature of hotels towards their guests over Mini Bars together with the exorbitant prices, we had scrupulously avoided even touching ours, let alone taking anything out of it.

I am sad to report that after all the good experiences, it seems the Blakely subscribes to the all too common business model of cheating customers of a small amount in the hopes that they will not notice, or, if they do, not complain about it. For this reason, I am reducing my rating by two stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bare_Chested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#67 of 473 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#272 of 473 in New York City
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#233 of 473 in New York City
513 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#192 of 473 in New York City
428 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#165 of 473 in New York City
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing