We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return visitor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
tucson az
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“return visitor!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

this is our second visit! perfect location to go everywhere. frig and micro in room. nice breakfast and most helpful staff.
i will always stay here!
not new but very nicely maintained. easy walk to central park, lincoln center, theaters , museum oh am hist.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tucsonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    531
    110
    27
    16
See reviews for
392
483
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calais, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We selected and would recommend The Blakely for its location on 55th street a short walk to Central Park, theatres, restaurants and sights of this end of the city, and were happy we did the hotel is well maintained, with a friendly staff who looked after our needs. The rooms are small but what you would expect in NYC, views are limited but what we expected with the sounds of a city that never sleeps. The rooms are extremely well maintained and were renovated several years ago to a high standard. We had the king room and would recommend it as it gave more room than the doubles. The continental breakfast was limited without a pastry (perhaps they knew that I did not need one).

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very comfortable room, nicely furnished, and helpful staff. The lobby is small but decorated in a early-20th century manner that made me relax as soon as I came through the door. Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, the Museum of Modern Art, and more restaurants than one can count are within a 20-minute walk. All of this was about 2/3 the price of the larger hotel 2 blocks away that housed my meeting.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor is quieter. A room on a lower floor can save time waiting for the (slow) e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHLRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was one of the best areas I have ever stayed in New York. 3 blocks from Central Park, 2 blocks from Time Square and close to great shopping. The hotel itself is a nice change from the hugh chain hotels. Although it was a good size it was small enough that the staff knows who you are..The rooms were spacious and clean. The ambiance was warm. If you are looking for a fancy luxurious hotel this is not it,but if you prefer a smaller intimate one you will love the Blakely.
My only note would be that it could use a bit of an up date and refreshening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoriCarMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great Location, you can walk wherever you need to go, Subway on the Corner.
The room was huge by NYC standards, has everything you need.
Staff was great and friendly.
On a side note, Restaurant Abboccato used! to be great, just middle class now with really bad service and regular food. not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have just returned home after a wonderful 12 night stay . With my first trip overseas I did months of research on trip advisor to find the hotel that suited me and booked here but as we all know when you arrive you always wonder whether your hotel choice was the correct one.
Well The Blakely was perfect and I would not have wanted to be staying anywhere else.
The staff are friendly and greet your every time you walk in or out and the room was perfect
with the bath,powerful shower,coffee machine and the microwave I used daily.The bed truly was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept in. I was occasionally woken by trucks but hey it is New York and I rolled over and went back to sleep, this happens whenever you stay in a big city. I did not go to breakfast down stairs but preferred to go to one of the many cafes minutes away and with the microwave in my room was able to often buy a delicious pasta from around the corner at Fluffys and bring back to my room and heat and enjoy when I wanted.
The lifts may have been slow , but I didn't mind at all as once I hit the streets it was rush and hurry so enjoyed the pace.
My months of research and I hit the jackpot when I booked to stay here, I could not have been more happier with my choice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I satyed here for three nights, and having stayed in NY several times would rate this hotel highly for its location, service and standard of accommodation. It is on a quiet street (we had a room facing the street) yes ther eis occcasional noise from garbage trucks, but in general it is quiet. The room was fine- comfy bed, well appointed, nice decor and bathroom, and above all a really great price for the location. 5 minute walk from Times Square, Central Park, really can't be faulted. Yes the breakfast is average- cereals, coffee, bread, juice, fruit etc. But if you book a breakfast included deal its fine, otherwise you're in NEW YORK. Step outside and get something to eat anywhere, 24 hrs a day- turn left out of the hotel and on the corner there's a deli which serves everything you could possibly want to eat. For a great evening meal we turned right and about 30 seconds walk away is a quite up market Italian place. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get an upgrade to Junior Suite, higher floors best to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steviejacko71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing