We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two kids, one adult - good location and space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Two kids, one adult - good location and space”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first stay at The Blakely. I chose this hotel because of the great location - near CP, restaurants and walking distance to TS and the subway.
Pros - location. We are at Remi and Quality Meats two evenings and loved that they were a short walk away. We spent time in CP and liked that we were so close - spent the day at the Columbus Day parade and were able to stop back at the hotel as needed.
Space. My daughter and I slept in two beds in the bedroom while my son slept on the daubed. He is 5'8" and was quite comfortable. There was ample closet space. The room was quite clean overall.
Cons. Bathroom. The lighting was awful - I really had no clue how my makeup looked. There was no storage space in the bathroom for toiletries. The tub was old and my daughter, who loves baths, wouldn't even consider it.
Noise. I requested a higher floor but found upon check-in the rooms with two double beds and sitting room are all lower floors. They did offer to move us the second day to a higher floor with one king but I decided against that....in retrospect, I wish we had moved - the kids slept great but I did not.
Breakfast - no fruit when we arrived, granted it was 10:00 and breakfast ends at 10:30...selections included bagels, bread and muffins. They also had some cold creal and yogurt. Not impressed, but it was "free"...
Overall - if we had a higher floor and I could sit in front of the window to do my makeup I would stay here again. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Oh - arranged for a car service from LGA to the hotel - was supposed to be $99 (?) all- inclusive...the driver charged me $122...not the hotels responsibility but left me with a bad taste. The car they had to take us back to the airport was $49 all-inclusive and was great - I have an extra $10 tip for good service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caymusjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    534
    111
    28
    16
See reviews for
399
488
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattahoochee Hills, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Near Carnegie Hall (and Deli!) The Blakely is where we always stay in NY. It isn't huge and that's why we like it. It feels more like family. It's elegant but not terribly overpriced, and close to Central Park. It's our Home in NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudsarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Blakely is a comfortable small hotel, ideally situated for visiting Manhattan. The quietest rooms are on high floors on the 55th Street side of the building. Some minor maintenance issues in our room were attended to rapidly and politely. The air conditioner was rather noisy but could be switched off.
One small problem was that the microwave oven in the kitchenette cut out after a short time. The hotel technician said that if it were operated for more than a few minutes it overheated in the small niche in which it was mounted. (There could be a safety issue here if the thermal cut-out failed to operate). The oven ran fine if taken out of the niche, and the cable was long enough to allow this.
Although the coffee was awful, we found the continental breakfast included in the rate quite adequate, and the tip solicitation was not really a problem. The restaurant staff were perfectly courteous, and we rarely had to wait to be seated. However, the hotel lifts are quite small, so they can be fully occupied at busy times.
The Blakely is conveniently situated right next door to Hertz, and only minutes from a subway station. We had a very pleasant stay there, and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2plus2gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here last October and just had the best time. This lovely Boutique hotel is so strategically located. It is very near MoMa, Times Square, great restaurants and take out places. The room was always clean and the staff were very helpful most especially Ariel from the concierge. I have recommended this place to our friends and will definitely stay here when we travel back to New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PH_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Recommended by a friend for our first visit to NYC. Great location, spacious jr suite, friendly staff. Only downside to the room was very poor lighting, especially in the bathroom...no idea how my makeup looked each day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdiegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was not our first visit to NYC, but our first at The Blakely. Spent 3 nights visiting the city prior to a cruise out of Manhattan. Chose the hotel after receiving a promo email from an online travel site with an excellent price. We loved this hotel! The location was perfect with a lot to see and do within walking distance plus a subway stop close by. The front desk staff was friendly and the concierge/bellman was super helpful.

Our room was on the 5th floor facing 55th Street. We heard a little street noise early in the morning, but nothing that really affected the quality of our stay. Loved the Keurig coffeemaker (since we knew about it ahead of time, we packed our favorite K-cups and really enjoyed this perk!) Also loved the amenities in the bathroom. The little sewing kit with pre-threaded needles was a nice touch. We didn't require much from the housekeeping staff and just asked that they do the bare minimum (replenish our towels, empty wastebaskets). They were so friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to make small talk. Just super nice.

After reading reviews here, we were a little apprehensive about eating breakfast at Abboccato's. But it was fine. We found the staff fairly friendly and, yes, they did leave little slips of paper at the table suggesting the $2.00 p/p tip. But in all fairness, the wait staff was hustling, refilling coffee and water. The food was really basic (cereal, bagels, toast, plain yogurt, fresh fruit), but other than the "suggested tip", it was free. We did stop in for cocktails one evening and can't really recommend that (drinks were pricey which would have been fine had the bartender not been so inattentive). We took the suggestion of another review and visited Fluffy's Cafe & Bakery right around the corner on 7th Avenue. AWESOME! Didn't go for breakfast, but stopped in once for yummy fresh made sandwiches and another time for dessert.

Anyway, loved The Blakely and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDiego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Of a very good standard and superbly located for exploring all the sights of New York. For what you compared to what you can pay in New York exceptionally cost effective small hotel. Good sized rooms with the usual amenities and relatively quiet, important in a big city. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#167 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,634 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#212 of 468 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing