We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convvenient mid town east.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #155 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convvenient mid town east.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Around the corner from the Carnegie Deli, David Letterman Show, Central Park the location can't be beat. Rooms are comfortable, beds excellent and fabulous shower. Price is right, (ok continental breakfast included), and service reasonable. Elevators for us were no problem and we were on the 10th floor. Note: there is major construction on 55th.right across the street and it begins VERY EARLY. Suggest a room not overlooking 55th.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michaelafreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    522
    109
    27
    16
See reviews for
387
468
43
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at the Blakely last weekend while in NYC for a combo business/pleasure weekend. The hotel is in a great location on 55th between 6th and 7th. Major kudos for that! The room was bigger than normal for a NYC hotel and I had no complaints. The housekeeping staff did not replace the shampoo after the first night, so my husband and I were rationing by the second morning to get the job done. Small, scratchy towels were a bummer. They have a nice restaurant for breakfast next door, which comes with the room, although I chose to go elsewhere. The lobby and elevator are quite small - a la European boutique style hotels. I'd stay there again for the location, but if you want luxury pampering, go elsewhere. THERE IS NO VALET service. You park your car at the Hertz garage next door and schlepp your bags to the hotel and then reverse the process when you leave. Be aware if you have a lot of baggage....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolceandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
972 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night after returning to NYC for a cruise. We normally stay at The Michelangelo but I wanted to give another hotel a try. I regret that this hotel is not as good, nor worth the price, of several others at which we have recently stayed. Although it wasn't "bad", I won't stay here again, simply because there are better, similarly priced and located hotels.

We found the lobby small, narrow and cramped, although nicely appointed. The concierge and front desk staff were more aloof than friendly, although they were professional and efficient. The elevators are old, very small, and slow.

The hotel itself is rather narrow, so the upstairs hallways are short, dark, and narrow. The room door-locks were very modern - you need only place your key near the flat sensor to open the lock - a nice touch. The furnishings in our one-room suite were older but serviceable. There were very modern fixtures in the bathroom and mini-bar area and the TV's were flat screens of good quality.

The complementary continental breakfast in the attached Abboccato Restorante was decent - good coffee, fresh fruits, bagels, muffins, and breads. The service was average and unenthusiastic.

It isn't a bad place to stay, just that I have stayed at better for the same price or less, that are more modern, friendly, and slightly larger.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place is so perfectly located for a visit, as it's so close to about 6 subway stops and minutes from Central Park and of course Times Square. The guys who work the front door are amazing, they know EVERYTHING you need to know while on vacation in NYC. You ask, they have the answer, and they are very friendly and always willing to lend their advice. The room was a good size for 4 adults and VERY clean. No complaints whatsoever. Happy travels!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not long back from a Wedding in New York, we stayed 5 nights in the Blakely Hotel, 136 West 55th Street. I know people have their own preferences when they travel to New York but this is worth the visit. Nice boutique style hotel, excellent staff, spacious room bigger than we thought for New York. We were there for the hurricane so things were a little strange, breakfast was included and was just enough to set you up for whaterver you had planned. We missed out 3 mornings because of the hurricane no staff in the restaurant but the hotel provided in the Lobby. Probably the best part of the hotel is the location, for those first time visitors you are close to all attractions, Time Square a little over 5 mins. Central Park 5 mins, 5th Ave just around the corner. Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briandublin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Well located in mid-town to see all the sights. Nearest hotspots are the Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Deli, Central Park and Lincoln Center - all less than 10 minutes' walk. The hotel is fine and free from bed-bugs, service good. Breakfast is satisfactory but unexciting. Air conditioning in the room was noisy. Worst feature is the lift/elevator. Only two to serve a 16-storey building and one was out of order for part of our stay: often had to wait quite a while.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors tend to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed with my 2 adult children in a suite at the Blakely during the week of the U.S. Open tennis tournment. Our room was terrific, clean and well appointed. There is a fridge and microwave in the room and I can't say enough good things about the staff who were friendly and helpful. The elevators were slow, but we stayed on the 3rd floor, so we used the stairs almost exclusively. There is construction on the street which will be going on for some time, so don't bank on sleeping in past 7 o' clock am. The hotel is not posh, but meets most vacationer's needs and is well located, closed to Central Park and subways. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanwexler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing