We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! Incredible hotel near central park. Enormous rooms. Beautiful and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stay here! Incredible hotel near central park. Enormous rooms. Beautiful and clean.”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at The Blakely. I could not believe how huge the rooms are. We had two beds in the bedroom (which alone is bigger than most NY hotel rooms). Then there was the sitting room with a daybed, and plenty of room for a rollaway as well. Also great for sitting around to talk or play game. Then there was a kitchenette, and a beautiful, huge, clean, stunning bathroom. 550 square feet of heaven.

The floors were wood, which I love in a hotel. The bed was very, very comfortable, the decor was so charming and classic. Really beautiful. The room was super clean as well.

For a hotel with this great location in the city that never sleeps, noise is always a concern, but request a room high up and also at the back of the building if you are worried about it.

Turn either right or left out of the hotel to get to many restaurants, bakeries, cafes (Carnegie Deli is literally a one-minute walk away). We never ate at the on-site restaurant--too many other options in NY to get stuck there. Their free breakfast was toast, bagels and english muffins, so we didn't even try it.

There have been some reviews commenting on the elevator situation, and it is true, sometimes they were slow. But only when you were trying to use them between 8-10
am. There are no service elevators, so the staff uses the guest elevators to get their housekeeping stuff up and down, and they use a key that bypasses all other floors. 95% of the time, it was not a problem. But staying here is absolutely worth the hassle of the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandjill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    534
    111
    28
    16
See reviews for
399
488
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

A reasonably small hotel by New York standards, which gave this something of a boutique feel. Very helpful staff with a good attitude throughout. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay.
All the comments about the lifts are true - they are slow but we were on holiday and after the first time we found this was something we could easily deal with.
We stayed in a king room on the 14th floor which was nicely proportioned, although if you like to use a bath it was a little snug. The kitchenette with a fridge, which included the usual minibar supplies, small freezer. microwave and cutlery and crockery made it a little like home from home. The complimentary continental breakfast was an unexpected and welcome extra, given the cost of everything in New York.
We are light sleepers, and tended to be woken in the early hours (circa 5am) when what sounded like bin emptying/street cleaning activities commenced. I guess this would have happened wherever you stayed, and at least we were able to enjoy a clean New York which we both commented on.
All in all a fabulous trip and we certainly would recommend The Blakeley to anybody, with its helpful attitude, its central position, and close proximity to the subway. Would like to have the opportunity to return again SOON!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have just come back from a 8 night stay at The Blakely. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed with my brother in a one bedroom suite - 2 double beds large room - very comfortable and clean. Only one problem was noise from the construction site over the road - 3 floor street facing. Most of the time was ok noise wise but a few nights they were dumping rubble down the shute in the middle of the night. Otherwise a great stay.
Reasonable breakfast included.

Would definately stay again but in a quieter room - they were very busy which is a good sign.

Being English perhaps they could put a kettle in the room to make tea ( they have a machine that does pods of tea and coffee but this is not so good for tea) - that said they produced one without any fuss when asked - so full points.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights. Great Staff, nothing was to much trouble if you needed anything.
We stayed in one of the suites it was beautiful and spotless clean. Great location.
Will deffinatley stay here again.

GENA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Had had several stays at the Blakely several times over the past few years, and have always been very satisfied with the accommodations, the staff, and the convenient location.Close to Carnegie Hall, 7th Ave, many restaurants, Central Park and subway stations. Once we had a one bedroom suite which was great. Plenty of room, actually more than needed. All very well appointed. All rooms have a mini kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker, sink, dishes and flatware. The regular rooms have plenty of space, including a big easy chair, a small sofa that makes into a single bed, and a desk workspace. Wifi included. Breakfast buffet also included in the rate. The hotel restaurant, Abbocotto, is very good and recommended. The staff, including Eric, one of the young men who helps with taxi's and luggage, are all helpful, friendly, and always available. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, CT
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just returned from a weekend getaway in Manhattan. The Blakely was a great value. Rooms were large and comfortable. The lobby is not impressive, but the rooms were well appointed. We had a one bedroom suite with a small kitchen area, immaculate and comfortable bathroom, everything nicely appointed. This is not a luxury property, but it is well kept, well above average and with free wi-fi and breakfast, large suite it is a great value for Manhattan. The location was fabulous with subway on the corner, ten blocks from Times Square and theaters, two blocks from Carnegie Hall, two blocks to the MOMA. Our room was was on the ninth floor and faced the Hilton on 54th Street - not at all noisy. Had no complaints about the restaurant wait staff or the continental breakfast. Limited choice, but enough for a continental breakfast and staff was pleasant. Hotel staff pleasant. Did not use concierge service so cannot comment. We will return again and recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

A beautiful small hotel on West 55th Street across from City Center Theater.
Wonderful reception lobby, the room was well furnished and a comfortable bed.
The only downside (not the hotel's fault) was a very noisy garbage truck apparently stationed at the Nearby NY Hilton Hotel. My room faced the rear of the building.
But if you put the fan on it muffles the noise.
The free continental breakfast was a treat and I would return to this gem (maybe with ear plugs) another time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#167 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#212 of 468 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing