We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“+ & -” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blakely New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“+ & -”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

First the ++. Drop dead perfect location. Our suite was fairly priced and large. Very good bathroom. Now the --. When we arrived [1pm on a wed], there was NO doorman or bellman. We were taking a cruise the following day, and we had luggage galore. Aside from our check in experience which was efficient and courteous, the front desk staff was cold, unreceptive and uninterested. This "no problem" response to each request is getting really stale. The staff needs a double dose of training and B-12. The check out was equally challenging. Bell staff at the property seem to be unavailable, or they retreat to neverland at every opportunity. And the elevator! It's possible to finish a sizeable percentage of the Merriam-Webster Dictionary during the ride. We will NOT return to this property. There are too many other hotels in NYC that want and appreciate your business.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank jefruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    519
    106
    26
    16
See reviews for
380
465
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

We had rooms 607/608 suite/double room combination facing the parking area. There is a garbage truck transfer station underneath. Terrible noise very early every morning. On Monday it started at 3am. No sleeping through it. The staff pretended that this was unusual but I doubt it. The rooms however were very nice with comfortable beds. Very clean bathrooms. Courteous but somewhat disinterested staff at check-in and check-out. We moved over to the Hemsley Park Lane, and it was wonderful. Finally got a good nights sleep! Don't try to save money. It's worth the cost to get a better hotel or else bring ear plugs!

  • Liked — rooms were clean. close to most attractions
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoySacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights over Labor Day with my wife and our 9 month old daughter. We booked a suite well in advance since we would be there with an infant, and got a really great rate (I think it was $259; heard the rates had gone way up as the date got closer). We also booked an adjoining room for my wife's mom (we were attending a family wedding). Had a problem at check-in as they did not have a record of the adjoining room, but that problem was solved quite quickly. Everything else about the Blakely was positive. The location is very good if you want to be near Tmes Square (the Stage Deli is just around the corner). There's a subway stop 1/2 a block away (although I'm embarassed and disappointed to say we were lazy and did not use the subway on this trip). Central Park is just a 3 block walk. The Suite was good sized, had a fridge (and a microwave, too, I think). New flat-screen TVs in both rooms. Street noise wasn't too bad (no more than normal for a big city). My mother-in-law's standard room was fine also. Everyone seemed pleased with the hotel, including the hard to please great-grandma. Not sure if there was Wi-fi as I had my Verizon card and relied on it (it was a bit slow at times).

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The fitness room was typical/adequate for a hotel, with what appeared to be fairly new cardio equipment. Not much in the way of weights aside from a few dumbbells and one of those generic universal machines. There also is a Gold's in walking distance if you need a real gym. Theater district also is in easy walking distance. We did not try the Italian restaurant although I heard a few relatives say it was expensive (nothing good or bad was said about the food).

Elevators are a bit small and sometimes slow, and there isn't much to the lobby. But all in all, for the price, location, and quality of the rooms (pretty big for NYC), the Blakely deserves a good review. Definitely family friendly. We would stay here again if we come back with our daughter (back to the Hudson if it's just me and my wife).

  • Liked — Size of the rooms and the location
  • Disliked — Not the coolest, trendiest hotel, but that was fine under the circumstances.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

We loved the Blakely. We chose it over the alternative group hotel based on the TA reviews. It is a small boutique type of hotel with a nice location. Check in was painless except that the staff member didn't realize our stay was already paid for through a group. The room was spacious, with a great marble bathroom. The counter space was a little small but the minibar/coffee area provided plenty of alternative space to use. The shower was the BEST shower I have ever used in a hotel! The towels were SOFT! The beds were very comfortable with upscale linens, and the a/c was great. We were on the third floor facing the street so we did have quite a bit of noise at night, but the hotel has no 2 bedded rooms above the 6th floor and none were available. We had problems setting the safe code and the staff came right away and changed the battery so it worked. Several restaurants were recommended by the concierge, and there is an Au Bon Pain right across the street for an easy breakfast or lunch and the prices were very reasonable, especially for NYC. A deli is just down the street, as is the subway. There is free internet access in the lobby although it was frequently in use. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — the shower and towels!
  • Disliked — the street noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank maggiemag57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Surprised not to read other reviews mentioning the noise at this hotel. All rooms at the rear face a depot which trucks vsit thoughout the night and the noise usually peaked between 2am and 4am.
Trucks were shuttled back and forth into the depot and it was impossible to sleep because the reversing alarms sounded exactly like
alarm clocks. Furthermore the trucks were then noisily unloaded to the sound of machinery, shouts and vehicle horns. The noise levels were loud, despite all windows being closed. The reception staff feigned no knowledge of this problem, but as usual a local worker confirmed the problem was well known and stated it was partly because "other hotels send all their rubbish there". Indeed early one morning there were several visits from rubbish trucks, belonging to a demolition company, into which numerous trollies full of what looked like building rubbiush were loaded and compressed, accompanied
by the usual high level of noise from the compression machinery. Did mention to the staff they should speak to whatever local government officer is responsible for noise prevention, but no interest shown. Hotel therefore not worth its premium rates.

  • Liked — Reasonably spacious and comfortable, but not value for money
  • Disliked — Noise. Noise . Noise.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank CheckoutKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

Just back from a three night stay at the Blakely and we loved this hotel! Preferring small, boutique hotels to big mega chain impersonal hotels, we decided on the Blakely based solely on the reviews here on TA. We were not disappointed with any aspect of our stay here...it was everything we hoped for and more.

We had a gorgeous, immaculate suite on the 13th floor and loved the decor, the spaciousness and the very "at home" feel it provided after long days of sightseeing in the city. Housekeeping was excellent, all staff members were very pleasant and accommodating to any requests we had. It was hot and humid while we were in NY, but unlike other reviews, the a/c did a perfectly fine job keeping the room cool and if you flip the fan on in the living room of the suite that room stayed cool as well. The bathroom was not small as some reviews have stated and the vanity area provided more than ample room for all our personal toiletries. The Penhaligon toiletries provided by the hotel were a nice touch as well. Other in room highlights included the minibar/fridge/sink area and all the glasses, dishes, cutlery a visitor would need. Closet space was good and the in room safe where you set your own security code was appreciated by us.

The Blakely is in a fabulous location for seeing so many of the wonderful sights of Manhattan. Cental Park is a short four block stroll away, Times Square is within walking distance, but we truly appreciated being far enough away from all the noise and congestion of that area of Midtown. Shopping, restaurants, a couple of really great bars are all within easy walking distance of the Blakely. The outdoor plaza just out the front door is a great spot to rest your feet and do some great people watching at the same time.

We had a wonderful time and will definitely choose this hotel again when we return. Thank you, Blakely Hotel.

  • Liked — size of our suite; locatiionof the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

Having done lots of research in NY hotels looking for something a little special, we (wife and I - mid 30s) finally managed to find this little gem. It's location is excellent for a trip designed specifically for a bit of everything (sightseeing, shopping, entertainment or even some quite time). It's staff are friendly when approached and the quality of rooms are excellent - There has been some real thought gone into the internal decor making the rooms feel really relaxing after a long day on your feet. The rooms are on the larger size and to be honest we would skip the suite next time and opt for a double room - we never once stayed in the hotel long enough to use the extra space. The bathroom was superbly finished and extremely clean. The concierge was very good for local knowledge and the front desk approachable also.
Nothings perfect! The first morning wee jumped into the restuarant for breakfast an were sadly dissapointed at the service and cost. Forget It - Head left out the hotel and pick either restraurant at the end of the block - Fully fuelled, you'll be ready for the day!
Overall - If we ever return to NY we would definetly stay here, rather than risk a lesser experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kirkie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,093 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing