We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC location, VERY reasonably priced and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #311 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC location, VERY reasonably priced and helpful staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This was the first time I ever stayed at the Edison and my husband and I had a great trip! I heard all the reviews about how close it was but I didn't realize it was literally steps from times square! I know we were probably there during the cheapest time of the year but regardless, $119.00 a night in that location is unbelievable! You can pretty much walk anywhere and if not there's subways on 50th, 44th & 42nd streets. The room size was very spacious for the two of us. We ended up staying in both an outdated room and a updated one and they were both clean. The lobby was very nice and decorated beautifully for christmas. Checking in and out was a breeze! In fact, we were checking out after our two night stay and thought we should tell them about a small ceiling leak in our room that may become a big problem if it wasn't fixed quickly. Well, the girl at the desk asked if it caused us any damage and we said no, she then went on to tell us that she was taking a night off for the inconvience. At first 8 thought she was kidding because we were really just telling them for their benefit. Later that day we decided to take advantage of the savings and stay another night. When checked in again, another girl was so kind to give us the AAA discount which we don't have, which made the room $109 that night. Anyhow, I highly recommend this hotel and already have to my friends. Also, just a few more suggestions....don't get sucked into spending a ridiculous amount of money to the chain restaurants in time square! If you just walk down to 8th ave and take a look around at menu's, you'll find good food at reasonable prices. Also, restaurant row is on 46th st and they always seem to have specials during the day. We got a giant delicious burger, fries and a bud light draft for $6.95. I can't even find that back at home. Great place and Im already planning to go back for a night in feb!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,320
    3,787
    2,062
    753
    506
See reviews for
2,684
3,084
403
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,745)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We go for cleanliness, safety, and lowest possible cost when it comes to hotel rooms. We got all that. Room cleanliness was good enough to deal with. Location is great..your literally round the corner fr time square. Hotel Cafe sucked & was expensive. The pipes made noise throughout our stay (3 nights) but fr the amazing days we had, fallin asleep wasn't to hard, and I have insomnia! Didnt deal to much w/ hotel employees but they werent exactly jolly people. My point is, if your really there for NYC then the hotel is great. We paid $500 some through Expedia, single bed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank here2share
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is an older hotel but we always stay there as the location is right in the heart of Manhattan. The rooms are always clean and service tops. Even though it might lack some of the "first class" ammenities like coffee in the room, a deli is just two doors down for a quick pick up of coffee, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The location is perfect for a short stay in New York. As soon as you step out of the door you are immersed in the hustle and bustle of Times Square..
Rooms are small but comfortable and allow a good nights rest. We asked to change our room for a quieter one after the first night ( near lifts) nothing too much trouble. Left a gift by the staff on my birthday, wonderful touch.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Small rooms, old fashioned, dirty, bleak, would not recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Edison Hotel at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
We are deeply disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay here. We make every effort to make the stay of all our guests most satisfactory and enjoyable. We are pleased to apprise you that the Management is currently in the process of renovating and upgrading many aspects of the hotel. We hope you will allow us to make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

just got back.excellent location,friendly staff and very clean.room was only basic but we had a street view and could see and hear all the hustle and bustle of time square.to be honest we were hardly in our room.went for a week and never stopped.bed was very comfortable ..a really good mid range price hoteland would definately go back.we went to the tenemant museum in lower eastside and niagra falls..both brilliant along with ground zero(do the accompaniedtour)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davida197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GULFPORT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I have stayed at the Edison on multiple occasions (more than 8) and have always had a good experience. Yes, the hotel is an older art-deco building, but the location and wonderful service of the staff more than makes up for the lack of extra amenities, such as room service. When I visit New York, I never even consider any other hotels. The Edison is one of the best values in the city, expecially if you want to be in Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
17,971 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 466 in New York City
9,473 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 466 in New York City
11,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#158 of 466 in New York City
6,995 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,201 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing