We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,237)
Filter reviews
13,237 results
Traveler rating
4,098
4,790
2,581
1,001
767
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,098
4,790
2,581
1,001
767
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature room rum house times square rum bar great location new york art deco renovated room room key an older hotel the theater district coffee machine big apple around the corner street noise rooms are small central park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 13,237 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looking on website and saw lovely bedrooms we booked two rooms for our stay. Arrived today and ours is a disappointment especially the view of a building site down below and they are a little tired looking.
Good location however but the pictures on website don't live up to your expectations.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Harrygsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Harrygsd,

Thank you for your review and thank you for providing us with your honesty about your stay. I am saddened to see that you are not enjoying yourself thus far. Please reach out to the Guest Relations Team or the Front Office Managers and we will do our absolute best to make better accommodations for you. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best,

Jaclyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is just ok, nothing special or remarkable about it. Maybe back in its heyday it was beautiful but now it's very dated. Some staff were extremely pleasant, some were functional. On booking with a travel agent we were told breakfast was included but on our arrival we were told it was only for 2 of us, not my child. Nothing was explained as to the reason and as we hadn't paid for it, felt unable to argue. The check-in wasnt exactly a warm friendly welcome, came across as more regimented and cold.

The room we had on the 15th floor was dated and tired looking. The heater was extremely loud which meant we couldn't use it through the night and gave us a very chilly room in the morning! The room was clean and well appointed. Bedding and towels nice and fresh. The beds were comfy and we slept well after a day of walking. We were situated over 47th street and it was noisy, didn't bother myself or child but my husband struggled a little.The cleaners and security staff were always friendly. I didn't mind showing my room key to access the lifts from the lobby, just made me feel safe.

Breakfast in Friedman's was ok for me but my husband and kid loved it. The Rum Bar was a little busy at night due to the theater across the road but the bar staff were pleasant and attentive.

Over all the hotel was a place to lay our heads after busy days sightseeing and shopping and for that the location was excellent. Would I book this hotel again.........definitely not as theres nothing special about it and I certainly dont appreciate paying for "amenities and facilities" that do not in any way shape or form exist.

As for the City That Never Sleeps.........you were amazing and we will be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank E1965QWmichelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear E1965QWmichelled,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We value the comments and observations of all our guests as an opportunity for improvement. We sincerely apologize that you did not encounter the 5-star experience that you expect and deserve . Please know that we suggest booking directly with the hotel so that our reservations team can clearly explain anything you may have questions about. We hope to show you in the near future that we are better than what you encountered.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the dated appearance of your room. We are in the process of renovating, so some rooms have been newly renovated and some haven’t yet. I highly recommend guests to reserve our newly renovated rooms under our Signature room category, which I’m sure you will greatly enjoy. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Jaclyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to NYC for a week and stayed at the Edison, nice hotel and perfectly situated in Times Square.
Rooms are ok, nothing flash but for us it was only a base for sleeping and washing ! The rooms need better lighting though as it was very dark all the time. The heater on the wall was extremely noisy too, but all in all not a bad hotel to visit !

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SiLydDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SiLydDon,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location and it seems that you used to it your full potential! We very much look forward to showing you the same, if not better, level of hospitality on your next visit.

Best,

Jaclyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the convenience of rolling right out of the theater at 11pm and across the street to the hotel (though they'd closed that entrance so we had to walk a couple of blocks around to the other side). However, the location, ironically, wound up coming back to haunt us a bit, as the noise from Times Square woke us up at 1:30 a.m. (sirens, drunken revelry, etc.) Our heating unit was also very loud, contributing to a lack of good sleep. Also disappointing here: 1) The "free wifi" connection did not work once during our 24-hour stay on any of our devices; 2) We arrived 1.5 hours early, waited in a short line for early check-in and were told our room wasn't ready but were pre-registered, only to be told upon our return, later, to get back in the end of the massive check-in line; and 3) We were charged a dollar a bag to keep our bags for us until our rooms were ready. Avoid this hotel unless you don't care about wifi, sleep extremely soundly, and are planning to arrive after check-in time!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank heimtime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear heimtime10,

While most people who choose our hotel do so to be in the middle of it all, we can understand that it might to too much for others. With over 800 rooms in the center of the theater district, our location is one of the prime attractions of The Hotel Edison and we are privileged to run at a consistently high occupancy level as a result, which does make for a busy property. We cannot control the outside noise as it is the city that never sleeps. We wish we were informed of your noisy unit as we would have had it looked at including the WiFi so they can see if you were connected properly. Standard check in time is at 3pm, we respectfully service guests on a first come first serve basis and apologize if you had to wait for your keys.

Regards,

Robbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decent value, very clean and the bed was comfortable, but bathroom was very small. Some of the staff were less than friendly. Location near Times Square and the theater district was excellent. Also easy access to subway so you can get around the City easily.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davesview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear davesview2,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location and it seems that you used to it your full potential! We sincerely apologize if you felt that you were not treated with the highest respect. I will pass along your comments to my team here to to make necessary improvements. We very much look forward to showing you the same, if not better, level of hospitality on your next visit.

Best,

Jaclyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews