We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,074)
Filter reviews
11,074 results
Traveler rating
3,031
4,293
2,320
844
586
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,031
4,293
2,320
844
586
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomrum housetimes squarerum bargreat locationnew yorkart decorenovated roomroom keyan older hotelthe theater districtcoffee machinebig applestreet noisesmall roomcentral parkfloor
Filter
Updating list...
6,906 - 6,911 of 11,074 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Firstly, what an excellent location for a 1st trip to New York. It is right in the heart of all the action. The rooms are very basic which was fine as i wasn't planning on spending my time in NY in the room. One grumble i do have is that there are no tea making facilities which is essential when you have been out sight seeing all. Thank god for Starbucks which is on the corner. Staff were all very friendly and willing to help out in any way. The hotel did feel very oldie worldy but you only had to step out the door to be reminded of where you were. I would definately stay at the Hotel Edison again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_murphy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

i stayed at the edison for 3 days for a business trip in September 2009. I came back with scabies & bed bugs. i have been going through hell! PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! you will regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Arrived lunchtime on Saturday 24th October. Went through the revolving doors and stepped back in time. Was travelling with three friends for a girlie trip to New York. Three of us for the first time. We checked in with no fuss and were given room 1112 on the eleventh floor. Room was basic , clean and surprisingly large for what we were paying. The Art Deco lobby is amazing and never seems to empty. Lovely piano restaurant at back which we discovered one night coming in the back door (didn't get to sample but always seemed pretty full). The conceirge Andrew was lovely and very helpful as were the doormen and security staff (one in particular knew us on sight by our second day probably thought here's the mad Irish girls coming again). We used Danny's Deli every morning for breakfast fab bagels and dishes of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed OJ and great coffee. also on the evening we left we had a chinese buffet from here also delicious. Central park was amazing on sunday morning and South st pier great sunny day great places to eat. Woodbury Common shopping outlet was a disappointment however. Our weather turned bad last two days with heavy rain so didn't get to do the Rockerfeller Centre or Empire State as planned. But thats will keep for the next trip. Can highly recommend the Jersey Boys show, was amazing best show I've seen in a while. We found the people in New York so friendly and very helpful. Especially the Policeman who stopped the traffic for us. Had a cocktail on the 8th floor Marriott Marquis Hotel Times Square and watched the lights an amazing sight. All in all a great trip to New York I definitely hope to go back. And can recommend the Edison Hotel for what it is a basic hotel which is clean with friendly staff. Its like anywhere if you are friendly people be friendly back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gambit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for a show in NYC for one night there - the night they shut off the water from 11-6am. Just a simple apology, and no bottled water available for guests in the lobby. If you are going to shut off bathroom facilities, you should provide your guests with vouchers for another hotel or some other amenity. The rooms were poor, the bedding old and tired, and the walls were way too thin (we could hear everything our neighbors did). The location is good, but that's about all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was the second time I have stayed at the Edison, the first visit being back in 2001. Aside from the excellent location (which obviously hasn't changed) this hotel is in need of an update. The room I stayed in this time with my daughter was very small and had the two smallest twin beds I have ever seen. The matresses were old and the bedding looked like it had been washed every day since 2001. The room was dusty but OK for the limited time we spent in it. The air conditioning was rather noisy and the bathroom was very small. There wasn't a safe in the room, although we could leave our money and other valuables in the hotel safe in the lobby. There was no view whatsoever from the small window and the carpet was threadbare in places.

On a plus side, the hotel is in a fabulous location just off Times Square and was convenient for Broadway and lots of restaurants and shops. If you just want somewhere that's OK to sleep in without any frills, the Edison will be fine, but if you are after a treat and abit more luxury, I suggest you go elsewhere. The Intercontinental Barclay in Murray Hill was fabulous when I stayed there in 2007.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews