We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't be put off”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a Hotel where you should ignore some of the previous reviews. I can honestly say we book through a agent and they told us about this place and we went with there experience. On reviewing after booking i was kind of dubious about the ratings. But fear not! Yes the reviews are nearly correct. But i found the hotel/staff/security/cleanliness/and overall location to be the best you can get for the money you will spend. PLEASE all keep in mind that this is a ageing and currently being modernised, ( all behind the scenes, it will not effect your visit) Hotel. That does mean that some rooms are dated like the one i stayed in. Did i care? NO. It was cleaned daily to a great standard. fresh towels ect. The door staff made you feel welcome every time you arrived and returned. The desk staff were helpful as were the transport desk . The lad on the luggage storage was very miserable mind you,but hey he looks after your cases all day so i would be. ha ha. But over all please don't over look this hotel because you will be hard pushed to find a hotel this close to Time Square for this money and such a high standard. The signature rooms and suites are amazing so other guests have said, and i met guests who have been return visitors for numerous years. Would i return, Yes. what would i change? Hopefully nothing as the rooms will have upgraded or be nearly finished. And i hope they keep that foyer and front desk it has the most art deco and 50's feel of any hotel i have ever visited in the world.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room if possible but fear not if you do not i have seen some refurbished r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you for informing our TripAdvisor readers that the hotel is currently "being modernized behind the scenes, it will not effect your visit", we don't want them to think it's going to affect their stay in any way!
Our Art Deco lobby is something that we are very proud of, it's so nice to hear that you appreciate it as much as we do! Although we are going to renovate it very soon, we are most certainly keeping the original design, just like Gatsby would have wanted!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,296
    3,752
    2,040
    747
    496
See reviews for
2,652
3,049
399
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a very clean and reasonably priced hotel. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, for the most part. That being said, I do have a few criticisms. I reserved a Signature King room, after seeing a Signature Queen room, I do not believe for a moment that I was given a Signature King at all. The room, 1922, did have a king bed and it was a renovated room; however, the room was so small that you could barely walk around the bed. There was a night stand and a table in the room (both beside the king bed). That was all that would fit in the room with just a small path around the bed. The table blocked access to the small safe in the room. The closet was tiny – the suitcase would not fit in it. The bathroom was so small that you could barely bend over in it. They certainly need to install a towel rack or hook or something. There is NO place to put anything or to hang a towel.

We had, however, adjusted to the size of the room, especially since we were only sleeping there. The room was very clean and quiet. On our third night there the air conditioner quit working at midnight. We called down and someone came right up to tell us that it was frozen and needed to be unplugged for 24 hours. They really expected us to stay in that tiny room with no air for 24 hours. We insisted on being moved. They told us that they only had one room available: 1901. We moved into 1901, a Signature Queen room, which was 3 times the size of 1922 (a Signature King). We would have been perfectly happy there, EXCEPT, the air conditioner in that room was so noisy. It sounded like you were sitting in the middle of LaGuardia airport with the jet engines roaring and someone running a jackhammer at the same time. After trying for 3 hours to get some sleep; I went downstairs again to the desk and begged to be moved. A very nice older gentleman behind the desk gave me one of the rooms that was being “held” for someone else because I was there and they weren’t (at 3:30 AM). We were moved to room 2022, another Signature Queen room. Loved the room! Again, it was 3 times the size of room 1922, a Signature King.

All the bathrooms could use a towel rack or a hook or two. There was absolutely no place to put / hang anything. But, you learn to adjust.

The location of the hotel is GREAT! Could not be any better, especially for the price. I would stay at the Edison again, but will request a Signature Queen room not a Signature King. Don’t know who decided which rooms got the king beds; but they need to rethink their decision.

Room Tip: Signature Queen seems to be the rooms to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Director of Sales at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your review here and for selecting one of our new Signature Collection rooms. We do offer both King bed and Queen bed rooms and the King bed does indeed take up a larger portion of the room, as you mentioned.
For our readers, the Classic Collection offers two types of room. Classic Standard - original decor; and Classic Deluxe - renovated decor. In addition, our Signature Collection, floors 19-22 - renovated decor plus premium amenities such as WiFi and Keurig coffee makers.

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was over there in 2011( could not select that on the travel date sorry but wanted to give me opinion anyhow) but have kept in touch with the hotel since then, It was starting its renovations and at the same time there was a brown out in NYC due to the hot weather. The staff were helpful and assisted when the AC unit blew and the hot water went out. Taking these circumstances into consideration the staff worked well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a good reasonably priced hotel so close to broadway its amazing.

Room Tip: talk to the staff at reception. they are helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleybearhsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Director of Sales at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
It is very nice to hear from you so long after your stay in 2011. Thank you for keeping in contact with us.

I recall that city wide black-out back then, it certainly was a challenge for guests and staff alike. Thank you for your kind words about our staff handled it and I will pass on to them. Many are still here!

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year (mostly with groups of adults and teens) for the past 40 years. I LOVE the location and the convenience to major attractions and transportation. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. It is a "tourist class' hotel, so do not expect coffee makers, fridge, etc. It is clean and a great place to lay your head after a busy day in the city.
The Edison Cafe (located just off the lobby) has great food and isn't very expensive. The lobby is a spectacular Art Deco room with enough space to gather a group of 20-30 people before leaving on a day of sight seeing or an evening of theatre.
Broadway theatres are within a few blocks in several directions. If you don't want to or can't walk the 3-6 blocks, there are always taxi's available just outside the 47th Street door.
I will be staying again this month and look forward to my visit!

Room Tip: There is no pool...Sorry! The best rooms are above the 6th floor. The higher you are, the quieter i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for so many years, we’ll make sure that you keep coming back!

I agree with you, the lobby has a wonderful Art Deco design and can host a large group of people, I believe that our guests who had the opportunity to attend the Wine Hour would agree on that!

We look forward to your upcoming visit!

Kind regards,

IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have been staying at the Edison on annual trips since 1998. I have stayed in other NYC hotels when there for business, but for pleasure trips, this is our preferred stop. The rooms have certainly improved over the years with various stages of renovation and upgrades. We have seen the Signature rooms but have not stayed in them - they are really lovely. However, for our latest trip (May 2014), we had a deluxe king room - very clean, very comfortable - the room had a couch, closet space, a Keurig - all very nice.

The location to Times Square and the theatres cannot be beat! The coffee shop provides a convenient spot for breakfast or lunch - the service is very "New York", but the food is decent and reasonably priced. There are even some nice surprises - outstanding blintzes, potato salad delicately seasoned with herbs, etc. The gift shop is open long hours, so is also great for a late night snack or a forgotten souvenir gift on your way back home.

I certainly recommend this hotel and will continue to stay here!

Room Tip: If you want to spend the money, the Signature rooms are very nice. Otherwise, the rooms are typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
It is always a great pleasure to read a review from our long term guest!
Our spacious rooms and unbeatable location have always been our strengths, thank you for pointing that out.

We look forward to seeing you soon again!

IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Right in the heart of Times Square. Out one door was a theatre where Daniel Craig was playing and out the other door, Orlando Bloom was playing. The location was amazing and certainly value for money.
We had an issue when we arrived in that we were given the wrong room, but the manager was on duty and upgraded us without argument. The service was absolutely brilliant.
It is certainly a busy hotel but the ambience down in the foyer is excellent. Love the old art deco fittings.
Hit the Rum House for drinks and felt like I was walking into an old gangster movie. My only criticism is that I felt the rooms were a little dated and in need of a touch up but that is being picky I guess. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try and go for the more newly renovated rooms - I think they might be the signature series. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PZ604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you’ve loved our location, service and the Art Deco style. We are so proud to be a surviving example of an Art Deco era!
As previously mentioned, we are updating all of our guestrooms, so we’re soon to be completely refurbished.

All the best,

IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The room was comfortable, needed to have the renovation completed (just little things), had a great view of the sunset, and could see actors coming from the 'Barrymore' across the street (street noise), and not to forget that it was 1/2 block from Times Square. Breakfast on site good.
People were somewhat helpful, but the subway system is the worst I've ever traveled. Would somebody PLEASE finish a job in the city, construction everywhere and subways not running on the weekend--really. Cab driver from LGA to hotel ran into the tunnel, cabby going back got a tip.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the 'heart' of things. I'm sure my granddaughter loved the trip.

Room Tip: ask for a lower level that I was told had renovated rooms, I was on the 8th of 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamonds08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdison, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
How wonderful it is to celebrate a birthday in the heart of the city, staying at the Edison! Being in the proximity of all the Broadway theatres, you can often run into many actors from the shows, how great is that!

Hope to be hosting you for many, many birthdays that are yet to come!

Warm regards,

IS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,523 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,407 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,124 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing