We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,087)
Filter reviews
11,087 results
Traveler rating
3,040
4,294
2,323
844
586
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,040
4,294
2,323
844
586
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomrum housetimes squarerum bargreat locationnew yorkart decorenovated roomroom keyan older hotelthe theater districtcoffee machinebig applestreet noisesmall roomcentral parkfloor
Filter
Updating list...
4,620 - 4,625 of 11,087 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A no frills hotel, offering a great location right on the doorstep of Times Square.

Perfect for dropping the bags off and exploring NYC, not as suitable if you plan to spend your holiday in yor room but if your in NYC then why would you.

Room Tip: I would choose the signature room over a classic.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chalky_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four days for a couples city break. Hardly used room which was small but very functional. Don't expect the ritz here. The Hotel is in a superb location, staff are polite and efficient doing their best in a busy environment. Rum house cocktail bar atmospheric but you pay for it. Overall great Hotel for budget travellers. NYC is such a great city and all you need is a safe haven in a central location. This is it!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dougiemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Dougiemg

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location, and staff to your satisfaction. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back on your next travels to NYC!

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is my 6th time staying at the Edison Hotel in Times Square. This time we stayed in a room with two twin beds. This room was extremely outdated, but for the most part it seemed clean. We couldn't control the air from our room, and of course we went on the only two hot days so far this year. I don't think they've updated anything in this hotel from the first time I visited more than ten years ago. However…. You truly can't beat the price and location. That's what always keeps us coming back. You are steps from times square, a subway station, and everything else NYC has to offer. The deli right next to the hotel is great for breakfast and late night snacks. I'm not sure if other hotels do this but you can check your bags with them for 50 cents per bag. We arrived around 8 a.m and instead of having to sit around and wait to be checked in, we went right to the shopping and left our bags there. This is also helpful when leaving on a late night plane. We also were checked in at 12 p.m, which was great. I'd like to see this hotel do some upgrading…but overall we had another god experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear DanaM121

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here. Thank you for being such a loyal guest to the Edison for so many years. We have renovated many of our rooms and introduced our Signature Rooms recently. We welcome you to view the photos on our website. Also please inquire with the Front Desk or Guest Relations on your next visit about staying in one of these rooms, as we are sure you will enjoy it. The Deli next door is great! That's the place to go for a snack or meal late at night. We will defiantly share all your comments with the staff, they will be happy to know of your loyalty to the Edison. Looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms and it was great. Everything was new and top notch. All of the staff from the doorman to the cleaners and everyone in between were courteous, helpful and professional. Great exercise room and business center and an attractive lobby. We will definitely be going back there the next time we stay in the city.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a refurbished room until they have redone all of them.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Patrica F

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the renovated room to the Fitness Center. Thank you for recognizing our staff as they work hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Edison.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough place-- rooms are clean, modern, efficient. Stay clear of Hotel Edison Cafe! Service is Horrendous!!! Waitress did everything but throw the food at you. Took off in the middle of our order-- comes back with part of the order--- have to hunt her down for check, only for her to her own tip to our check (why we were only a party of 4?) which you can't read--- so who knows? Ask to see a Manager and they are even worse---for the most part our experience. with NY restaurants have been awesome not this dive!! They suck!! Save yourself the frustration and rude behavior!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suefromnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear sefromnc

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience at The Hotel Edison. We sincerely apologize for the poor service you received at The Edison Cafe, but we respectfully point out that the Cafe is not owned by the Edison and is under separate management. We will certainly share your feedback with the owners in hopes that no other guests experiences the same service as you have. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews