We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Edison Times Square
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$236
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (10,539)
Filter reviews
10,539 results
Traveler rating
2,749
4,162
2,252
819
557
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,749
4,162
2,252
819
557
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomrum housetimes squarerum bargreat locationnew yorkart decorenovated roomroom keyan older hotelthe theater districtcoffee machinebig applesmall roomstreet noisecentral parkfloor
Filter
Updating list...
4,499 - 4,504 of 10,539 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I am late writing this review but I doubt anything has changed. My family stayed here for a week at Christmas. The staff, rooms, cafe were ok. The worst thing (we were told this was where the problem came from) was the steam heat pipe in the (extra tiny)bathroom. This thing clanged and banged 24/7. We could not sleep. We called maintenance, who said it is just this room. We changed rooms after the first night to a smaller, more expensive room ( no choice) and the problem was exactly the same. The manager said all of the hotel rooms in New York have this problem! This trip was my 25th trip to NYC. First and last time at the Edison. I have NEVER had this problem anywhere else. We had to buy ear plugs to try and sleep but the noise was too loud. This place needs to insulate the pipes or the manager(?) should stay at the Doubletree, W, or the Sheraton, or Hilton. No noise unless you open a window. Probably the worse family vacation we ever had, and the first time I was able to bring my husband and 2 adult daughters to nyc all together. Nobody slept for a week. Because it was Christmas, we could not find another room anywhere else. As far as the management, there was no compensation or acknowledgement that we were even uncomfortable. We were not even able to enjoy the room while awake because the noise was nerve wracking. I wrote to the hotel after and they said they would give us a discount next trip. That is pathetic.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mambus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear mambus,
We apologize for the noise level of the heating in your room. Our Engineering department is working diligently on rectifying it including the installation of a new heating system. Every effort is being made to prevent the units from causing undue noise for future guests. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

2nd visit to hotel and completely different then the 1st.

Arrived at hotel for short break away last week. Reception is chaotic upon arrival. Room allocated was from the 1960's. Décor was vile. First room given was still be cleaned my maid. Ended up back down at reception and told to wait until 3pm it were 2.55pm. Got given another key to different room in the hope that it would be much better then the first room. I was wrong!! Definitely not a hotel room if you want to relax in. View from room was right out at other rooms...dark and dingy!!

Location is the only best thing about this hotel. Its right next to Times Square and a 10min walk from 5th Ave. Also if your taking a trip to Jersey Gardens shopping mall its 10-15min to the Port Authority were you can get the bus.

Avoid the Rum house. This is the bar within the hotel and its a complete rip off for price of drinks. Plenty of other bars around with nicer décor.

No in room safe so you have to use the ones provided behind reception. Can be a bit of a pain as there is nearly always a queue and even with no queue you seem to be a while trying to catch the eye of the reception staff to open the door to give you access.

Wi-Fi available in the hotel which was cheap enough compared to other hotels in the surrounding area I have stayed in. Always had good connection and worth paying if you don't want huge roaming costs.

After this recent stay don't think will be making a 3rd visit.

If your wanting a break away and not looking for luxurious surroundings then would go with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear FergalJ,
We are most disappointed to read that your second stay was not as good as the first. We apologize for the issues you encountered. Let us reassure you that we are constantly updating the facility to provide excellent accommodations including our brand new, fully renovated Signature Rooms which are accommodated with in-room safes, complimentary wi-fi and other amenities. Your comments regarding the Rum House will be brought to the attention of their management ao they can further improve. We do hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great room price and great location for Times Square and theaters. The property is older but well kept and very clean with a pleasant staff and fast elevators. Our two twin bed room was spacious and comfortable with the bath down a small hall that also created some privacy. I'll definitely return for some of the best winter rates in NYC with private bath and easy valet parking!

Room Tip: Try for rooms on higher floors since the noise levels can be a difficult for suburban and rural guests. It is Times Square so expect noise 24 hours a day.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSP3OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear LSP3OC,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to your New York home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Edison Hotel. The location of this hotel is excellent. It was so close to everything we needed. The hotel was very clean. We didn't actually eat in the hotel, instead we chose to eat out for variety. There were a few issues with our room - shower not hot one morning, no tea/coffee maker in the room & the heater was not working when we arrived but was promptly fixed. I thought the majority of the staff were pleasant, but there were a few staff members who were quite short with us/came across as rude. Despite this it would be hard to beat location & the value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrMaryFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear SrMaryFrances,
Thank you for your feedback. The issues you have raised are currently being worked on by our Engineering department. We regret that you deem some of our staff to be unfriendly and not as welcoming as expected. At least the price was right for you so thank you and we hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This lovely hotel is in a perfect location for any place you need to go in NYC. We walked across the street to our play at the Barrymore Theater and around the corner for our musical.
The lovely rooms have been redecorated since our last visit. We love seeing the same employees each trip from the front desk to Bobby, the doorman. Our room was very clean with nice linens and towels.
We were impressed with the Friday afternoon wine and cheese hour where we mingled with very interesting hotel guests. It was a great way to meet some new friends.
We will definitely return to the Edison Hotel on our next trip from Texas to NYC!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanne30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear roxanne30196,
Thank you for your praise of our hotel and staff– which we will be sure to share with them. We were very happy that you enjoyed your newly renovated accommodations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews