We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #308 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked our room through Expedia, looking for a hotel in the Times Square area. We were certainly pleased with the hotel and the service we received. At check-in we were given a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. When we returned to the check-in desk to notify them, we were promptly given another room.
The location is great - just steps away from Times Square which was important to us.
A few improvements that could be made: 1) Free wi-fi. It's available in Times Square, why not in the hotel. 2) Let folks know about the wonderful happy hour you host when they check-in. We found out about it only because we happened to return to the hotel and saw the musicians setting up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear S Z,
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. The Front Desk is happy to assist with switching a room whenever possible, and we are glad that we were able to do this for you. Our wine hour is held every Friday afternoon and has become quite a hit with our guests. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,324
    3,795
    2,069
    754
    507
See reviews for
2,693
3,089
404
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights -- the first 3 nights were in an older room that was outdated and ragged. The last 2 nights we stayed in a remodeled room, and while everything was much nicer, the pillows and bed were still very uncomfortable.

The people at the front desk were very rude and unhelpful. On the hotel's website they agree to match lower fares found on 3rd party sites. They agreed to match the rates we found on Hotwire, but then later they charged us the higher rate. They met us in the middle, but it was still a bait and switch.

What made me madder than anything else is that the cleaning person, or some other hotel employee, stole my $300 pair of Bose headphones, and the hotel employees were very apathetic about it all.

Crappy rooms, uncomfortable beds, crappy service, and crooks making off with Bose headphones. Stay anywhere else in NYC and you'll be better off.

Room Tip: There is no good room at this hotel. If you stay there you're screwed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear davidleviking,
We appreciate your feedback and are very disappointed to read your comments. Our staff consistently strives to make their mark on our guests with their personal service and we regret this was not the case for you. The Hotel Edison does offer a best price guarantee, and we fail to understand why you had some issues with this. As far as your headphones are concerned, if you have not yet filed a report with our security department, please contact the hotel and check with them. If it has not been found they will advise you on how to proceed. We hope to welcome you back to a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What character this hotel has! I don't think it has been updated since 1933 other than the tv and bathroom, and this made our stay very memorable. No mini-bar, no breakfast other than at the Cafe Edison off the lobby; real art deco, clean rooms and great service. A block off Times Square adds to its attraction. Just don't expect glitz, and a huge, shiny lobby. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Zvi C,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you loved our location and property.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Edison, having booked through Expedia/HotelReservations.com was one of the worst hotel experiences we have had. We had booked and paid for a Classic Suite and has also confirmed with the hotel upon booking. After a long journey and upon checking in, we were told that we had been booked into a Classic Queen room! It was tiny and my sixteen year old son at 6 feet plus had to sleep in a cot at the end of my bed! There was no room for my luggage, so it had to be put on the bed next to me. This was supposed to be a special trip as my son had just turned 16. It was not. The hotel was booked so they said that they could not upgrade us and it was the fault of Expedia anyways. They passed the buck so to speak between them despite my best efforts to have someone take responsibility. Finally, after two horrible nights in that tiny room which was also drab, we were upgraded ( I use the term loosely) to two twin beds. It was better but we had to deal with the people next to us partying for the duration. I eventually got a small amount of money back from Expedia, not the full amount they should have credited and that was after a huge
effort on my part. Guest Services (I use that term loosely also) were apologetic also and said they
would ensure our next visit was excellent but nothing beyond that. The hotel should have offered to comp. for a Classic Suite if they really meant that. I am disgusted. This is a hotel that just cares about getting your money. Customer service is poor generally though there was one person working at the check in desk who generally seemed to care. That was it. My recommendation is
to find another hotel. You may pay a bit more but you will not have to deal with this shocking lack of care. Also, Expedia was poor and I indicated to the hotel that they should not use the services of a company that blatantly rips off customers! Wow,

Room Tip: Renovated rooms only as I heard they were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jane22013,
We are deeply disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay here. We make every effort to make the stay of all our guests most satisfactory and enjoyable. Your were assigned exactly the room type you reserved, a Classic Queen (which was on your confirmation from Expedia when you reserved and which should have been questioned at that time). We made every effort to satisfy you and even reached out to Expedia on your behalf. It is unfortunate that you have used a platform such as this to get back when unjustified and unreasonable demands are not met. You and hotel fully know the extent of this matter but we as per our integrity, and showing respect to all our guests choose not to use such public sites to argue our case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The only thing that this hotel has going for it is the location which is right next to times square. The room is on the smallish side but functional, no views, no room service. The staff is polite but not really friendly. I would only stay here is I get a very good deal, otherwise there are better options. And no free WiFi, that is almost a standard at most hotels these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VnKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear VnKl,
We’re sorry you were disappointed with the size of your room. We do have varying size rooms in our hotel, which was built in 1931 when room size expectations were more modest. For future stays, please request our Front Desk to switch your room, if the one you are assigned is not to your liking. They will gladly assist based on availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is right in Times Square and literally 2/3 the price of everyone else. I read the other reviews and this hotel exceed my expectations based off of those. The location was great, right in the middle of two subways stops, very quiet, and thick shades allowed us to sleep in.. actually later than we wanted. There wasn't a lot of blankets on the bed but they kept the rooms very warm. The room was small but that is New York. No free Wifi so that was disappointing. If I was going to stay in Times Square again I would totally stay here. The Edison Hotel is right next to the W Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668brandym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Brandy M,
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that you will return to the Hotel Edison when returning to New York. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. Please keep in touch via social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was the most expensive place we stayed on our trip to America (actually the most I have paid for a room ever), but the one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in. However, we were staying right in Times Square in New York, so what should I expect. It was still the best price I could find. We had a classic twin room and classic is probably a nice way to describe it. It was very outdated and tiny. We had two single beds (was travelling with a friend so that was ok), but the sheets didn't even fit the bed, they stopped short of going right to the bottom of the bed. My pillow had blood on it, but they quickly came and swapped it after we called the front desk about it, although the housekeeper was very rude.
All in all it served its purpose, it was somewhere to sleep and have a shower. If thats all you need, then I would recommend these classic rooms. However, I am sure they have nicer rooms if you are prepared to pay more.

Room Tip: Don't go for a classic room if you want a nice modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Julie G,,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. You did make us aware of some issues which will be brought to the attention of the appropriate managers and will be immediately corrected. We hope to welcome you back to a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,098 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,485 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,226 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing