We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #312 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights, could not have asked for a better location, that is if you like the hustle and bustle that is nyc, if not then this isn't for you. Very friendly staff, security 24/7 at lobby, a very busy hotel in the busiest city in the world. Rooms are good, ask for a renovated deluxe as these are newly redone, other rooms look very outdated and small. Not to noisy or bright considering where you are, would recommend 100% for others to stay here

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear BrendenAussie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent experience at The Hotel Edison. We are always delighted to see new faces and hear about new experiences. The Edison has always been a home away from home to guests from various countries and backgrounds. We would love to see both of you again, at your New York home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,671)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edison Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,928 - 3,934 of 9,671 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family just got back from a 5 night stay the the Edison. The location was awesome. It is not even a 1/2 block from all of the action at Times Square. There is a subway station about a 1/2 block away but, we walked 3 blocks to catch the subway most of the time, to avoid having to figure out transfers.

We stayed in a 2 doubles room. The beds seemed a little firm for my taste. It was one of the rooms that had not been renovated and looked tired but, was clean and actually larger than expected. We were on the street side (8th floor), and while there was a little noise it wasn't like I thought it might be. There was the occasional horn or siren. It wasn't constant noise.

The staff were very nice and helpful to us when we had a request or a question.

The thing we most missed was coffee in the room (or for that matter in the lobby). Most hotels have coffee makers in the room these days or at least offer coffee in the lobby. They have the cafe but, a very small cup of coffee was $2. You can go to Starbucks across the street and get twice as much for 50 cents more.

Another reviewer mentioned no free internet, which is correct. Most hotels offer internet as part of the price you pay for the room.

Overall this was an good place to stay. Could they have offered more amenities? Sure. My advice is to weigh what is important to you or your family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Beachn,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here. We are very grateful for the chance to get feedback from our guests. We are glad that your stay was satisfactory and that you enjoyed our location. For future stays, please consider one of our Signature rooms which offer complimentary Wi-fi as well as coffee makers among other amenities. Please keep in touch via social media.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you need that little extra care, as many of us do once in our lives than stay at the Hotel Edison in Times Square, NY. The ADA room is large and the walk in shower was excellent. My husband and I both agreed that we would stay here again just for the shower, LOL. It is centrally located and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear wm329,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are glad that our ADA room met with your requirements and expectations. We want to pass along our gratitude to those who contribute and as a result pass on their wisdom, experience and knowledge. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Edison and it wont be the last. We love the position so central to everything .Just one block to subway and 1/2 block to Times Square.Love the fact security are always in the lobby checking room cards.The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable.We where on the 18th floor right near the elevators but the room was very quiet no noise from the street or elevators. The Edison Cafe was great for a quick breakfast very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balloons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Balloons2,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Hotel Edison again. We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you had another great stay with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is busy with a popular lounge downstairs. Check in was fast and friendly and the room was fine. On the small side, but that is normal for NYC.

The problem I had was the windows didn't block enough outside noise and there was some construction in the hotel to. I live in Asia and had come to NYC for business, so had some jet lag, and I found the noise too much. It was preventing sleep and I had to check out early and move to another hotel. Perhaps the construction can't be helped, but I think the hotel needs to improve its soundproofing before I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear DarrenRupert,
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately regarding the issues in relation to the noise, .our Management greatly cares and is aware of the ongoing construction. We have contacted the City of New York to complain on multiple occasions however, we are not able to stop the construction as The City of New York has issued them a permit that authorizes them to operate during those hours. As for the renovations within the hotel, it occurs between 10am and 5 pm only. We look forward to welcoming you back to a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the first time I had actually stayed in the hotel having been a frequent visitor to the busy cafe attached to it in previous years. The hotel corridors and rooms are looking a little tired but were very comfortable and the twin room we had was very spacious by New York standards. Unfortunately there was building work going on opposite our room overnight so there was more noise than usual. But top tip when traveling anywhere is to pack an eyemask and ear plugs! The evening we arrived which was a Friday, the hotel served complimentary wine in the main reception lounge which was very welcome. As befoRe mentioned the diner in the hotel is very basic New York and I love the good home made fare that they serve. The place does look a bit tatty around the edges but they serve very wholesome , affordable food.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms to the back of the hotel might be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Claire Y,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We are always grateful to hear feedback from our guests, and appreciate your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to see various aspects of the property from the guest's viewpoint. I will certainly pass your comments along to the appropriate departments. In addition we are modedernizing several aspects of the hotel and have included our full renovated Signature rooms with more to come. Please keep in touch via social media.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the Edison last year during the storm Sandy, in the 17 floor .
The room was really old, but clean. this year I came back in August for the second time, now in the 3rd floor, which looks great, big difference VS the 17. During my stay I didn't know how to order movies, then after 5 minutes I get a maintenance person, who was so kind and patient in explaining how to do it . Then the next morning I requested extra towels to the housekeeping maid whom acceded to us with a big smile, so I recommend this hotel because the staff working there is really helpful and warm. The location its excellent, times square is only 30 meters from the main entrance.

Room Tip: Lower floors are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear elena Y,
Thank you for your valued feedback and of course for your loyalty to the Hotel Edison. We are committed to providing all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. We are so glad that you enjoyed one of our new rooms and will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#390 of 468 in New York City
4,453 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,067 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $169 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing