We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rong room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #308 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rong room”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we were all excited when we arrived but when we got there we got the wrong room we were there for a three night stay and we could not move into are room until the second night bathroom was dirty and the water kept changing from hot to cold we may have got a free day breakfast for the three of us and free Wi-Fi but it didn't work from our room although good fitness and business centre

overall the hotel was good but room for improvement

Room Tip: pick a high floor there are 22 floors and six lifts but the lifts are normally full by the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday13854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear holiday13854,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we welcome all feedback as this will assist in reevaluating our hotel procedures. We regret to hear of the lapses during your visit. We're happy that the room move was corrected. Was the front desk informed of the conditions presented upon arrival? Housekeeping and Engineering are looking into the discrepancies mentioned in your previous room. We would have liked to corrected any anguish caused prior to your departure. Its comforting that the Business Center and Fitness facilities were to your liking. If you wish to contact Guest Relations at the Hotel Edison to further inquire, comment or express your experience, we are always available to assist. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,354
    3,839
    2,087
    760
    514
See reviews for
2,739
3,114
408
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a 9 1/2-hour flight to EWR, 40-min, bus ride to Manhattan, and a walk 5-blocks from Port Authority, I got to the hotel around 1:30pm to check in. The woman at the front desk told me my queen room wasn't ready and pointed to the bell desk to store my bags. After they stored my bags and gave me my claim ticket, was I only told of the storage fee. Had I been told that beforehand, I could've left my bags in my friends' room, who were already staying there. This was my 20th time to New York City and I have stayed at other hotels, and this is the first time I was ever charged to store my bags. I walked over to get my show tickets and returned about 45 minutes later. Youssef at the front desk was very nice and was able to check me in.

The room was outdated (except for the flat-screen TV), and so was the furniture. Nothing fancy. The bed was hard, my stuff kept falling off, and the air conditioner was noisy. The shower fluctuated from hot and cold. The drapes didn't completely block out the neon lights from outside when I went to bed. Internet was available for a charge, no refrigerator and/or microwave. I added another night in the beginning of my trip, so I booked the extra night at this hotel because it had a lower price.

Will think twice booking here again. I checked into my regular hotel just 2 blocks away, which was only $23 dollars more per night, had a king size bed that was so comfortable, provided free wired or wireless internet and included a mini refrigerator and microwave. Big difference! At least this hotel has a great location, just steps away from Times Square. The Edison Café had good prices on breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDC808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear NDC808,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Hotel Edison. We appreciate every opportunity to use feedback to better our cause: providing excellent customer service and a superior guest experience. We regret to hear the conditions of your room, was the front desk made aware of the lapses during your stay? We would have liked the opportunity to appease you prior to your departure. We are happy Youssef was able to check you in prior to the 3pm check-in time. Like other hotels in the Times Square area, our hotel does have a fee for luggage in accordance with the New York City Union. Please Note: we too have different rooms types with different accommodations and amenities. Specifically highlighting our Signature Collections Rooms; recently renovated rooms with included WiFi, coffee machines, and in-room safe. Some with refrigerators as well. We hope to have to another chance to welcome you back in hopes of providing a successful guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked this through an Express deal on priceline so had no idea where is be staying. Firstly this hotel is nowhere near in the same league as other leading brands in the same start bracket.

I was stuck on my deal so kept an open mind as I read through all the mixed reviews on here before staying.

I noticed a theme appearing of terrible service and old rooms but hoped for the best.

Having dealt with the hotel on the phone before hand they offered ZERO flexibility over an oversight with the booking re number of beds, and I had to go back and forward between the hotel and priceline both blaming each other for not being able to amend the booking for 2 beds. The result, father and young daughter were forced to share a bed, or pay for a complete new booking.

We ended up missing our flight so couldn't check in for the first night. We decided to stay an extra night in NY so when checking in asked for the rates.

The check in guy was so incredibly rude, the kind of rude that leaves you feeling gobsmacked! His 'supervisor' was even worse. It's clear a lifetime of late shifts had taken their toll on the staff not only physically but mentally. They really couldn't give a damn as clearly they get enough business from naive tourists who book express deals or package deals. Evidently I didn't spot the hotel in any comparison sites before booking.

I feel so deflated knowing that my money might is being used for these inept staff to feed their families or narcotic habits. They don't deserve to make a living off such poor service.

The room itself was so dark and dingy, bathroom clearly decades old. Hated every minute is staying here but certainly not the worst in NY.

I'd steer well clear, if you have the choice that is.

No doubt the hotel will follow up with a "we're sorry, hope you try us again" but the truth is they could care less. It's all an illusion. No one is going to pull the staff up on their poor service as its been evident on trip advisor for months.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrglasshalffull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrglasshalffull,

We sincerely regret to hear that your experience with Priceline has giving you such anguish during your stay with the Hotel Edison. We do care very much what our guests think of our hotel, regardless of how they booked with us, and we would be grateful If you could contact our Guest Relations department in hopes to follow up on the events during your stay and staff members mentioned. Your recent experience is not the expected standard established by the Hotel. We value every guests feedback and commentary as it will help us attempt to fulfill and improve our commitment; to providing excellent customer service and a superior guest experience.

We wish our Guest Relations team could have been offered the opportunity to correct the lapses presented during your visit prior to your departure, so that we may have been able to mend the relationship, and your trust in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staying at the Edison Hotel on West 47 Street was a pleasant experience. All the staff were very helpful and eager to assist. Even though the hotel is old, we were lucky to get one of the recently refurbished Signature Queen Rooms. Although a little small, what more can you ask for in New York City on a budget. We were out most of the time as well, so all you need is a clean room, with a shower and your are good to go. Hotel is within walking distance to Times Square, about three subway stations and all the bus stops. Very Central Location and easy to get around from there. There is also an awesome Deli two doors away called Danny's. Went in there to check it out and ended up having breakfast here every day. Will definatley recommend the Edison and will stay here again when I return to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are less noisy. Try and get one of the recently revamped rooms. They are done quite ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMIsaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear BMIsaacs,

It is always wonderful to read about a successful visit to New York City at the Hotel Edison. We are grateful you would share your experience and offer your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Signature Room, the location, and Danny's (we like it them too!). It is our hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Everything about this hotel is perfect!!! This was our second stay...this time a girls weekend...2 rooms on the 15th floor. 2 queen beds. Nicely renovated. Walk to everything in Times Square, all Broadway shows, excellent restaurants and hop on the subway at 42nd and Times square to get to other sites. We love the NYC feel of the lobby and frequent the café for breakfast!

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duboisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear duboisfly,

It is refreshing to read that our attempts at providing a "perfect, nice, and excellent" experience for guests visiting NYC, Times Square were successful. We are delighted to hear that our location, lobby, and the Cafe Edison were frequently enjoyed by yourself and your group. We hope to welcome "the ladies" back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Edison was a decent hotel, with decent prices, in a much-nicer-than-decent location. The hotel itself was nothing special. The hallways looked old (sort of antique) and the lobby was small. The room itself was pretty small as well, but good luck finding one in New York that isn't. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. You're just steps away from Times Square, so if you're looking for a budget-friendly place to stay when visiting Manhattan- this is it!

Bonus- We stayed for one night and as it so happened the water in the whole hotel was shut off from 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM due to maintenance. This was an inconvenience, but the front desk refunded half of the price back to us, so I can't really complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear 215Worldtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad that you found your room to be clean and bed comfortable. We are pleased to hear the location was to your liking. We regret to hear you were less than charmed with our Art Deco/1930's appeal. The hotel is currently undergoing minor renovations, hallways included. We look forward to welcome you back to NYC at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of Times Square. We had a room on the 7th floor, very nice and seemed to be updated. Small bathrooms, but it is an old building. Great restaurant in lobby for breakfast and reasonable. Wifi was not free, seems like it should be these days in a hotel this size. Easy to walk to a show and nice restaurants right outside the door!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, there are 21 or 22 floors....waiting for the elevator could be longer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathya2010-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear kathya2010-10,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed your stay and deem us "Great" worthy. Like most of the hotels in the Times Square area we do charge for WiFi. Free WiFi is never truly free, it's simply incorporated in the price of the room/reservation. Our view on this matter is: only guests who chose to use the WiFi are paying for its service. We're thrilled you enjoyed the Cafe in the lobby and location of the Hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,557 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,470 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#388 of 466 in New York City
4,324 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing