We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had looked around at a lot of hotels in the area for our stay near Times Square before deciding on the Edison. I was hesitant because of some of the poor reviews, but can say that I was pleasantly surprised at the level of service and accommodations. I recommend that you book a Signature room as they are nicely done and comfortable. The front desk help were great, as was the maid service. The people stationed at the elevators always had a smile as they checked to make sure that you belonged at that hotel. You cannot beat the location if you are planning on seeing some shows. Within blocks of most popular shows. Half a block from the TKTS booth for discounted theatre tickets and half a block to Carve, which sells great sandwiches, pizza, desserts, and more! The only downside for us was that there is a considerable amount of work going on in the floors below. If you wanted to get a short rest in the afternoon it was hard because of the drilling and jackhammering. This all stopped around dinnertime though and all nights were fairly peaceful for NYC. I am already planning our next NYC trip and I will definitely book the Edison again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear OrlandoTraveler1012,
Thank you for a lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel Edison and our new Signature rooms. Please accept our apologies for the noise during the day, however, it is a necessity in our efforts to further renovate for the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. We would love to have you to stay in our home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    3,642
    1,970
    717
    474
See reviews for
2,548
2,934
382
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My sisters took me to NY for my birthday and 13 years remission from breast cancer, this hotel was in the perfect location. Was very happy with hotel and would stay here again, The rooms were a pretty good size and very clean, the staff was very helpful, the only down fall was the bathroom was tiny and it was very hard to regulate the water temperature. But no big deal would not stop me from staying here again. Price was perfect for being literally 30 seconds from Time Square

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tswalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Tswalts,
We are so grateful that you have taken the time to post feedback about your stay with us. More importantly, we are thrilled to hear of your 13 years of remission and wish you continued good health. We are honored that you chose the Edison to celebrate such an important occasion. It gives us great pleasure when guests are satisfied. We look forward to your next stay with great anticipation and wish you lots of success in your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for my wife's 50th birthday on the 20th floor signature room. The room and bathroom was small but nicely redone, new tiles, sink, toilet, carpet and furniture basically everything! Ran the fan all the time so street noise wasn't to bad. 6 elevators worked good except when real busy they filled up and then still needed to stop on lower floors! Deli beside hotel was ok, the one down the street at 8th Ave. Carve was great! Another little gem was the Rum house bar, great service and entertainment, it became our favorite evening stop and it's right in the hotel. Subway looks intimidating at first but is easy to use and figure out. Cab from LGA to hotel was $46 in busy traffic, took the N train when leaving got us close to LGA, then the M60 bus would take you there but we just grabbed a cab from there for $13 the rest of the way.

Room Tip: Stay in remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riders_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear riders_rule,
Thank you for your feedback and for the tips for our future guests. We are glad that you liked our Signature rooms. We hope you will return to enjoy one of them again. Please keep in touch via social media as more Signature rooms are being added.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a real get-what-you-pay-for type of place. Location can't be beat and if you book via a third-party site it's less expensive than most other hotels in the area, but it's obvious why. Rooms are really, really tiny and out of date. Our bathroom tub drain was rusted out. Bathroom had the old slot for razors that have been obsolete for 40 years. I understand there are some great renovated rooms on some floors, but those come with the regularly priced rooms booked in traditional fashion.

On the other hand, the staff was excellent. The men out front were extremely helpful getting my wife and daughter, and all of our luggage, out and loaded into the hotel without me so I could go park the car. The bellhops also were very helpful and nice about holding onto our luggage after checkout.

If you're the type who thinks of a hotel as just a place to sleep and don't need it to be roomy or especially nice -- and if things like location and price are more important -- I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you book via a third-party site for a cheaper rate, expect a crappy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmw315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear jeffmw315,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are sorry you did not get one of our renovated rooms. It has more to do with availability, and not how the reservation was made, as we do not pre-assign rooms. Rooms are assigned on a first come, first served basis. Further renovations have been scheduled in a phased manner. Please keep in touch via social media. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay at the Edison hotel was great. It's not a fancy place but lots of character, clean, polite employees, nice bed. Some parts of the room were upgraded but not all. But who stays in their room when on vacation anyway ? The location is excellent. We walked or rode the subway everywhere, nice deli next door ( 24hr ). I would for sure go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Gail C,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 6 nites in a "Signature" room on the 19th floor. Last time we had been at the Edison was 25 years ago. Now everything had been refurbished and was new. Queen bed excellent mattress and featherfilled pillows. Very nice and modern bath room. Warm water was a little scarce on the last day. A bit noisy at times: down on the street (47th) they were filling a garbage truck during hours and that during several days. But that's New York City! Anyhow, sensitive people should ask for a room to the backside of the building. We would choose Edison again!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, take a room to the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Werner S,
Thank you for your feedback and for returning to the Hotel Edison after 25 years. You kind words and high marks for our Signature rooms means so much to us as we work hard to ensure that your stay is satisfactory. Now that you have re-discoveredus, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels to book while I stay in Manhattan. I Knew that they were renovating, but now that it's over, it's very disappointing. They updated some tiling in the bathroom, but did not change any of the ancient fixtures (shower water knobs, light switches) The shelf over the sink was crooked and when placing items there, everything fell down. The hooks on the door and the towel rack, were just about reachable for me and I am tall, very bothersome. I actually asked them when they were going to do the hallways over and they said eventually. The hallways are dark and dingy looking, and actually can be spooky, late at nite, if you are alone.
The staff, though, is very nice and helpful and u can't beat the location. And the Edison Cafe downstairs, is w/o compare for prices and food quality, atmosphere not so hot, but who cares.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear lady105,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were misinformed but the renovations are far from over. Some rooms, such as the Signature rooms have been completely renovated, while some Classic rooms have been refurbished. We are currently in the process of adding 2 more Signature floors and hope you will reserve one of these for your next stay. We are confident you will like the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,805 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,704 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing