We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Edison Times Square
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$104
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$327
$244
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$221
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$173
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$129
$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Lotte New York Palace(New York City)
$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (10,421)
Filter reviews
10,421 results
Traveler rating
2,688
4,131
2,243
811
548
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,688
4,131
2,243
811
548
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomrum housetimes squarerum bargreat locationnew yorkart decorenovated roomroom keyan older hotelthe theater districtcoffee machinebig applesmall roomstreet noisecentral parkfloor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,948 - 4,953 of 10,421 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I first stayed at the Edison for it's art deco style, great location, reputation, and that it is such a NYC landmark. I keep returning for the welcoming staff, on-site amenities, security, value, and well.... there's an indescribable hominess that makes it such a nice place to stay. This past weekend was my 3rd time here, and the Edison is definitely my "home away from home" when visiting NYC. Perfect choice for theatre-goers, as most Broadway houses are within a few blocks, several are right across the street, even. The TKTS booth is all but at the door.

We stayed in a suite with two twin beds, and plenty of space. Both the main room and bedroom have spacious closets, you don't see that often. Nice to have clothes/luggage stowed out of the way. Both rooms have separate sitting areas/televisions too. There were windows on two sides, lots of natural light, made it nice to relax at inbetween shows/activities. Bedding was nice and firm with crisp/clean linens, and was quite comfortable.

Bathrooms aren't palatial, but roomy enough for my purposes. How much room do you really need in there anyway? Well stocked, and immaculately clean every time I have visited. Original radiator pipe heat keeps them toasty warm without draft, and there's no shortage of hot water. Showers have their own faucets, no wierd fixture to figure out. Nice towels, too.

I have always stayed in their regular/"non-renovated" rooms, which I have found to be well kept and clean. If you like a swankier bathroom, and up-to-the-minute furnishings, opt for one of their new new "signature rooms," which seem quite nice.

The staff are consistently friendly here, even the housekeepers greet you when coming/going. I have only used the concierge for figuring out subway directions, but got the impression that they're quite knowledgable. The security detail by the elevator really pay attention to what's going on and always make you feel safe.

Great choice for the winter, as Cafe Edison is one of Times Square's best options, and is right in the lobby, as well as Sofia's for Italian food, and the Run House is a nice bar too.

Another pleasant and "unmistakably New York" stay at the Edison. Looking forward to returning, I'll be back in March.

Room Tip: Suites cost only a little more, but you get a LOT more space. Great idea for 2 or more travelers, more relaxing/spacious than a regular room. The ones I have stayed in (rooms 1029 and 1527) have windows on TWO sides. and TWO big closets.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjeffersondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear mjeffersondc,
Wat a fantastic review! We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. Compliments such as yours are the reason we are so encouraged and committed to providing the best service to our guests. We are honored to have you as part of the Hotel Edison extended family. Thank you again, and we look forward to providing you with the same level of hospitality during your next stay in March and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Edison hotel for over 20 years traveling to NY for business. Many times I have traveled alone and have always felt safe and comfortable. The rooms are clean and well-kept, the staff is polite and helpful, and the price is wonderful. It is right in the area that I need to be and it's so easy to just walk everywhere from the Edison!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

We are so grateful for your loyalty for 20 years and honored to have you as part of the Edison family. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel. We are glad you chose the Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our recent stay at the Edison was quite spectacular. We stayed in one of the newly renovated Signature King rooms. Although the room was small it was clean and the bedding was crisp and extremely nice. This hotel is right in the heart of Times Square. It is an art deco hotel from the past. The staff was very pleasant and quite eager to assist you. They have an excellent security staff which always is a plus. Their prices are very good for a hotel in this area. The coffee shop is good and the Rum House is a great place for a night cap.

Room Tip: High floor, signature rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are so happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Edison Hotel in one of our Signature rooms. Thank you for the favorable comments regarding the staff, décor, and location. We look forward to you staying with us again. Please keep in touch via social media for more exciting changes and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went to NYC again for long weekend. And Edison was relatively reasonably priced at its gorgeous location. The staff was very nice and they seemed to have good security because they check your key cards at night before letting you up the elevator. And did I say it already, its location is unbeatable.

Aside from the good parts, the hotel itself was quite old and the room we stayed in was very small with a full size bed. The bathroom and bed were clean, but at some corners of the room there was visible dust. Also the bathtub was very old fashioned and quite small.

If you are on a budget, Edison is still a good choice. And I also hear they are doing some renovations over there so maybe check out some newly renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, it's Times Square and it can get pretty noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zhu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value every guest's feedback and response as it will help us continue to fulfill our commitment to providing excellent customer service and a superior guest experience. We are modernizing and upgrading the hotel, please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Edison in Jan 2013 with my boyfriend for 3 nights. Really like the style of the hotel and it is good value for money.

The only things that are stopping me from rating this hotel a four is the facilities in the bathroom. Now the bathroom wasn't as upto date or as modern as the bedroom itself but that really isn't an issue with me, it just needs to be clean and working but the plumbing system in the hotel is really something of a problem. The shower only runs freezing cold water or boiling hot and fiddling about trying to get it to a temperature that's bearable (almost luke warm is as good as you'll get) is rather annoying and time consuming after a tiresome day. Also on our final morning the toilet wouldn't come off the chain and was continually flushing itself, soaking the bathroom. There were also obvious problems within the hotel at this time too as the previous night we received a note saying that all water would be stopped between 12am and 5am due to emergency plumbing repairs.
This is the only thing that lets this hotel down as otherwise it is a comfortable, friendly and nice place to stay in New York and in the perfect location.
It should also be noted that at night the street noise from emergency sirens and car horns is very loud, so loud it feels like the window could well be open but this is what was expected and it does die down towards midnight/early hours.
I would recommend this hotel for everything except bathroom facilities, it really lets this good hotel down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Hannah176,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We would like to apologize on behalf of our Engineering department for the plumbing issues. The technical problems you faced were due to an emergency plumbing issue that needed to be addressed with all haste. Once again, our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience, but we are confident our guests understand that these things happen and it is our responsibility to address them for your comfort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to a better experience. Please keep in touch via social media.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews