We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was my third stay at the Edison and I would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect, check-in and check-out were easy and quick, the cafe' has good food and good prices, (did not eat the the restaurant), the gift shop has souvenirs for good prices, the rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are so grateful that you have taken the time to post feedback about your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure when guests are satisfied. We look forward to your next stay with great anticipation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,661)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edison Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,809 - 4,815 of 9,665 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was my first time in new york, this hotel was right next to time square with easy access to anything i wanted to do. My room was just fine, clean and tidy. during my stay they had begun decorating the rooms and corridors and laying new carpets and all was looking nice. I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to see the city. There is a bar attached with a guy that comes to play the piano, kinda jazz music he was EXCELLENT and i spend severall hours watching him. Overall a great location and a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here. We are very grateful for the chance to get feedback from our guests and even more pleased when they have had a great time. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and that you enjoyed the amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was our 4th time staying at The Edison and we are already booked to stay again in October. We valeted our car this time and the guys were more than nice. They even offered us directions to find the Lincoln Tunnel on our way home. Check in was a breeze. We arrived at 1:00pm and Youssie (spelling?) was so nice. He had a room ready for us even though it was 2 hours before "check in" time. We were in room 901, a remodeled handicap room (although we are not handicapped). The room was very spacious, had new bedding, a flat-screen, and a nice big remodeled bathroom. A slight downfall was the shower, as it was a handicap shower. There is no tub to hold the water in, so you have to keep turning the water off during your shower, or else the water pools up quickly and the whole bathroom floor would be covered in water. We quickly realized this and became pros at "military showers" lol. Also, there would be an occasional unpleasant odor coming from the bathroom. We chalked it up to be sewage, but it was very slight and only occured maybe twice the whole trip. The beds were comfy and the room was very clean. Add that to the great location, and why wouldn't you stay here? The Edison may not be the most modern of hotels in the city, but the price is right, the location is fabulous, and the service is terrific.

Room Tip: Room 901 was a remodeled room, but it has a handicap shower. It was great once you got used to turn...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckeyeGirl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. Compliments such as yours are the reason we are so encouraged and committed to providing the best service to our guests. The handicap accessible rooms do not have bathtubs to accommodate those guests who are in wheelchairs, so that the chair can roll in to the shower area. Thank you again, and we look forward to providing you with the same level of hospitality during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I've seen multiple reviews for this place good and not so good. I picked the Edison based on these reviews. Most of the bad reviews sounded like sour grapes, just do your research this is an old hotel, you're not getting a year 2000 room. Great hotel, just a few steps from Time Square. Everything you want is within walking distance, if not a cab is always right outside the door and the subway just a few steps away. The hotel is older, read the history I'm not going into it. We were on the 21st floor with views of Time Square and a little bonus about the view...but you'll have to actually go I'm not telling. We upgraded to a two room suite kids had their room, we had ours. The walk to Broadway shows it 5 minutes or less, depending on the show. We saw Phantom and ate at Sardi's before the show all withing a few minutes walking distance.

Pros: All the history, location, friendly service, quick cleaning of the room, Lots of elevators, Lobby gift shop for any necessary things you forgot...I forgot contact solution, they had it. Wifi available, Flat screen TVs in each room. I enjoy the morning news. Ice is on floor two and they never run out. Air conditioners kept the room nice and icy...I like it that way. The kids adjusted their own air conditioner.

Cons: I really don't have any, however if you are used to newer hotel rooms, tower types, contemporary, this might not be the place for you. It is older, like many other older hotels in NY.

We really only spent evenings in the room, and came back once in a while to get ready for a show or dump off things acquired while shopping. We will be back.

Room Tip: There is no pool, so if you need one make other arrangements. Can't say about room service, we...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Location location location!! It's not the most modern of hotels but the room was clean and when we asked to change to a bigger room they were very accommodating and we were not charged extra.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AFNaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel. We are glad that we were able to switch rooms to a more satisfactory one for you. We are pleased you chose the Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Took a chance on booking a two night stay at the Edison Time Square. I might be spolied, as I've stayed at the Best Western Plus Presidental and Tryp (both in the Time Square district), because the Edison does NOT even compare. The rooms were just old. I didn't like the room location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenny90277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Marla Edgar at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

We regret your room did not suit you well and do not like when guests leave unsatisfied. It is our daily goal to make our guests happy. We want everyone to feel relaxed and comfortable during their visits with us. If this is not occuring, we are not doing our jobs. It would give us great pleasure to make it up to you as the value for our location is truly hard to beat! Many of our rooms are in the process of being renovated. We would be delighted to do our very best to provide you with one of our upgraded rooms upon your next stay. We have also just introduced our ‘Signature’ Rooms which are ‘Fully Renovated’ Rooms, equipped with coffee makers, iPod-compatible clock-radios, in-room safes, and ‘Free’ Wi-Fi and are simply gorgeous! Please feel free to view the photos online. In addition, the ‘Signature Suites’ (each complete with a mini fridge & sleeper sofa) may prove more to your liking. And, you may ultimately be interested in the ‘Superior Signature Suites’ as they are more spacious and would prove more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to call our Guest Relations Department for more details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved staying at the Edison! My room was very clean, exceptionally large by NYC standards, & the bathroom had been updated. It's truly a gem that has stood the test of time...a little elegance from a long ago era. If one is looking for a new age modern, cookie cutter hotel, this isn't the place. The Edison has tons of ambiance & is warm and inviting. I'm very picky about sheets & soft towels, and was very pleased with the quality provided. Check in was quick & efficient, and the front desk people were always friendly, and helpful. Great location, close to theaters, restaurants, & within walking distance to the shuttle bus terminal for the Newark Airport. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illegallyblonde2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Marla Edgar at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

That is so wonderful to hear! We're thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed our location as well as your clean, spacious room, and that our staff, yet again, did not disappoint! It's also nice to know that our warmth and charm continues to be so loved and appreciated. From now on, consider us your 'Home Away From Home!'. We look forward to welcoming you back and would like to remind you to call or e-mail our Guest Relations Department directly should you have any special requests prior to your next visit. Also, you can follow us on Facebook for all the latest Times Square events. Looking forward to taking care of you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,658 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#388 of 468 in New York City
4,442 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#350 of 468 in New York City
18,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,179 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,062 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $171 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing