We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,097)
Filter reviews
11,097 results
Traveler rating
3,046
4,295
2,325
844
587
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,046
4,295
2,325
844
587
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomrum housetimes squarerum bargreat locationnew yorkart decorenovated roomroom keyan older hotelthe theater districtcoffee machinebig applestreet noisesmall roomcentral parkfloor
Filter
Updating list...
6,261 - 6,266 of 11,097 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

...because I prefer to keep Hotel Edison flying under the radar and from becoming too popular! I've been staying here for about 6-7 years now on a regular basis and have developed a fondness for their comfortable consistency. This funky Art Deco style hotel may not have the largest rooms, the swankiest amenities or celebrities trying to be conspiciously anonymous in the lobby but thats perfectly OK. There are plenty of other overpriced NYC for you to keep up with the Kardassshians or the new Sinatras. Here you can retrace Luca Brasi's last walk down the hall before he went to 'sleep with the fishes'.

The Edison offers a great convenient Midtown location, laid-back ambiance and most importantly a friendly attentive staff that starts right as you pull up to the curb and continues thru check-out. The Rum Bar is the perfect spot to unwind after your drive or day spent pounding the pavement as a sightseer or conventioneer. Edison Cafe is tasty, reasonably priced and reminds you of that Saturday Night Live ' No Coke...Pepsi' skit.

My only complaint is that Jose is no longer the bartender in the Rum Bar, apparently a casualty of new operators taking over this part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMegabuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Thank you for your review, and for making us your hotel of choice for the past 6-7 years. We appreciate your loyalty, and are delighted that you had another great stay with us. It is wonderful that you have taken advantage of and enjoyed our many amenities. May we suggest that you contact us to join our ‘Edison Excellence Program’? It is a loyalty program with free membership and fantastic benefits. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

could not get over the location of the hotel was fantastic! brilliant for the tour buses and shops and could see times square from our window. In corridor window could see hudson river! only minor things that could be better such as the decor hasnt been completed properly, its a bit rough round the edges but because the hotel is clean its not detrimental. The staff on reception arent very hospitable can be quite rude and miserable but your never in the hotel. The girl that opens the safety deposit box is the worst. Also we asked for a later checckout an was told yes however the gorl on reception didnt note it down. It was only upon checking that we found out and uckily tony sorted it out for us. Thanks Tony.Would stay again, dont recommend cafe looked grubby and had a B rating.Also have to pay for each suitcase kept in luggage room?

Room Tip: try not to go so high up wait for lifts is a little annoying
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceymarie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am glad for the most part that you enjoyed your stay. We believe that we do offer value for money. Our policy is not to price ourselves out of business.
It saddens us to read that some of your experiences did not meet your expectations and for this we sincerely apologize. We pride ourselves in friendly and efficient service yet we have disappointed you on this occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations department when planning your next trip. Perhaps we can alter your perception. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My mom and I spent two nights at the Edison last week. We love this hotel and stay here whenever we come to NY for theater. We had a handicapped room and mom loved how accessible everything was. The Edison Cafe is great for breakfast and the location of the hotel can't be beat. And Bobby is a great doorman! We highly recommend the Edison.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACC917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It was a sincere pleasure to look after you and your mother. It is gratifying to know that one of our newly renovated handicap accessible rooms met with her needs thereby making her stay comfortable. I know Bobby will be delighted to read your kind words. Looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon and wish you a happy and healthy Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

With the very high prices of hotels in NY at Christmas time, the Edison made the most sense for us from a price and location standpoint. You can't beat the location -- one/half block from all the action of Times Square. This is an older hotel so you need to look at its charms from that perspective. Bathrooms are tiny but do you come to New York to stay in your room? No! It was very acceptable for our use, more like a European hotel. Service was fine and everything was clean, just dated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMomGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

We thank you for your courteous comment and rating. We indeed do have the advantage of being in a great location, in the heart of almost everything. We look forward to serving your family and you, on your next visit to New York City and wish you a very Happy Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Arrived at hotel after a long trip and when we opened the door to our room there was no way we were staying in the room for the duration of our trip. The room was smelly and had mucus on the bedside table. When I went to reception and got keys for another room the room had cigarettes ends under the bed smelt of damp, the lights didn't work and was tiny. The third room we were offered was cleaner but was under need of total refurbishment but we accepted it because we were so tired. Staff weren't apologetic even after the comments made about the rooms, they weren't friendly and didn't seem helpful. Wouldn't dream of going back to this hotel and would certainly not recommend this to my worst enemy. The only good thing was the location right in the heart of times sqarre.

Room Tip: no idea what would be a good room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Let us first apologize for the recent issues you had at our hotel. Let us also reassure you that we are constantly updating the facility to provide excellent accommodations and service for our guests. We welcome any suggestions to further improve our service. At least the location was right for you so thank you, and we hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews